We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tokomaru
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stranded in Paradise
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Leanne and Angus were welcoming hosts. They settled us in, offered us advice and left us to explore. The set up is great with cabins, lofts and rooms plus clean and well equipped common areas. Awesome views too, thanks for the stay

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kiwijodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2017

Specially designed around the stunning sunrise of Tokomaru Bay, every room is facing the sun in the morning. You will not regret waking up early. Plus our hosts Leanne and her husband are absolutely delightful. We did not mind being stranded in paradise ;)

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Robin_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

There has been a lot of hostels in New Zealand which I've said have been my favourite one yet, but this was possibly the cherry on the cake. I loved the town, the other guests and the hostel but it was owners Leanne and Angus which made this stay really special. It's well worth getting off the tourist routes in NZ to find little gems like this.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aca_de_Vallerio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

I stayed in this hostel for 2 nights and the name definitely holds true – you really feel like stranded in paradise. The location could not be better with unobstructed views of the ocean. The rooms and all the common areas are nicely decorated and spotless clean. The owners are super friendly and helped me a great deal in fixing some technical issues with my bike. Even though it was raining most of the time when I was there, my stay in paradise was really superb and I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Moritz_Shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

My friend and i stayed here in Febuary for just one night and both agreed we would have liked to stay longer and hope to return one day! Leanne and Angus were very nice and made sure we were happy in our cool loft room, it was awesome we watched the sun come up from our beds was so beautiful!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulu07086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Stranded in Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stranded in Paradise

Address: 21 Potae St, Tokomaru 4079, New Zealand (Formerly Brian's Place)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tokomaru
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tokomaru
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky loft rooms and private cabins available all with sunrise and seaviews. Self catering accommodation. Free Wi-Fi. Tokomaru Bay has 8km of coastline, a friendly pub and a 4 square supermarket with ATM. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing