We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stranded in Paradise - Seriously!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tokomaru
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stranded in Paradise
Reviewed 5 March 2017

I stayed in this hostel for 2 nights and the name definitely holds true – you really feel like stranded in paradise. The location could not be better with unobstructed views of the ocean. The rooms and all the common areas are nicely decorated and spotless clean. The owners are super friendly and helped me a great deal in fixing some technical issues with my bike. Even though it was raining most of the time when I was there, my stay in paradise was really superb and I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Moritz_Shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Stranded in Paradise
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2017

My friend and i stayed here in Febuary for just one night and both agreed we would have liked to stay longer and hope to return one day! Leanne and Angus were very nice and made sure we were happy in our cool loft room, it was awesome we watched the sun come up from our beds was so beautiful!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulu07086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Another great east coast backpackers that is a cut above the rest. Do yourself a favour and don't miss out on exploring this area. Rugged, quiet, beautiful and a great place to chill out.
Owners super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne C, Owner at Stranded in Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Thanks for the lovely review Carmel. Enjoyed your company. Don't let the hipsters overrun Newtown. Hope to see you again. Cheers Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Stayed there for 2 nights and it was the best hostel that I`ve seen during my 3 month of travelling through New Zealand. Friendly, cheerfull and very helpful owners, great facilities, and a stunning location. I had the best sunset of my life. I recommend this place without any doubt.
I will come back for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank falk0vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne C, Owner at Stranded in Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Thanks for your lovely review Falk. Be great to have you back. Have fun and enjoy your travels. Leanne & Angus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

One of the nicest hostel stays I've ever had. Great facilities, terrific location and friendly owners. I'm sorry I didn't stay for longer. Lying in bed I had an amazing view over the bay. I set my alarm to wake up for the sunrise and was treated to a great show.

This would be an ideal base for exploring up and down the east coast.

Room Tip: If possible get a room with a view of the bay to have a good look at the sunrise over the water!
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ssegal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne C, Owner at Stranded in Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Thanks Sam, we enjoyed having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Stranded in Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stranded in Paradise

Address: 21 Potae St, Tokomaru 4079, New Zealand (Formerly Brian's Place)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tokomaru
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tokomaru
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky loft rooms and private cabins available all with sunrise and seaviews. Self catering accommodation. Free Wi-Fi. Tokomaru Bay has 8km of coastline, a friendly pub and a 4 square supermarket with ATM. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing