We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous view, great cottage, a little too many...”
other travellers have booked this property
Tintern Abbey Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tintern Abbey Cottage
Tintern Abbey seen from our garden Tintern Abbey Cottage seen though the arched windows of the Abbey Nave. We are so close!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
Tintern Abbey Cottage
Tintern Abbey seen from our garden
Tintern Abbey Cottage seen though the arched windows of the Abbey Nave. We are so close!
The lavender  and Rosa Mundii hedges in late June smell amazing.Relax.
Dining room
Dining room awaits arrivals
Dining room is ideal for a celebration meal
Cosy fireside
Relax in the sitting room.
Abbey style logburner -Not possible to resist the cosiness!
The ensuite bedroom( own bathroom) downstairs
Upstairs second bedroom
Master bedroom
View of Tintern Abbey from the main bedroom
Whirlpool bathroom with Abbey View
Ensuite bathroom
Welcoming tea
Kitchen window makes holday chores pleasant
Range cooker does family meals with ease
Well equipped kitchen
Abbey seen from our front step
Our fenced back garden in early spring sunshine
Our fenced back garden in  June evening sunshine
Lunch  and a book by the lavender hedge. June
Cosy in Advent snow
View from Wyncliffe near the cottage ( by permission of Visit Wales )
Internation Birds of Prey Centre  a brilliant day out
Canoe the scenic Wye Valley
Fantastic walking from the doorstep
Footpath with medevil walls right by Tintern Abbey Cottage cottage
View down to Tintern from Offas Dyke Devils Pulpit
Autumn in the Wye Valley
Carols by torchlight each December in Tintern Abbey
Offas Dyke passes through Tintern
Relax in the garden
You can see Tintern Abbey Cottage in this picture. Look how near the Abbey we are!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tintern, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PitstopMe...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous view, great cottage, a little too many rules....”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have family links here that go back a couple of hundred years, so we know how beautiful the setting is, having spent many holidays here. This was a reunion of sorts, and we took my Mum and in laws, so I wanted the place we stayed to be faultless. And this was. Beautifully clean, great facilities, comfortable beds and a fabulous welcome. The ONLY thing that let it down was the copious rules everywhere, and lots of laminate reminders and 'do not' lists. I am sure many guests abuse and take no care, but I am a 5 star customer and an adult and I know how to behave. The work to keep the cottage at the standard it is should be the owners burden, not the guests. And If you welcome dogs then you have to accept they will pee on the lawn and the bushes, they are dogs!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2015
Absolutely delighted that you found the cottage luxurious, clean and our welcome excellent. We do try very hard to please , we are glad your reunion went well and we thank you for the neat manner in which you left everything.
We are a bit perplexed about the "rules". We do have several laminated sheets which provide guidance on practical things like how to work the TV, access the internet, use the woodburner and so on which make life easy, especially for the many overseas guests we welcome, - and also a whole selection of them which are walks people can borrow and which will not dissolve on a wet day.
We only have one which is "rules". You are absolutely correct that this is about pet behaviour . We love dogs having owned bred and shown many, and we welcome nicely mannered pets to all three of our cottages most weeks without problems - but unfortunately we have learned the hard way that there are a few ( yes we agree its thankfully just a very few) guests who do allow their dogs to trash the garden. We really dont like having any rules at all but this type of damage ( which has ranged from seriously burned lawns and plants , to uprooted shrubs and huge holes dug in the lawns , poo bags left hanging from the trees and an entirely smashed lavender hedge ) is nearly impossible to put right quickly and we do have to consider the incoming people who must find everything looking great. We are sorry you took exception to this sheet , and we can see your party and well managed pets didnt need it - but unfortunately some few people do need reminding to take care. Please come again, the sheet will still be there but we know you will still have a wonderful stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumma G
Clapham, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You get what it says on the tin, and this says 'GOLD'”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Beautiful cottage, clean and well equipped, beautiful furnishings and perfect location. Our second time here and love it even more. Excellent hosts eager to make sure your stay is perfect. Can't fault it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flamborou...
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Cottage, well furnished and equipped, super location.”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Four of us (two couples) stayed here in February. Upon arrival we were met by Malcolm one of the owners who gave us a great induction to the cottage.
This helped us settle in very quickly and very soon the cottage seemed like home from home. I think the log burner on a night also helped in this regard as it makes the cottage very cosy.
Fantastic location, just across from the Abbey and the Anchor Inn. We visited the latter nearly every night as the food and atmosphere in there is also great.
We would like to return here again one day and may even try one of the other cottages owned by Malcolm & Fiona.
If you are visting this area and want a great base to stay which is very dog friendly - this is the one!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrishCail...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cottage and wonderful view”
Reviewed 6 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We had the most wonderful weekend away with girlfriends and this cottage was exactly what we wanted. With a stunning view overlooking the Abbey, we didn't want for anything. We realised after the first might there was an issue with the heating but after a quick call all was sorted. It is a very luxurious yet cosy and homely cottage with everything you need for a relaxing weekend.

Thank you for an enjoyable stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The woodburner and location
Liked least: Nothing...
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline R
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real gem of a cottage in an enviable, stunning location.”
Reviewed 20 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

A truly fabulous cottage with everything you could possibly need provided, and more. We stayed for a long weekend with our lively cocker spaniel and never needed to use the car once. Our dog really loved it too! The warm welcome we received from Fiona was very much appreciated and included a giant Bonio for Molly as well as tea and cakes for us. The candles were lit, the woodburner blazing and the table laid for dinner. The cottage is incredibly well equipped, warm and cosy, with very comfortable beds, and in a beautiful position overlooking the Abbey. We only used the downstairs as there were just the two of us so we also benefitted from the couple's seasonal discount. We hope to return next year.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$166
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing