We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic riding experience

We had an awesome 2-hour farm and beach ride! Cara matched us up well to her amazing good-natured... read more

Reviewed 14 January 2021
MichelleA4784
Catlins horse trek

An amazing day out, all our abilities were catered for, Cara and Mel were friendly and very... read more

Reviewed 12 January 2021
michellecM478CS
,
Dunedin, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 43 reviews
  
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
39
2
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
39
2
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hour trek an excellent guide surat bay beautiful area riding experience cara horses beginners farm beach catlins pace abilities freedom sealions
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2021

We had an awesome 2-hour farm and beach ride! Cara matched us up well to her amazing good-natured horses. We had mixed riding abilities in our group of 4, and these were well catered to - those who wanted a slower steady pace were able to stay at a walk while the others of us had a good fast ride along the beach. It felt more like riding out with a group of friends than a trekking company ride. Such a beautiful area. Highly recommended, I'm sure we will be back.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank MichelleA4784
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 January 2021 via mobile

An amazing day out, all our abilities were catered for, Cara and Mel were friendly and very knowledgeable of the area, Cara’s horses are loved and their well-being is a big part of the trek, highly recommend.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank michellecM478CS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 October 2020

Wonderful trek over Cara's family farm and to Surat Bay. Cara is very knowledgeable about the area and history of the Catlins more generally! Beautiful and sweet horses too. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank HarrietW582
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 October 2020

We had a wonderful 2 hour trek over the farm and down to Surat Bay. As others have said, Cara is an excellent guide and we enjoyed hearing about the area and its history. I recommend the beach ride, the views are amazing.

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank Collandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2020 via mobile

We had a fabulous trek down by the beach and across farmland with great views. Cara was an excellent guide and tailored the trek to our experience and needs. We would definitely come back again.

Date of experience: July 2020
Thank MonMuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews