We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.comUS$88
Hotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
97
15
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
97
15
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Stayed a couple of nights in Owak whilst driving the Southern Scenic Route. Robbie offers kind hospitality in comfortable rooms, home comforts and local knowledge that completes a really enjoyable stay. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2018
3  Thank S622VXrobertm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thanks Robert for the nice review and glad you enjoyed your stay.

Cheers Robbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Robbie's house is low key and a well kept place to rest for a couple of nights while touring the Catlins coast. He's a great host and a fine conversationalist. Very much enjoyed our stay. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank hrd2pleez
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thanks for your time to post a review and I hope you enjoyed your stay in the Catlins.

Cheers Robbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at Robbie's. comfortable large rooms and good continental breakfast. Think the highlight was Robbie himself, who is great for information about Owaka and surrounding district. Couldn't have been more helpful. On the last morning he had even hosed off all the dust from our hire care before we left.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Lindagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Hi, Thanks very much L&P for the great review and pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Catlins.

Cheers Robbie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Robbie had excellent knowledge of the local area and interesting places to visit. You could easily visit without any plans and use Robbie's recommendations to fill many says adventures. The accommodation was fantastic, a large room and comfortable bed along with the family room where we had breakfast.

I definitely recommend staying at Catlins retreat.
Ben

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thanks Ben for the great review,it was nice to meet you both and I enjoyed your company. It's easy to work with nice people and to show-case what the Catlins area has on offer.

Cheers Robbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017

We wished we could have stayed more than one night after we arrived! Robbie is an excellent host with a wealth of information. He gave us recommendations for our road trip from Milford Sound to Owaka and from Owaka to Dunedin. We followed his recommendations to a "t" and it was totally worth it. The B&B itself is big, beautiful, comfortable, and super clean. Robbie was a gracious host that had all the amenities you might need. If you are traveling through the area, this is the place to stay!

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mhearn1470
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thanks very much for takeing time to write a great review. I think it's important for operators to give there guests all the right info in order to show case what we have on offer and that it worked well for you.
Cheers Robbie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews