We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing - I've stayed at 5 star hotels around the...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alloway Retreat

Welcome to Alloway Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Alloway Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Welcome to Alloway Retreat
Master Bedroom
Family Bathroom
Twin Room
Second Bedroom
Kitchen
Alfresco Entertaining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve A
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing - I've stayed at 5 star hotels around the world that would be put to shame in comparison.”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed at this amazing home for the last week, and honestly can't think of anything that could be improved. I've stayed at 5 star hotels around the world that would be put to shame in comparison. We have family in the area, and we wanted to have our own 'base' whilst visiting and doing day trips.

The decor is stunning, and everything is immaculate and pristine. The whole place is of the highest quality - and as a result, you feel at home immediately. Of course, the lovely fresh bread we were welcomed with was a nice touch after our long drive.

The location is perfect - with a very short walk (a little over 5 minutes) to the beach. Across the road is beautiful Belleisle Park - and our kids loved the brand new play park (plus an older more traditional one in there too). Burns Cottage is really not very far away - and is a pleasant walk through Alloway. The Balgarth Pines restaurant is a 5 minute walk, and has great food. The Doonfoot Store is 2 minutes walk for any food bits you may need too. The Farm Park is only a 5 minute drive away too - which the kids loved.

Every possible item one could need is provided in the house - from super fast broadband, to washing machines, dryer, TV with movie channels - which is important for when our young kids were in bed.

In the garden, the immaculate theme is continued - yet, totally family friendly with a basketball hoop and lots of balls as well. There is a good quality gas BBQ too, ready to go. We were lucky with the weather, and had four generations of the family playing in the garden on bank holiday Monday.

My only problem with writing this review is that the house will be booked up for years to come, and we most definitely would like to stay again. It was my two youngest daughters first trip to Scotland - and now they want to come back asap.

Thanks to Shirley for such an amazing place to stay - and I am genuinely normally very critical, but this place is beyond compare.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Literally, everything.
Liked least: That we don't own the house ourselves!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to do this fabulous review. I'm glad that Alloway Retreat catered for all your family's needs during your stay and that the weather was kind for you to enjoy all the local attractions that Alloway and Ayr have to offer. It would be a pleasure to have you and your lovely family back again sometime in the future, just let me know. Take care and speak soon.
Kindest regards
Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croce1
middlesbrough
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning, home from home”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We used the house as a base for a wedding that we were attending at Brig'o'Doon House Hotel. The location is perfect and also walking distance to other really nice hotel bars and coffee shops. The house itself is 5 star and is much more for your money than a hotel. The design is beautiful and has everything. Shirley is also fantastic and is on hand to help with anything both before and during the stay. Can't recommend this place enough and can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for doing this great review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at Alloway Retreat and that you had a great day for the wedding. It was a pleasure having you all and would gladly welcome you back in the future.
Kindest regards
Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleanor G
Greater Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“Beyond compare”
Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Very impressed by the luxury, comfort and cleanliness that were evident the minute we walked through the door. Everything one would expect from a luxury home-from-home holiday rental in an ideal location. We would not hesitate to book a return visit. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2015
Thank you for taking the time to do this great review as I know you all had a long journey home, so it's really appreciated. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at Alloway Retreat and I would warmly welcome you all back anytime in the future. It was a pleasure!
Kindest regards
Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon K
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning holiday home!”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We were blown away by this holiday home as soon as we stepped through the door.

The decor is of a very high and very tasteful standard. The attention to detail was impressive. Not only is the place immaculate, a lot of thought has gone into making sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.

The location is handy for weddings at Brig o'Doon hotel, there's a golf course over the road and Ayr town centre / Ayr racecourse is 5 minutes away.

We were attending a friends wedding at the Brig o'Doon Hotel which itself was a fantastic day, but the whole trip was made special by a very comfortable stay at Alloway Retreat.

Would definitely stay there again and wouldn't hesitate recommending it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2014
Thank you for this fabulous review, I'm so glad you had a wonderful stay and that Alloway Retreat helped make a memorable occasion special! Wishing you all well and hope to see you all again in the near future. Take care
Kindest regards
Shirley
Alloway Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew F
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Accommodation!”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

As best man at a wedding in Brig o' Doon I chose Alloway Retreat as our accommodation for the night before and the night of the big day. It was the perfect place for me to calm the Groom's nerves!

The accommodation is beautiful; all three bedrooms are huge and there is plenty of space throughout the house to relax as a group or on your own (I spent some time in the quiet lounge on the morning of the wedding to make sure I had my best-man's speech completely prepared!).

Shirley was great as well, she welcomed us at the door and had even baked us some fresh bread for our arrival!

Our only regret is that we didn't stay for longer! If I'm ever at a wedding or event in the area again it will be the first place I choose to stay and will recommend it to anyone else who is as well!

Fantastic!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2014
Aww wow! How sweet! Thank you so much for that fabulous review! It was a pleasure having you all stay and I must say the groom looked very calm and collected the day before his wedding. Glad Alloway Retreat was able to accommodate all your pre-wedding needs. You are all welcome back anytime, take care and thanks again.
Shirley
Alloway Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing