We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing romatic getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cottage Florestal

Cottage Florestal
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage Florestal
Open plan ground floor Open plan lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Cottage Florestal
Open plan ground floor
Open plan lounge area
Solar wall and private parking area
Private Patio area
View from upstairs bedroom
Open plan dining area
Open plan lounge area
View to upstairs bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Owners House
Property View
Property View
Cottage Florestal
Mezzanine bedroom
Mezzanine bedroom
King size bed 150x200cm
Private Patio area
Open plan ground floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Barao de Sao Joao, Lagos, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Savannah...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing romatic getaway”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

What an amazing place to stay! From the start Karen and John were very welcoming and made our vacation perfect. The cottage is well suited for a couple or even four people as they have a pull out sofa. The open plan makes the inside feel cool during the day with the help of fans and the outside patio is a great place to sun yourself, take a nap, or have breakfast. The village is the best Portuguese experience with local places to eat and live music over the weekends. We spent many enjoyable evenings at Taverna Maria and Caramba eating and drinking wine and trying the local "moonshine". You need a car to really take advantage of the location, but this was nice as it got us off the beaten track and out of the normal bustle of the tourism locations. We were able to explore many beaches that are about 20-30 minutes away - and Karen and John supply you with everything you need for a day at the beach - parasols, beach bag, beach games, and a windbreaker and even towels. Callum and I actually got engaged on our visit!!!! and Karen and John made it even better by putting champagne in our fridge for when we returned and joined us for celebrations. Not only are they great hosts but they are great company on a night out - we went out at 8 and returned at 2 in the morning, without even realising the time had passed! We now consider Karen and John as good friends. The cottage is the perfect base for exploring the hinterland of the Algarve as well and I would recommend going to Monichique and Aljezure and Silves - all accessible by car and then you can return to your home away from home and have a bbq or a relaxing evening in the village. This holiday was definitely one of our favourites and I know that Callum and I will be back....perhaps for our honeymoon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and people!
Liked least: Nothing - absolutely fabulous!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C
Cospicua (Bormla), Malta
2 reviews
“An amazing cottage in a stunning location”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We spent a week at Florestal and were blown away by the cottage and its location. The surroundings are stunning, tranquil and idyllic, surrounded by forest with amazing views over the forest and as far as the sea on a clear day. The cottage makes for an ideal base to visit the South and West coasts by car (we visited around 10 beaches in the week we stayed) and is only a short walk from the village. The village has a traditional feel with some great bars, restaurants and live music, food is great, as well as the atmosphere, we’d happily eat there every night. The cottage itself was perfect, light and spacious, loved the open plan design with double doors opening out into a private garden, which was great for sitting in the sun & having BBQs; and its fully equipped with everything you could possibly need. On top of that, Karen and John are great hosts and made us feel very welcome. We can’t wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Reviewed 25 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thomas104
Stradbally, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing.”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for four nights and I would highly recommend this cottage. You are within easy reach of the beaches and towns such as Lagos and Luz, but you can return to the absolute tranquility of the cottage, which is beautifully laid out in an open plan design. John and Karen are there to assist and are great company. There is a beautiful restaurant run by John and Karen, reasonably priced and serving the most delicious food. We really enjoyed our stay and you won't be disappointed if you choose this cottage. Very highly recommended. I had looked at other properties and am glad I chose this one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Isolation
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham
Reviewed 21 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$58
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing