We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We returned to paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Arorangi, Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

PhillipB2...
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“We returned to paradise”
Reviewed 27 June 2022 for a stay in June 2022
1
person found this review helpful

I said in my previous review for this property that I would like to return and 5 years later we did. Another couple that we travelled with celebrated there wedding anniversary and then a few days later we had a double birthday on the same day.

Last time we stayed at Onubay there were seven of us but this time there were only four. The great layout of this house meant that each couple had there own wing with bedroom and bathroom. All the living space is through the centre of the house with three other bedrooms upstairs. There is heaps of chill out space at both front and back of the house (which also has the bbq).

This house is very well set up for for home cooking with a very well equipped kitchen but if you choose to eat out you are spoilt for choice when it comes to the number of restaurants within 5 minutes walk.

For outdoor activities the house has a great pool which was used several times most days and there are also kayaks, cycles, reef shoes, and snorkeling gear.

We also checked out there DVD collection and listened to several of there CDs.

The central living space could get a breeze through the screen doors and also had really good fans. The bedrooms were nice and cool with both fans and aircons.

Booking for this property is really easy and great communication from Jo right up until time to travel. Rick greeted us at the house and once again was a fantastic host. As we did last time we invited Rick for a meal and his knowledge of what to do and where to go on the island is invaluable.

Once again very sad leaving as such an easy holiday staying at Onubay.

Rick and Jo thank you both for your kind hospitality.

Date of stay: June 2022
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SampsonSa...
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect base in Rarotonga”
Reviewed 8 September 2019 for a stay in July 2019
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you Jo and Rick for a wonderful stay in you holiday house. We were a group of 8 friends looking for a comfortable base in Rarotonga to enjoy the Te Maeva Nui festival, and to explore Rarotonga. Onu Bay Holiday House exceeded all our expectations.

The house is large, well appointed, and beautifully maintained. It is well located on the NW of the island, which gets less wind at the time we were visiting. There is a lovely beach suitable for swimming and snorkeling out the front.

The house has 5 bedrooms, with king splits, so bedding can be configured for families or a group of friends. There are plenty of living spaces, which are beautifully furnished, so people can easily get a bit of quiet time. The pool and tropical garden are lovely and so well maintained by Rick.

Jo made the booking process painless, which may not have been easy given our fluctuating numbers! Rick provided us with a very good house orientation when we arrived, and was a helpful and unobtrusive presence next door.

We'd thoroughly recommend Onu Bay Holiday House to any group looking for a stylish and tranquil base to explore the island.

Date of stay: July 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
millynted
Te Aroha, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding home - We will be back!”
Reviewed 2 September 2019 for a stay in August 2019
1
person found this review helpful

Think of your perfect holiday home and times it by 10 and you're nearly there. This place is AWESOME. The thought and care put in to making this house a home are obvious. Our group had 6 adults and 3 very boisterous wee men aged 3-6.
The rooms are beautiful and all have air con. The two bathrooms are first class. There is everything you could ask for from good wine glasses to blow up pool toys for the boys. Nothing has been overlooked in making this place a totally relaxing and wonderful place to relax and kick back Raro styles. Being right on the beach, the kids had a choice of the swimming pool to play in or lying around on the beach swimming and feeding the fish. You can see and hear the whales from here and to great excitement of the boys, the planes!!!
Jo, you made the booking process so easy and Rick you were a great host. Thanks for the 'orientation chat' it made everything so easy going forward. Thanks also for showing us your amazing villas next door at Serenity! This will be our next 'couple' holiday for sure. Beautiful and again, so well thought out.
Thanks for sharing your amazing piece of paradise with us.
Meitaki Maata

Date of stay: August 2019
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam F
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded Our Expectations”
Reviewed 30 July 2019 for a stay in July 2019
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful location, as the sunsets are beautiful on this side of the island & the snorkelling on the beach, in front of the house is great.
The house fitted our needs perfectly, as there were 5 couples in 5 King Size, extremely comfortable, beds.
The house was extremely clean, with 2 lovely bathrooms.
Great being able to enjoy the Happy Hours & the great restaurant at Sunset Resort next door.
There is a lovely big fridge freezer & a spare outside.
There was even snorkelling gear, life jackets, 2 kayaks & 2 bikes available to use.
The day bed, lounge chairs & lovely big table & chairs all on the deck, make it easy to relax.
We would definitely choose this house again.

Date of stay: July 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iluvtassi...
Tasmania
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 12 July 2019 for a stay in June 2019
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at Onu Bay Holiday House. We were a group of 8 and it suited us all in every way. Plenty of room, very comfortable beds, an amazing pool and the beach on the doorstep. The outdoor areas were great and it was lovely to have our own space. The house had everything we could ask for and more. The use of kayaks and snorkelling gear was great too. We hired a car for our stay but the island bus stop is out the front. We loved being able to walk to the bakery, little corner shop and even island night at a nearby hotel. We loved the snorkelling just in front of the house too. We would all recommend this wonderful house for people wanting a home instead of a hotel. Thank you Jo and Rick.

Date of stay: June 2019
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.