We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
nickhI1092UM
Sydney, Australia

Awesome accomodation

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Oct 2023
We had the most relaxing holiday in years at Sunhaven. The most delightful location with the loveliest hosts. The accommodation was immaculately clean and comfortable. Dennis and Patti were always available when needed and the pawpaw from their gardens was the sweetest I've ever had. Being Adults only was a real winner for us, so peaceful and relaxing, just the sound of the waves and the coconut palms rustling. Plenty of great spots nearby to eat and drink, but some nights we just sat and watched the sunset from our deck. Already trying to organise a return trip.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$218
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $218
0.5 km from Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Beachfront
$496
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $496
2.9 km from Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Pool
children enjoying the pool
$270
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $270
0.9 km from Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.0 km from Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Pool
Absolute Beachfront Bungalow
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.5 km from Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Trip.com
1.9 km from Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $583
  • Trip.com
2.4 km from Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
1.3 km from Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Hotel Site
  • Priceline
3.3 km from Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Arorangi
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
207
22
4
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
207
22
4
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2022 via mobile

Having tried the get back to Raro and Sunhaven we eventually managed the COVID bypass and got to heaven.
20 days of total relaxation....flopping into pool, snorkling in lagoon, walking to get great food, gazing at stars, friendly and helpful hosts, utter cleanliness, .....I could go on. I can't praise Sunhaven enough.
Can't wait to return.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Navigator55144493576
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2020

I was looking forward to a week in this motel but due to the coronavirus and no flights to Rarotonga I had to cancel but these lovely people gave me a complete refund without question. Unlike other motels in New Zealand. Thank you Sunhaven. I hope to see you again when the world gets back to normal. Helen

Date of stay: April 2020
1  Thank 295tammyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dennis Hogan, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2021

Kia Orana Helen, Many thanks for your kind words. We at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows fully understand the current difficulties associated with overseas travel. We are therefore assessing all cancellations on their individual merit. If travel is disrupted due to flight/border restrictions, or boarding is refused due to passengers ill health due to Covid 19, we will happily hold prepayments in credit and re book for a later date when travel is possible. We have done this for many of our guests who have had their travel plans interrupted.
Kia Manuia, Dennis Hogan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2019

Thinking about Cook Islands? Look absolutely no further than Sunhaven on the island of Rarotonga! They are a quick to respond to emails, and so easy to work with.

The bungalows are are quick cab or bus ride from the airport. We had pre-arranged round-trip transport with Cheryl at the desk, and was greeted warmly by our driver and "lei-d" at the small airport.

Upon arrival we found the grounds to be green and lush, and very well tended. Our bungalow itself (#4) was bright and airy. Vaulted ceilings and strategic fans provided nice airflow. We opted for a unit without air conditioning, as we knew this season isn't terribly hot, and we did just fine. Maybe during their summer we might have made another decision. Our bed was comfortable and the bathroom was well-lit. I borrowed a hair dryer from the reception desk, which was a full-size dryer. Not one of those little cheap ones you find in so many hotels nowadays.The kitchen had all we needed to fix our breakfast every morning. And we were welcomed by a fresh fruit basket of papaya and bananas on the table. YUM! Although there is a large dining table, we preferred to eat on the lanai out front. There was a book of information about both the property and the island on the coffee table. All was very useful!

We had a peek-a-boo view of the beach and ocean. We had little hermit crabs visit us one morning, and a mama hen with her little babies on another. The pool is about 1.4 meters deep and lovely if you're yearning for calmer waters than the ocean (which is truly right there!). The barbecue is near the pool area and perfect for cooking any fish you may have caught whist fishing during the day. There are plenty of loungers around the pool and on the beach. I loved the hammocks that were put out daily.

We opted to use the public bus system. It stops right out front of the property and circles the island regularly. It was so easy and quite reasonably priced, as we purchased a 10-ride punch card on our first day. The gent who usually drives the evening shift was a fun local man who was personable and engaging and always happy to answer any questions.

In the immediate area there were stores and restaurants to chose from. We walked about 3 minutes to the local market to buy our breakfast supplies. They were always very kind there, and they accept credit cards. The restaurants nearby are also good, ready with a tropical drink or a lovely meal.

I cannot say enough good about Sunhaven. It's what Hawaii used to be, with a true warm spirit and a lovely laid-back lifestyle. I would absolutely go back in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MamaTrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sunhaven1, Manager at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2019

Kia Orana Trixie,
Thank you so much for your awesome and informative review! We truly enjoy welcoming guests to our quiet resort right on the beach and we are so pleased you loved Sunhaven and Rarotonga as much as we do. Rarotonga really does have a lovely laid-back lifestyle that can be hard to find in today’s busy world. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we would love to see you back in the future.
Meitaki Ma’ata
Cheryl and John
Resort Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2019

I absolutely loved this little place, right on beach beautiful view every morning and private and quiet, Cheryl and John are the most lovely managers couldn't do enough for you. Sunset was gorgeous too, will def be back some day

Room tip: go with the bungalow
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceyd456
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sunhaven1, Manager at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2019

Kia Orana,
Thank you so much for your excellent review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Sunhaven and got to experience relaxation and sunsets in our little piece of paradise. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we are looking forward to seeing you both again.
Meitaki Ma’ata
John and Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2019

Sunhaven is the perfect place to relax and unwind, and literally do nothing! We spent six nights in our lovely, clean, super comfortable room where we could step out the door onto our deck, another few steps to the pool and yet another few steps to the beach. We saw some beautiful sunsets and some whales swimming by. We ate and drank, swam, read books, ate and drank, played Scrabble and cards, ate and drank, went for walks down the beach, ate and drank....Cheryl and John were fabulous hosts, available when we needed anything and ready with advice on the best places to eat. We didn't hire a car or a scooter, using the bus when we felt the need to venture out. There are several great restaurants within walking distance, as well as Beluga Cafe for coffee/brunch and the most tasty, generous serving of fish and chips ever across the road at the Pacific Fish and Chip Shop. With just a few bungalows, Sunhaven is boutique and child-free so you are ensured peace and quiet. If we didn't promise the kids we'll take them to Rarotonga with us next time, we'd be back in a flash!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kmitch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sunhaven1, Manager at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2019

Kia Orana,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy you both had such a lovely, relaxing time at Sunhaven. We are in the perfect spot for gorgeous sunsets and watching whales and it was a pleasure to be able to share it with you. We hope to see you again in our little piece of paradise.
Meitaki Ma’ata
Cheryl and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews