We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Chrissy S
Russell, New Zealand

Avoid at all costs

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Jun 2024
Avoid at all costs. Unfortunately, the photos on the website are clearly from when the place was built, and not recent. The entire resort is run down, and and in need of a massive makeover. We were in a poolside villa, great location, but the villa was dirty and out dated... power sockets hanging out of the wall, heat pump dripping dirty water, unclean cutlery the list goes on... then the water wouldn't work (on multiple occasions). When we questioned the maintenance staff we were eventually told the pumps couldn't cope when the resort was at full capacity and to shower at another time. We asked for another room but were told they were full and didn't offer us any other compensation. We could never speak directly with the manager as they were always unavailable. The staff seemed very unhappy and at times were rude. The buffet breakfast was basic, and had birds jumping all over it which was off putting. There was no internet. We left after 2/6 days and paid to stay somewhere else.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Official Hotel Site
0.9 km from Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
  • StayForLong
0.5 km from Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Absolute Beachfront Bungalow
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.0 km from Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • StayForLong
  • Official Hotel Site
2.9 km from Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • StayForLong
  • eDreams
1.5 km from Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
$334
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Trip.com
1.1 km from Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Birds eye view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
2.4 km from Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • StayForLong
3.9 km from Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
children enjoying the pool
$243
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.3 km from Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Arorangi
Reviews (876)
Filter reviews
877 results
Traveller rating
563
193
79
22
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
563
193
79
22
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard pool turn down service island night beachfront villa main pool cook islands fish travel agent watch the sunset spent nights cocktails resort privacy rarotonga flamed paradise lagoon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 877 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2024

Stayed a few days in a beachfront villa (number 8); very spacious and comfortable with water views and 2 private decks (one covered and one open). Bed was so comfortable we had great nights' sleep. Bathroom is modern.
Staff are very friendly and attentive. The resort is very laid back, done in simple style, with privacy for most rooms, and very quiet (no night entertainment or organised activities) but makes a very relaxing stay.
The waves break heavily out on the reef about 100m out; which you can't really safely access. But you can swim and snorkel in the lagoon on the beach side of the reef and see some fish life around the coral heads / bommies. It is rocky like most of this western coastline, so you need reef walker shoes. You also get a lovely sunset view on this western side of the island.

Room tip: The beach front villas are great. Travel around the island with the local bus (buy an 8 ride ticket so you can get on and off as you wish)
Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Crown Beach, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia Orana gregk212,
Meitaki for taking the time to review your stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa. We are overjoyed you had a great relaxing stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your Beachfront Villa and also the lovely sunset view.
Once again, we thank you for your positive review and we look forward to welcoming you back to paradise!
Kia Manuia
The Crown Beach Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2024

I have been patient hoping to have some answers from the crown but no repsonse...so here it is . A friend and I booked here for a 5 night holiday ex nz . On arrival our poolside suite (although in a great location ) was severely run down and in need of maintenence and a deep clean . Couches were stained with what not , the bin was broken , powersockets were falling out of the wall .The shower dribbled and was unusable. Multiple polite requests to the reception to get itthe shower repaired was unanswered . Conclusion was the pumps couldn't handle the amount of rooms and we should shower in non busy hours. Even that was hit and miss with no hot water . The request to be moved was declined as the other room had the same issues with water. Obviously they were aware and rented the rooms anyway .The heat pump was in dyer need of servicing with dirty water dripping from it so we chose to not use it . Bathroom floor appeared to have never been mopped. The beach was littered with smashed glass. Holidayers collected alot of it and handed it to staff members... the breakfast was average . Sometimes made us uneasy eating it while seeing birds flying and landing on the food with little attempts made by staff to stop this. The pool is also in need of maintenance etc We requested an early check out and refund for the reminder days as we were willing to fork out more money to stay else where but was declined. with no assistance from management we called our travel agent with photos after 2 nights . They moved us to the sunset resort down the road. What a difference!! Clean well maintained rooms beautiful views. Staff were a pleasure to be around . Our travel agents are in contact with management of crown (although staff were polite and helped where they could, the manager always seemed to be unavailable) such a shame the photos online looked great but we were deceived. Also if you don't like early mornings don't stay here leaf blower at 7am and roosters crowing from about 5am onwards outside your window .also only 2 channels on the TV. Again outdated , with bunny ear antenna .Parliament nz or a fuzzy unclear picture of their local channel. Coffee cups were not cleaned from last visitors. There were Ants in the jug . Ant nest also gaining force in the bathroom wall (wall also appeared to be leaning over and light force it would've fallen) see photos . Please reconsider your options and don't be disappointed and lose out on $ like we did.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Safari01687799067
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 May 2024

We had an enjoyable stay here . Our villa had its own pool which was great for cooling off. Always clean . Room was serviced when requested.
Transfers worked well .
Reception was very welcoming on arrival & helpful during stay.
Had no problems with wi-fi.
The resort is getting quite tired. Needs a good make over. There are unfinished projects like outside reception leading to main pool which appear to have been like this for a long while, not a good look. Also above breakfast food the soffit is rotten and falling apart.
If you use the local bus for transport be aware that the bus stop outside resort is a tip.
Shops across road are handy.
Car & scooter hire are within walking distance of resort.
If the maintenance is not addressed then we think the rates should be lowered.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curiosity31972061765
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Crown Beach, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia Orana Curiosity31972061765,

Meitaki for taking the time to review your stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa. We are overjoyed to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Although we naturally delight in receiving compliments, we also sincerely appreciate our Guests informing us of when our services and/or products fall short of expectations. Management and staff have been working hard in renovating some villas and pools including our main pool which is in operational now. We are always striving to improve our standards and therefore your comments will provide a valuable tool of reference during our Departmental Meetings and Staff Training Sessions. Your contribution is therefore appreciated.
Once again, we thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to paradise again soon!
Kia Manuia
The Crown Beach Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2024

Staff are amazing all over the resort so lovely to deal with nothing was a problem.
The property however is very tired although they are still charging full price. Food is not good. Breakfast swaps a few dishes but day by day just about the same. Really not good for a resort charging $1000 for the night. Don’t eat here. Roast night is nothing roast so not worth the money.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueAAAAaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 May 2024

The whole resort was very run down. The photos on the internet are very old ,not what was offered.
The staff were wonderful and caring could not do enough for us. They needed more help in restaurant on theme nights.
Unfortunately no entertainment at night.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Dele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Crown Beach, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2024

Kia Orana delef2018,
Meitaki for taking the time to review your stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa. Although we naturally delight in receiving compliments, we also sincerely appreciate our Guests informing us of when our services and /or products fall short of expectations. Management & staff have been working very hard to upgrade some villas and also our main pool which is now in operational including the pools and waterfall in our Courtyard pool suites. We are always striving to improve our standards and therefore your comments will provide a valuable tool of reference during our Departmental Meetings and Staff Training Sessions. Your contribution is therefore appreciated. Once again, we thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to paradise again soon!
Kia Manuia
The Crown Beach Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews