We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveller rating
164
130
22
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
130
22
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road cafe next door bbq area salt water pool enjoyed our stay petrol station main office dive centre snorkelling gear and reef shoes convenience store great beach cooking facilities cook islands sitting area rooms are large scooter hire bigger resorts
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 335 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2016

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The location is perfect across from a beautiful, tranquil, sandy beach. Jane and the staff were friendly and extremely helpful in assisting us in choosing activities and then booking the events; they were very accommodating in helping us find activities and interests. We felt very safe and well cared for throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at The Black Pearl at Puaikura, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Kia Orana Janet

It was a real pleasure to meet you and your son - thank you so much for choosing to stay at The Black Pearl - it refreshing to find a guest so interested in the history, culture and lifestyle of the Cook Islands. I enjoyed our chats and laughs and hope you will come back and visit one day. Good luck with your next adventure - wherever you may go.

Kind regards

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016

First time in the cook islands this was definitely not a bad place to stay, however it was not without its flaws. We had seen in an owners response that the bathrooms were supposedly newly renovated, but this did not seem to be the case, our toilet needed to be flushed multiple times and the shower struggled to drain. All the cooking implements - mostly frypan were very dirty.

I'm not at all tryng to say it is terrible but there were lots of small issues not mentioned in other reviews.

However our service was always great, and the grounds were nice, especially the pool, but the road nois was very clear and night, as we could make out every car and scooter going past.

This is definitely a nice self contained accommodation, but the rooms differ from pictured and are fairly dated.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at The Black Pearl at Puaikura, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

Kia Orana Tina,

Thank you for your valuable review - I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and am only sorry you didn't raise your concerns with us during your time here.

Just to clarify your comments re our bathrooms - our Cabana Rooms received new bathrooms late last year - the Garden View and Pool View rooms are scheduled to be upgraded this year. The Cook Islands has been in drought for many months although you may not realise it if you experienced a monsoonal downpour - however this affects the flushing of toilets due to lack of pressure - we apologise for the inconvenience this caused you.

This property was built in the late 1970's and since taking it over last year we have been working to give it a more contemporary feel - all rooms have been painted inside and out with new soft furnishings added. New window treatments are going in over the next few months.

All images on our website are of actual rooms have have not been retouched or photo shopped. In fact most guests comment that The Black Pearl is exactly as depicted on our website. I am sorry you didn't feel the same.

Thank you for mentioning the state of the cooking implements - I have taken this up with our housekeeping team.

Thank you for sharing you views with us and other potential travellers. And thank you for choosing to stay at The Black Pearl.

Kind regards

Jane Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

The Black Pearl resort is peaceful and relaxing. I was travelling with a friend, our Garden view room was very spacious and was everything that we needed. Our room was very clean and well equipped. The pool is surrounded by beautiful gardens and an outdoor BBQ area. The beach is directly across from the resort entrance and is great for swimming. The bus stop is only a few metres from the resort entrance. There is a convenience store, takeaway and petrol station next door to the resort. The staff at The Black Pearl are amazing! All of the staff went out of their way to make sure that we enjoyed our stay and no request was ever a hassle. The ladies in the office are more than happy to assist with booking day tours. The location of the resort is perfect; it is a short distance to all areas of the island and in close proximity to restaurants and bars. I would definitely recommend The Black Pearl Resort to anyone who is visiting Rarotonga. I will definitely return in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Loz52j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at The Black Pearl at Puaikura, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2016

Kia Orana Loz52j

It was fantastic to have the two of you here at The Black Pearl- I love to see guests enjoying themselves and making the most of what out little paradise has to offer - and you certainly did!

Thank you so much for your generous review - it is much appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Black Pearl very soon.

Kind regards

Jane Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2016

We really enjoyed our stay it was so relaxing, no tv meant we really unwined while there. Staff were super friendly and we really enjoyed actually getting to know them. The rooms were very spacious with nice high ceilings and a close to home feel! Will definitely come back!!!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lizmakalio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at The Black Pearl at Puaikura, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2016

Kia Orana Liz,

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay - your home away from home. Our rooms are some of the most spacious on Rarotonga and the high ceilings give a magnificent sense of space. I am very proud of our team here - they are encouraged to chat to the guests so that you can learn a little more about life on Raro.

Great to hear that you plan to return. Thank you so much for choosing to stay at The Black Pearl at Puaikura and for sharing your impressions with other travellers.

Kind Regards,

Jane Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016

My son and i recently stayed at The Black Pearl and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were very clean and the staff were very friendly. The grounds and pool were very private. Nice beach just across the road. Couldn't have asked for more. Will be staying here again on my next visit.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gregbP2702LM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at The Black Pearl at Puaikura, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2016

Kia Orana Greg,

Thank you for your wonderful review - we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with look forward to your return!

Kind regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews