We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$261
View Deal
Free cancellation until 06/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$257
View Deal
Free cancellation until 06/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$230
View Deal
Booking.comUS$264
eDreamsUS$264
Trip.comUS$259
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,977)
Filter reviews
1,977 results
Traveller rating
533
799
393
153
99
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
533
799
393
153
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club spaghetti house island night garden room beach front crab fish edge water spa bath tropical breakfast air con cocktail hour school holidays bit dated cook islands family holiday serviced daily
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,977 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2020

We had a most wonderful time at the cultural show. The traditional music was great and the food excellent. If you want an opportunity to sample many of the favorites of the island this is the place. Raw fish, sea food, lamb, and a plethora wonderful desserts are all included on the buffet! Take a table near the back as the intensity of the music is a bit overwhelming.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank DL2Some
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater Resort and Spa, Marketing at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2020

Kia Orana DL2Some,

We would like to thank you for the great review. Glad to hear you were happy and pleased with your stay and the service provided. With your kind of review we look at ways we can improve in and around our resort. Hope to see you again soon. We appreciate the feedback.

Meitaki Maata,
The Edgewater Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2020 via mobile

Although the rooms are starting to date, still a great resort and greatly priced, staff at the bar could be more consistent with their help some days over helpful others not helpful at all. Recommended for families

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CameronP938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater Resort and Spa, Marketing at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2020

Kia Orana CameronP938,

We would like to thank you for the great review. Glad to hear you were happy and pleased with your stay and the service provided. With your kind of review we look at ways we can improve in and around our resort. Hope to see you again soon. We appreciate the feedback.

Meitaki Maata,
The Edgewater Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2020

Pros:
-The restaurant food and "Island night" show and food are amazing!
-Air conditioning in room (necessary!)
-Studio room was quite big
-Safe to keep passports/cash worked
-Comfortable beds
-The wifi was cheaper than we had read it was (we got 2gb for $25 if I recall correctly)
-Beautiful beach/trees

Cons:
-Thin white curtains had big yellow stains on them and a light from outside another set of rooms shone into our room all night and there was no netting behind the curtains so if we opened them during the day we risked being seen
-Hair dryer didn't work
-Around windows were dirty
-Could hear the people upstairs walking around at 6.30am which woke me up on two mornings:/
-Pool was closed on two separate occasions (that I am aware of) as there were private functions in that area

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank LW1451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater Resort and Spa, Marketing at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2020

Kia Orana LW1451,

Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our resort. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the room that need updating. Let it be known that we will follow this up with Housekeeping and investigate further. In taking great care of our charming hotel, our main priority is to be able to offer a very well-maintained and comfortable atmosphere. I hope that I can convince you to change your mind about another visit to our property. It would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back to our new and improved hotel!
With much appreciation,

Meitaki Maata,
The Edgewater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2020 via mobile

We have stayed here for 8 nights & were very happy. We had a 3 bedroom villa which is so roomy especially with 2 teenagers. Air conditioning is great & well needed. We had breakfast with our package every morning. I have read a few reviews that mention canned fruit. We never saw canned fruit once. It was all lovely fresh local fruit. The staff are so friendly & always ready to help if needed. The snorkelling in front of resort is great. The only thing I would do next time is bring my own snorkel gear as you only allowed the resort ones for 2 hours.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank SandraQ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater Resort and Spa, Marketing at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2020

Kia Orana SandraQ64,

Thank you for patronizing The Edgewater Resort & Spa, Rarotonga; and taking time out to share your experience on this social platform. All of us here are delighted that we could ensure a comfortable stay during your visit. Thank you once again for your stay and your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Edgewater Resort & Spa.

Meitaki Maata,
The Edgewater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2020

The Edgewater Resort has the potential to be a great destination, but is sadly let down by a couple of disadvantages.

The accommodation is basically good (we stayed in a spacious sea front room), but the bathroom needs modernising – old fittings and wonky taps. The shower worked fine with plenty of hot water. There was a jaccuzzi bath which we didn’t use.

The room decor was basic but fine, furniture (and the bed) comfortable and with an excellent large patio with table and two chairs. The room is provided with a small safe (not big enough for a laptop computer), a fridge, kettle, tea and coffee supplies, wine and water glasses, 2 plates, knives, spoons and forks. Umbrellas were available from reception.

All linens are provided including a face flannel. Beach towels are available close to the pool (one per person). WiFi is available at extra cost unless included in your package deal. Our package included a “Tropical” breakfast – actually a well presented selection of cereals, fresh fruit, breads (for toasting if you wish), muffins and donuts. Coffee, tea and fruit juices were also provided. Breakfast can be upgraded to full cooked breakfast at a cost.

We were fortunate in being in the accommodation block closest to the main building and the restaurant.
In rainy weather or very hot sunshine, there is no covered walkway connecting the accommodation to the main building. We happened to have a big storm during our visit in mid February – this had little impact on the operation of the resort, but did emphasise to us the disadvantage of staying on this side of the island.

The resort has a shop selling clothes and souvenirs, also a guest laundrette ($6) and a beauty and massage service.

The pool is just OK – small and crowded at busy times – just a leisure pool rather than one used for swimming. This is a shame, because the beach is very stony and unstable underfoot – OK if you are a confident swimmer, but not ideal for those (or small children) who prefer to play in the waves on a sandy beach. At times the waves were quite big with an undertow, making the unstable footing more dangerous. One experience of this and we did not choose to go in the sea again here. There is a building project underway at the moment (February 2020), to protect the resort from storms. This is necessary, I am sure, but no warning was given in advance about these works which severely intrude on the relaxing area by the pool and are visually unsightly.

Without exception staff were friendly and helpful. Their attitude goes a long way to make a stay here enjoyable.

We ate in the restaurant a few times (in addition to breakfast) and the food was very good. We enjoyed the Saturday night “Island Night” entertainment and the buffet on that occasion was exceptional.

We enjoyed our visit, but would probably choose a more protected side of the island with better beaches if we return.

Room tip: Sea view room is essential
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater Resort and Spa, Marketing at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2020

Kia Orana Chris H,

Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our resort. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the room that need updating. Let it be known that we value your honest feedback, it is feedback like this we try to improve each and every stay. In taking great care of our charming hotel, our main priority is to be able to offer a very well-maintained and comfortable atmosphere. It would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back to our new and improved hotel!

With much appreciation,

Meitaki Maata,
The Edgewater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews