We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable well placed cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Feature lounge / diner with oak beams and comfy sofa, together with a woodburning stove.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Feature lounge / diner with oak beams and comfy sofa, together with a woodburning stove.
Avonlea Cottage frontal aspect Tourist Board awards
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Feature lounge / diner with oak beams and comfy sofa, together with a woodburning stove.
Avonlea Cottage frontal aspect
Tourist Board awards
Lounge / Diner with blazing log fire, TV/DVD/freeview and Broadband below open plan stairs
Welcome bubbly on arrival
Private and secluded sunny rear garden with view to open countryside with two seating areas.
Garden view with open countryside views and second patio for BBQ and al fresco dining an
Large double bedroom with cast iron bed with co-ordinated decorations and linen.
Bedroom with comfortable bed and distressed pine furniture
Bedroom with wicker chair, ladies dressing table / stool and hairdrier
Large bathroom with 3 piece white suite with power shower over and countryside view from window
Relaxing chair with view through bathroom window  to countryside
Fully appointed kitchen with with fine quality porcelain crockery, cutlery and crystal glasses
Fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washer/ and ample utensils any chef.
View over the garden and patio to open countryside
Garden view from kitchen window, is a delight when birds and animals come to visit.
Garden view towards Cottage with 2nd patio. An ideal location for a BBQ and outdoor dining.
Visitors to bottom of Avonlea's garden usually cows or horses
Monyash village showing Avonlea's location with The Bulls Head pub on the village green
The Bulls Head pub and Smithy cafe on the village green in Monyash 150 meters from Avonlea
Hartington - Lambs at play on walk to Beresford and Wolfscote Dale
Walk high above Ladybower Reservoir with picture postcard Peak District scenery.
Chatsworth House with acres of Grounds
Original Bakewell Pudding shop in Bakewell town centre
Bakewell bridge and river Wye. Bakewell is probably the most popular venue in the Peak District.
View from Monsal Head looking down onto Monsal Dale. Beautiful scenery and a must to visit.
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Monyash, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Naomi A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable well placed cottage”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thoroughly enjoyed our all too short stay at 'Avonlea' cottage . Well equipped cottage as previously stated and comfortable bed with lovely soft sheets ..
Perfect for 2 people and we loved the fact we could walk from the cottage and Monyash is such a great location to explore the Peak District,
We sampled the food at the local pub on 2 nights and it didn't disappoint and staff friendly .
We would definately return to this lovely little place

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
More of Avonlea's guests who would - "definitely return to this lovely little place."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry M
Pangbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 6 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay in Monyash. The cottage is nicely positioned; very near the pub and cafe (always important!) but also with plenty of fantastic walking right from the doorstep. The cottage itself was well provisioned with some nice touches and we got plenty of use out of the fire which certainly made it nice and cosy even with this week's snow. We were also very grateful for the ready supply of logs! If you're looking for a cosy cottage in a great location would definitely recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2016
Our guests found Avonlea well positioned in Monyash for great walking on the doorstep and the welcoming village pub, restaurant and cafe too. Avonlea is welcoming to return to and is nice cosy and warm even on the coldest days.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P S
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful cosy cottage in wonderful Derbyshire village.”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

As soon as I had spoken to the owner on the phone, I knew it would be a lovely stay. Chris was so pleasant and helpful. We stayed over Christmas and the cottage was beautifully decorated with a tree, decorations, crackers, Prosecco etc, for us - perfect!

The cottage had a log burner, (logs included) and everything you could possibly want for an enjoyable stay. The kitchen was new and well equipped and the bathroom/shower clean, new, relaxing and lots of hot water. There is also a lovely garden at the back, which would have more possibilities in the summer!

We loved the village - beautiful stone houses and a fantastic local pub, with friendly landlord/lady and other guests. Great beer - we liked the Belgian Blue! We didn't have time to eat there, but it looked good. It is a perfect location for visiting Buxton, Bakewell, Dovedale etc. So many lovely places to go to - more than we had time for.

It was great, having the cottage to come back to each evening. We would definitely like to come back in the summer. Derbyshire is a lovely place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2016
These charming guests booked our cottage over the phone wanting someware to stay for Christmas and although the stay was for 4 nights, we added a complimentary night, as it was the season of goodwill. We love Avonlea to be booked for Christmas and we dress it tastefully leave a few specialities too. We are really glad to received feedback and very pleased that our guests enjoyed their stay and the facilities our cottage and the village of Monyash provided. We hope they will return to enjoy a visit in summer and sample alfresco dining in Avonlea's sunny, secluded rear garden.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horaceand...
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Lovely cottage in a great location for the Peak District, between Bakewell and Buxton.
Everything about our stay was a pleasure, from the ease of booking on the website, directions to the property, and pick up of keys. We were delighted to find a bottle of prosecco and a bunch of flowers waiting for us on arrival.
The cottage was very cosy with it's log fire, comfortable bed with good linen, and nice touches such as the little bottles of shampoo and lotions in the bathroom.
We did lots of walking, together with visits to nearby Buxton and Bakewell, and of course made sure we stopped off at a nice tearoom or two! Recommended are the Lavender Tearoom in Bakewell, and No 6 The Square in Buxton.
The Bulls Head in the village is well worth a visit both for the food and the real ales, about 3 minutes walk from the cottage.
We would unhesitatingly recommend Avonlea Cottage to anyone looking for a quiet cosy retreat in the Peaks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
This is a lovely review, the kind we like to receive and its why we make our cottage welcoming and inviting for our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keedy
pevensey bay
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage, great location.”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A small but very comfortable cottage, ideal for two. Nicely furnished, well equipped and immaculately clean. Nice rear garden with good views.
We enjoyed the local pub which was a few minutes walk away. Good wholesome pub grub and local ales.
Monyash is within easy reach of plenty of good places to visit and there are lots of great walks in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ideal for two. Good location.
Liked least: Nothing to speak of.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
We are pleased our guest found our cottage and the surrounding area to there liking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$97
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing