We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
17
8
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
8
0
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2021

What a great place. The countryside is beautiful, the woman who runs it is lovely - so friendly and helpful. And she also has a B&B on her farm next door.

It's clean and tidy, the showers are great and there is a good kitchen area with a lounge/eating area. Plus free wi-fi and a TV. There's a nice little garden and a lock-up for bikes etc.

And the location is superb with views of Lundy Island from the garden, fields all around you and a short distance from a stunning coastal cliff top walk.

There's no food on site so bring supplies and try the Smithy Inn, The Kings Head or the Hartland Quay Hotel for meals.

We would definitely return.

Room tip: It's a YHA so it's bunk rooms - if there are four of you then perhaps book a six bed room.
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W4825FSmichaelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 September 2019

I have been visiting Elmscott for many years. Since purchasing the youth hostel from theYHA, Thirza has been making improvements year on year and there is always a warm welcome from Thirza and the volunteer wardens.
The accommodation is clean, tidy and comfortable and the kitchen facilities exceptional.
Elmscott Bunk House encompasses everything you could wish for in a simple, self catering youth hostel. Beautiful walking/cycling countryside, peace and quiet and local amenities to enjoy.
It’s always a pleasure to return each year to enjoy these wonderful surroundings.
Thank you,
Maureen Baker

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank Swaffhampotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 July 2019 via mobile

For starters, let’s be honest, this is a hostel not a hotel, but as hostels go this has a 5* rating.

It offers a great secluded location as well as a great base to explore from. I easily made day trips to Bude and Ilfracombe as well as some nice walks to local places such as the costal path to Heartland Quay. There is so much to explore from here with the A39 a short drive away.

The hostel itself is in 2 sections, the main house and the ‘outer’ building. I preferred the outer building as it had a really large kitchen/dinning area and really good showers, both of which looked new. Both houses have a TV but for those attached to electronic devices be warned - no WiFi !

This hostel favours the adventurer. I met such varied types of people here from foreign travellers to walkers to families escaping for the weekend. I really enjoyed the economies and the fun of being able to cook with my children - something I struggle to find time to do at home (note to self!!).

There are 4 rooms in the outer building and I think the same in the main house. Rooms have wooden bunk beds and range from 2, 4 and 6 bedded rooms.

If it’s peace and quiet you’re after and a good base to explore from on a budget then this is for you.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Steve_Harborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2019

Firstly, I am a long-standing member of YHA and have absolutely no connection to the proprietors of Elmscott hostel. Having known and loved Elmscott hostel for many years, I would urge guests not to be influenced by a single, unrepresentative sour review.
-
Elmscott is a lovely, informal and traditional hostel. The bedding system of sheets is identical to that which operated at all YHA hostels throughout their history until about 5 years ago. Elmscott is spotless and is staffed by a rota of unpaid volunteer wardens, as such it is run on the traditional old youth hostel system, where wardens and hostellers alike interact socially and take meals in the same space. As such , a glass or too of wine is perfectly in order for the volunteer. It is not a Premier Inn and hostellers should not expect remote, robotic staff!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank fellwanderer2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2019

On behalf of the dedicated 30 or so Elmscott wardens - we are all volunteers who stay for between one and two weeks every year. We all love the hostel and the fantastic SW Coastal landscape. Many of us have been volunteering for many years. More than 30 in my case!
Wardens welcome and interact with visitors, answer the phone, serve in the shop, keep the hostel and bedding clean and ensure the safety of guests etc.
During the evening in addition to welcoming guests we are free to socialise with customers or our partners/friends who may have accompanied us -this may include playing cards and enjoying a glass of wine. ( We need to be in the Hostel from 5pm onwards)
Regarding the bedding, each quest is given freshly laundered sheets and a pillow case. All other bedding - duvet covers etc is laundered at least every 4 weeks or when it needs laundering in the meantime. - even if beds have hardly been used - our usage is very low.
When the hostel has been used by a sole booking group all bedding is laundered when they leave.
Our average review score of 4.5 speaks for itself!
Do please visit us and enjoy one of the remaining old style Youth Hostels in England!
Sorry, no wifi and limited mobile reception - "Hurrah," say many visitors!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews