We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
18
8
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
18
8
0
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2019

On behalf of the dedicated 30 or so Elmscott wardens - we are all volunteers who stay for between one and two weeks every year. We all love the hostel and the fantastic SW Coastal landscape. Many of us have been volunteering for many years. More than 30 in my case!
Wardens welcome and interact with visitors, answer the phone, serve in the shop, keep the hostel and bedding clean and ensure the safety of guests etc.
During the evening in addition to welcoming guests we are free to socialise with customers or our partners/friends who may have accompanied us -this may include playing cards and enjoying a glass of wine. ( We need to be in the Hostel from 5pm onwards)
Regarding the bedding, each quest is given freshly laundered sheets and a pillow case. All other bedding - duvet covers etc is laundered at least every 4 weeks or when it needs laundering in the meantime. - even if beds have hardly been used - our usage is very low.
When the hostel has been used by a sole booking group all bedding is laundered when they leave.
Our average review score of 4.5 speaks for itself!
Do please visit us and enjoy one of the remaining old style Youth Hostels in England!
Sorry, no wifi and limited mobile reception - "Hurrah," say many visitors!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 July 2019

A letter sent to YHA, after visiting this hostel, best recommends this hostel and its staff:
Dear Sirs, 30.06.2019

I’m writing to you, because, as a member of YHA, I was confronted with a situation that shocked me and changed my good, so far, opinion about YHA hostels.

During our trip through south west we've booked one night at the Elmscott hostel, (booking reference: XXXXXXXXX). Upon arrival at the hostel and check in, we were confronted with a situation that we would never have even thought of before.

The member of staff showing us our room warned us and advised us to avoid contact with dirty bedlinen, which, he said, would be changed once a month, without much attention to how many people used it before.

We thought it was a joke, unfortunately it was not.

We were shocked and highly disappointed.
It was totally disgusting.

I cannot imagine that I could sleep under dirty bedlinen, even if someone suggests us, supposedly clean sheets, to avoid contact with dirty bedding.
Offering guests the use of dirty bedding is contrary to good manners, generally accepted social norms and the principles of health and safety. It’s far away from the standards in civilized Europe of the 21st century.

So, we were forced not to accept that utter madness and decided to sleep in the car or look for a different place than to spend the night in such conditions.
As, due to the hygiene conditions at Elmscott hostel, which prevents us from sleeping there, I demand the return of the money we’ve paid.

Never before, traveling all over Europe, I did meet with such treatment of guests. Behaviour of member of staff, drinking wine and playing cards, at a time when they should be available to visitors, isn’t a good recommendation for YHA and Elmscott hostel.

In connection with the above, very unpleasant circumstances, preventing us from using your service, demanding the full refund is more than justified.

Best regards

Robert M.

Attached: scandalous and unacceptable bedding instructions.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank Dream08191240086
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Very basic but cheery atmosphere. Enjoyable break in the countryside with good access to coastal walks. Great books and jokes on offer.

Definitely recommend the Yea Hard Hard for all types of groups. Lovely.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Greta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 July 2018

Even quieter than last year and this time we stayed in the annex which had an even better kitchen and we cooked a grand meal the three nights we stayed there.
No frills but a fair price and we will be coming back next year.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Des S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 October 2017

we booked a couple of days at the youth hostel rather last minute. it was decades since we had last stayed in a youth hostel; this experience has converted us. we stayed in the main school house; a lovely building. furnishings were straight out of the early eighties but that was no worry at all. the owner of the hostel was so helpful providing us with a lift to the start of our coast walk on two days. thank you.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cafechitchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews