We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Love this house!”
other travellers have booked this property
Tranquility Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tranquility Cottage
Living Room Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Tranquility Cottage
Living Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Kitchen and Dining Room
Master  Bedroom, First Floor (King Bed)
Queen Bedroom
Queen Bedroom
Twins Bedroom
Reading and Game Room
Reading and Game Room
Sun Room with Sliding Doors to Deck
Shelves of Guidebooks, Maps, Area Menus
Full Bath
Somesville
Lobster boats in Bernard
Asticou Gardens
Acadia National Park Thompson Island
Acadia National Park Bernard
Southwest Harbor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
107kendra
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love this house!”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family spent a week at Tranquility cottage in August. We loved it!! This was our second family vacation to Mt. Desert Island and the house was perfect. Tranquility cottage is the perfect name. The house seems to be on the quiet side of the quiet side. Far enough away from the hustle and bustle of town (Southwest Harbor) to relax and close enough to drive there in just a few minutes. Everything we needed was available to us in the house with the exception of a cookie sheet, but we bought one and left it there! The kitchen does not have a dishwasher but the view of the trees outside the window over the sink is so peaceful it's not a big deal to stand there and wash.
There were so many extra touches throughout the house but I have to say my favorite was the option to use the dehumidifier in the master bedroom. Even though this house isn't right on the water it is still on an island and it's humid. Emptying the dehumidifier once a day was no big deal and it kept everything comfortably dry in the house.
The kids loved having their own space upstairs and we took advantage of the books, games and puzzles that were available. We also loved walking to the nearby rocky beach.
We will definitely stay here again.
One other word to future renters, stop in at Gott's store. You will drive by it on your way to town and might even decide you don't need to go to town!
The house and surrounding area are lovely, there are nearby neighbors but the view of the houses is blocked by trees so you feel so secluded.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I can't pick
Liked least: The shower took a little getting used to.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth5064
Bristol, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A quiet and comfortable place to enjoy Mount Desert Island from.”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Tranquility Cottage is a beautiful property located in a quieter area, but near enough to any coastal activity we wanted to do. The property has a cottage feel, but was large enough for three couples to have their own private space as well as several very nice group spaces. The cottage was fully outfitted with just about everything we needed to cook any type of meat or seafood smaller than a Blue Whale. If you are ready to embrace cottage living, giving up big screen TVs in every room and a dishwasher, you will love this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well appointed cottage that embraced Mtn. Desert Island living.
Liked least: Coffee pot was acting up a bit but it was replaced ASAP.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yohimbo
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“sweet cottage off the busy path”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were delighted with this cottage. There was plenty of space and it was fully and completely appointed with everything you could need. We had a slight glitch with the washing machine and the owner sent her maintenance people out immediately. They were fantastic guys and set it straight shortly. Coming back to this house after hiking all day was absolutely perfect. You can be in Bar Harbor in fifteen to twenty minutes but it is so nice to get back to this wonderful little cabin tucked back in the woods east of Southwest Harbor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: water quality
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michiganm...
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice and Peaceful”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was on the quiet side of the island. It was our first time to the Island and we really liked the area. It was close to Southwest Harbor. The house was surrounded by woods and away from everything. We met the lady across the street who sells eggs and is very nice. She has a small farm and talked to us for a long time about her journey moving from the city to Maine.

We were a half an hour from Bar Harbor which we really liked. We will probably stay closer to there next time. The park entrance near otter cliffs was popular with my teenagers and is closer to that area. So, this is not a fault of the property but us since we have never been there before and didn't really know the area. We did enjoy some really nice hikes in this area and the lake.

The reason I gave it 4 stars and not 5 is because of a few minor things. First of all, there was not a dishwasher or garbage disposal. I wasn't aware of that and it really wasn't that bad but next time I would book a place with these items. Also, I had to buy paper toweling, garbage bags, dish brush and dish soap. The paper toweling we later found upstairs in the bedroom like closet. When we went to use the grill, it was not cleaned from the last people and the tools were out there and dirty. We found bacon in the microwave and the coffee maker leaked from the bottom.

I realize we have high expectations and these are minor things. On the positive side, the beds were comfortable, they had many pots and pans and kitchen utensils. They have beautiful towels but bring beach towels if you plan to go to the beach. The upstairs bathroom is really nice and renovated. It has a heat lamp which is a nice feature.

My family enjoyed the many games that were upstairs. Every night we played a game. Also there was plenty of room for our family of 5.

Julie, the owner, is fabulous. She responds right away and left us a note and a gift.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review. We are surprised to learn that you needed to buy some supplies. These items are to be routinely provided for each visitor. There is also no reason for the grill and microwave to have been in that condition, and we are sorry you found them this way. We put great importance on a high degree of cleanliness and attention to detail to ensure that guests have a flawless stay. We have spoken to the cleaners, and errors of this sort will not occur again. We do wish you had contacted us as soon as you noticed these issues; they would have been addressed immediately.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay despite these oversights,
Julie and Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoecrazy...
Auburn, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise Found.”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned after spending a week at Tranquility Cottage. May I just say that we found it to be so comfortable and the next thing to being in our own home. Everything shown on the website was on spot accurate. We did not want for anything. No matter what we were looking for, the cottage had it. The owners were great to work with, and answered questions we had. The area was so convenient, and Thurston's Lobster House was awesome. We ate there three times, and each time was excellent. We bec ame acquainted with the neighbors at the end of the road, and they were so warm and friendly to us. Acadia was without a doubt one of the most beautiful places we have been to during our many travels in the U.S. and Canada. We do hope to return at some point to Mt. Desert Island, and the next time with our children and grandchildren. Many thanks to the owners for a great stay and accommodations..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The coziness, convenience, and cleanliness.
Liked least: Cannot think of any negatives.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing