We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience - and surfing is fantastic in Lisbon in September”
Review of Go Surf Lisboa

Go Surf Lisboa
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Parede
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Daily Surf Trips around Lisbon. We teach you how to Surf, the easy way. The FUN way! The experience of a lifetime! Half a day Surftrip - Full day Surftrip - Surf Courses We pick you up in Lisbon, and drive to the best waves around. Best Surf lessons in town, best gear, best ride. All year round, 7 days a week. The waves are waiting for you!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Very happy with the surfing experience, I undertook a 3 day surf course, which really equates to a 6 session package. The standard structure is normally 2 sessions per day (be warned 2 sessions per day is quite tough when taken in strong conditions) but tide conditions dictated the single sessions occurred over consecutive days, which worked out preferable. The setup is very good, the pickup is in a central Lisbon location and surfing are in beaches near by to Lisbon. So the overall package is very good, for the price you receive wet-suit, board, transportation (to/from) Lisbon, which when all considered is a good package as the beaches are 20-30 km's from Lisbon and you see areas and beaches normal tourists would not see.The reality of surfing is after 1 session you are able to stand only, 2 sessions per day is tiring, around day 3-4 you are able comfortably stand, turn and walk the board.My Recommendation: If doing 1 day, 1 session (2 hours) is fine, and you get the surf experience and get to see the beaches and places around Lisbon. There is very little skill difference between the first 1-2 sessions. If doing multiple days, buy the packages (i.e. 3 day or more) and design it for 1 session per day, and spread it over multiple days, you get to see multiple beaches around Lisbon and you let the body recover for each session. Assume around day 3-4 you start to feel very comfortable on the board and you can consider your-self an actual surfer.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank aah1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Go Surf L, Gestor at Go Surf Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comment!

Hope to see you soon for more surf sessions together.

All the best
GoSurf Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"surf school"
in 12 reviews
"surfing experience"
in 5 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 8 reviews
"amazing surf"
in 4 reviews
"learn surf"
in 2 reviews
"an excellent teacher"
in 2 reviews
"great lesson"
in 2 reviews
"great half day"
in 2 reviews
"surf spots"
in 2 reviews
"skill level"
in 2 reviews
"different levels"
in 2 reviews
"super fun"
in 2 reviews
"felipe"
in 12 reviews
"beginners"
in 13 reviews
"instructor"
in 26 reviews
"waves"
in 28 reviews
"teaching"
in 13 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2018

My girlfriend and I went surfing with Go Surf Lisboa in mid-September and had a great time.

We met the guides and rest of our group in central Lisbon and piled in the van around 9am. After about a 30 minute drive we were on the beaches of Costa da Caparica. Our instructors Filipe and Manu were very attentive, knowledgeable, and encouraging.

Our group of 7 were split into first-timers (3), and those with a bit more experience (4), with one instructor per group.

Although I'm terrible at surfing, I love the physical demands (and even dangers) of it. After a half day or more of fighting the ocean, you are totally exhausted. We had originally booked a full day, morning and afternoon sessions, but my girlfriend was feeling a bit beaten up after the morning session. This will happen if it's your first time. Filipe and Manu were very flexible and had no problem with us cancelling the afternoon session.

I agree with other reviews, that this is perhaps the best value I've paid for surf lessons. 35 euro per person is very reasonable considering pick-up in Lisbon, transport, equipment, and instruction.

Thank you Filipe and Manu. We will definitely recommend you to our friends.

All the best,
Shirin and Colin

Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Go Surf L, Gestor at Go Surf Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Hi Colin,

thank you very much for your comment!
We are really happy to hear that was a great experience for you, and hope to see you soon!

Cheers
GoSurf Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Super helpful both in communication before and with everything I needed whilst surfing with them! Would thoroughly recommend to anyone looking to do a few days of surfing classes near Lisbon!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Isabel00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Go Surf L, Gestor at Go Surf Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Hi Isabel,

thank you for your comment!
Hope to see you soon

GoSurf Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

This is the best deal for surfing lessons in Lisbon.
It is the complete package, the transport to and from the beach, wetsuit and the board, and amazing instructors to help you get on the board and enjoy.
My girlfriend and I booked 3 lessons a couple of days apart.
Everybody was super friendly very helpful, informative and genuinely did their best to make this an excellent experience.
This is a must if you visit Lisbon.
We will go again.

Thank Nikola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Go Surf L, Gestor at Go Surf Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Hi Nikola,

thank you so much for your comment, was a pleasure to have you surfing with us, come back soon!

Cheers
GoSurf Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2018

The one thing I disliked is that there are 3 instructors. 5-7 people per instructor. There is designated places for surfing. When there are about 16-17 people in a small area trying to learn is pretty frustrating with everyone in each others way.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank alimonadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Go Surf L, Owner at Go Surf Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Hi Ali, thank you for your honest review, we appreciate it a lot. You are right, the group on that day was very big, but you have to understand that we were in the middle of August (on the 17th).
Regarding the number of students/instructors, in the morning we had 13 students, for 3 instructors (ratio of 4.3 students per instructor) and in the afternoon, we had 16 students, with 4 instructors, (ratio of 4 students per instructor)
I am 100% certain of these numbers. We never had a day where there were 5-7 students per instructor.
Its true that sometimes there where a lot of students getting pushed with the current to the same spot, and so you ended up having too many surfers around you, but the instructors were divided in different areas, and they had specific students at their care, to avoid situations like that.
Then it's up to the students to fight against the current and stay close to your instructor.
The area is limited, because its the regulations of Portugal. The surf schools have a specific area in the water to operate, using a permit.
We have everything legal, and we always follow regulation. By law you are allowed to have a max of 20 surfers in the surf school area, number that we never had, because we know it's too much.

I hope you can understand our point of view, and i hope that you can keep surfing, and having better surfing experiences around the globe.
All the best
Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Go Surf Lisboa also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Carcavelos, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
Carcavelos, Lisbon District
 

Been to Go Surf Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing