We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very pleasant stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Barn Apartment

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Long Wittenham, Abingdon, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tigermoo
Rotherham
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week at The Barn and had a lovely time visiting Oxford,The White Horse,Wittenham Clumps and Dorchester. We visited Oxford many times parking at Redbridge Park and Ride and then taking the shuttle bus.
The owners of The Barn are very friendly and helpful. Our accommodation was the whole of the top floor of a converted barn which had private workspaces underneath. Just as well, as the creaking floorboards would have woken anyone down below! There were two bedrooms, a bathroom,and a kitchen/diner/lounge with beautiful views. All were well equipped and tastefully decorated. There was no garden but the weather was cool so we didn't miss one.
We would definitely stay again if in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2017
Thank you for staying with us, and for your review.

Please contact us anytime at Short Let Space should you wish to book one of our properties in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCNewport...
Newport Beach
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely village location, good for extended stay near Oxford.”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The apartment is perfect for an extended stay. We are visiting friends and family in the area and have found it a great base. Near the river Thames and many places to walk. Very comfortable with everything needed for cooking and relaxing. Spacious with the two bedrooms and tastefully furnished with lots of attention to detail (even a night light in the corridor). The living room is delightful being upstairs in the barn and having a view towards Wittenham Clumps, a local landmark. Sally and Mike have been very helpful if anything needed attention. A car is needed since there is just one pub and a pub/restaurant in the village and no village shop.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger S
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely village, lovely barn and lovely owners”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were in Oxfordshire for the sole purpose of helping to look after our grandchildren for a week. Therefore we used the place like a hotel leaving early each morning and mainly returning late.
The owners were charming and helpful and we had everything that we wanted. The barn was as it said on the tin. The only reason it, for us, failed to get a fifth star is the terrible creaky flooring. It was not possible to negotiate the landing without waking up other members of the house, and probably the neighbours. Why was this so important? Well, because I suffer from Parkinsons, I choose a separate bedroom precisely because of my intermittent sleeping and regular bathroom trips. To get a second bedroom in a cottage you are paying a 60 to 70\ percent premium over a one bedroom cottage, and for us, this was a waste of money given the fantastic creaking noise accompanying the first step out of bed , and every one thereafter.

All in all a well run and pleasant cottage, and if you sleep soundly through each night go for it...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners
Liked least: tHe noisy creaking floor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wittenham...
1 review
“Spacious and cosy, and good walks”
Reviewed 27 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Had a very pleasant stay - The Barn had everything we needed. Nice location, friendly dog, very spacious - was able to host Christmas lunch for 11. Also very clean.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nizar A
Amman, Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truely amazing stay”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Being a family of four, the experience was one of quality of service before we arrived, the owner send me an email offering to do shopping before our arrival, and this continue from the moment we stepped through the door.
The owner Sally and Mike were very helpful to provide us with the all details about the place and neighborhood.
I can honestly say this is one of the best places I have ever stayed in, not only for existence of everything you will need in the appartment during your stay, but also for the tireless assistance and readiness for help to reply any question at any time, they made me stay marvelous.
Thank you very much Sally and Mike, you are truly amazing.
Sally, you are my angle

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Sally and Mike, the owners
Liked least: transportation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing