We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant weekend.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of duvale priory

from the garden looking towards duvale priory.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
from the garden looking towards duvale priory.
Duvale dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
from the garden looking towards duvale priory.
Duvale dining room
BBQ area and seating
Seating outside
Seating outside
Garden
Garden
Front view
Arrival side
Front room with wood burner.
Bedroom .
Bedroom
Bedroom
Front room
Front room
Front room
Pool table room
Pool table room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom .
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Bampton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
christine...
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant weekend.”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I recently spent a wonderful weekend at Duvale Priory with 20 members of my family and friends aged between upper 60's and upper 6. The Priory itself is a large attractive and extremely well equipped building set in lovely countryside.
The owner of the property is extremely friendly and helpful.
Despite the difference in age everyone really enjoyed the weekend and I hope to be able to organise a further visit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison P
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Plenty of space for all - needs cleaning and updating”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at Duvale Priory over the Easter holiday; the weather was amazing which meant that we took advantage of the outside space at the back of the house. The clear dark nights meant we could look at the amazing stars on display which we do not see at home. The property is in a really good location for exploring the Exmoor. We enjoyed a lovely day at Tarr Steps and cycling along the Great Western Canal path from Tiverton. If you are looking for an area with a good range of activities to suit all ages this is a good choice. The booking process was straightforward and easy to complete via Paypal.

The interior of the house however did not live up to our expectations and on arrival we were immediately unimpressed with the level of cleanliness throughout the property, this included the bathrooms and toilets. Dust and dirt was evident throughout the house, especially so in the kitchen, and we had to put all the crockery through the dishwasher (as it all felt sticky) before we used any of it. The house felt cluttered and full of unwanted items that appeared to have been purchased from a car boot sale, even the sofas in the sitting room had seen better days. We even found an old chicken bone in a basket of leaflets about the surrounding area; the basket clearly hadn't been sorted out for quite some time!

The overall impression of the property was one that needed a deep clean and thorough overhaul. The bed linen was well past its best. It felt and looked like it had been laundered many times; in fact one duvet was so dusty that is was taken outside and shaken vigorously before being put back on the rather uncomfortable bed. Additional front door keys were also hard to come by and we were only given one extra key after prolonged discussion with the site manager on the first day. This was due to her concern about keys being lost by the occupants and locks having to be changed at great expense. We also found the numerous signs in each room informing us of various rules and fines to be a little unnecessary. It was clear that other parties staying here must have mistreated the property before.

It is a big property and there is plenty of space for a large party, but if you’re looking for something that is little more than basic then don't choose Duvale Priory. We enjoyed ourselves because of the beautiful location, fantastic weather and company and not because we had chosen to stay here. We also thought that the comment at the front of the visitor’s book insisting on written feedback by all occupants was a little strange and decided to write this review instead.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of outside space and the pool table.
Liked least: Clealiness of the property and poor quality bedding.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2015
Duvale Priory, is a very old property with plenty of old character and charm,the property is actually a listed building.The property does have antique furniture and other bits in keeping with its character.Duvale offers plenty of space for large groups and is not a 5 star so if this is not what you are after, then its probably not the place for you.in this particular instance the customer was offered a full immediate cleaning service to put correct all of his issues but he declined.We believe that the property is always cleaned to a good standard,however if someone does have an issue we do ask to be informed during their stay,so that we can do our best to amend any problems. The guest book in the hall way is a book asking you to fill in your names and addresses,this is a request that our local council have said we must abide by.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JemmaB
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect venue for a special weekend”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We rented Orchard Barn and Duvale Retreat for a long weekend and had a party with 30 people on the Saturday night in the Barn. The layout was perfect - good sized kitchen and long table for the buffet, three connected sitting rooms - one for the cocktail bar, one for the roulette table and one for the photo studio! - and plenty of storage space for food and drink. Lots of comfy sofas and nice log burners. Bedrooms are generally spacious, clean and comfortable. Bathrooms a bit small and dated but perfectly serviceable and everything else more than made up for what they lacked in style. I worried it might be cold but shouldn't have, the heating was more than adequate. We also enjoyed the outdoor areas - enough space to find a quiet corner and for kids to let off steam. Don't come if you're looking for luxury but as a big home away from home it's perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like a home
Liked least: No nice walks without driving
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly S
Witney, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our 10th annual visit - another great weekend”
Reviewed 10 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

for us there is something very comforting about the less than perfect interior. Yes the showers don't flow well and there are a few missing light bulbs but the log fire and ambiance make us instantly relax and throughly enjoy our time together.
We are 5 families and have been visiting annually for 10 years. Our now teenagers still love to come too especially as wifi is available.
Ideal for a large family gathering or as several families wanting a break away.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura F
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice house - could be great house”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in the large house on this site in August as a party of 8 adults and 3 children. The good things are; plenty of space, large kitchen that could sit everyone, an even larger dining room, a nice size pantry, pool table, great garden with ducks and friendly cat. We enjoyed our stay and the house was warm but there are a number of small things that could be improved to make this house great; no triangle for the pool table, oven door handle broken, other people’s rubbish in draws (even a pair of dirty pants) and the back door didn’t lock.
You can walk to the local pub; The Exeter Inn (which is nice and serves food) but the walk is along a 60mph country road, so we had to nominate a driver. The fishing pond was not what we expected.
The location is lovely for walkers but it did feel like all attractions were an hour away in the car.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1,213
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing