We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Peter C

Fabulous spot

Review of Monkeys Resort
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Jan 2024via mobile
Great trip! The wave right out front is super fun and so accessible. Lots of options too for different conditions. The positive vibe carries through to the staff back onshore who are fabulous and so is the accommodation. I’ve been a couple of times now, what a great place.
Date of stay: March 2023
Room Tip: Shoulder season well worth considering
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Better version
Contact accommodation for availability.
View more hotels in Telo Island
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
6
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
6
1
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2024 via mobile

Had a great trip to Monkeys and soon to go back. Great bungalow, very comfortable and spacious, super staff who work hard to make your stay special and great and varied food. Lovely beach out front for a swim, even if big swell running was calm, just bit of shore break. Great wave out front, super fun. As there in high season was a few charter boats coming through and other resort boats at times, but still got loads of sessions with just camp guests, early and late.

All in all top place and great customer support from Mark and Lou from enquiry through to drop off back at airport. I would highly recommend which is evidenced by me going back at first opportunity

Room tip: Like anywhere crowds go up at peak season, but still managed to get plenty of uncrowded sessions. Keep an eye on the wind shifts and get out
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 January 2024

Our 2 week trip was epic. The accommodation is superb with your own huge bed. and with the cool island breezes or the quiet ceiling fans there is little need for the aircon. I just slept straight through to the morning every night helped by being surfed out every day. This place is a wave magnet and the selection of go to spots is primo. Monkeys you can see from your bungalow, the prevailing conditions just seem to favour this wave (I love it). Other options are close by and my new favourite wave is Bojos just fantastic when the wind turns. The fishing, the sunsets the list goes on, its a dream.
Amazing location, great food and a special thanks to the fantastic staff who make it all happen in such a remote, idyllic and special place. - Ollie

Room tip: Pack a wide brim surf hat!
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank C r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2024

I’ve done 2 trips to Monkeys and am on my way back for number 3. It’s a fabulous land based resort with really comfortable and spacious villas. The food is plentiful and delicious, the staff are warm and attentive and its all in all a great experience. The wave out front is first class but approachable with something for everyone and there are plenty of other options a short boat ride away. Crowds were small.

Room tip: get in early and take a friend!
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank redrashy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2024

Epic resort with amazing waves. Resort experience was excellent with great food, comfortable modern accommodation, fishing and friendly staff. Endless uncrowded wave options that accommodate different wind directions and swells.
Highly recommended.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rowan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2024

I’ve been to monkeys on 3 occasions and stayed for a total of 60 days. I have gone off, shoulder and peak season. The wave out the front is exceptional. Nearby excursions are a treat. Fishing by trolling sushi entree. Meals perfect photos amazing. Each cabin had 2 double beds great by yourself.

Room tip: I recommend off season less crowds
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews