We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Adrian W
Hertford, United Kingdom
Luxurious tranquility redefined
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Feb 2024via mobile
If I'm absolutely honest, my experience, of Wilderness Lodge was that it was simply the best experience of my time in New Zealand. At the point you arrive you step into a luxury oasis of peace and tranquility where everything is perfect and you can be as organised or relaxed as you want to be. Rather than wax lyrical about the quality of the food, the comfort of the rooms,vthe surrounding environment I'll just wholeheartedly support the reviews of others and say, go there - I defy you to be disappointed!
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Aerial View
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    $129
  • Hotels.com
23.9 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $161
  • Hotels.com
25.7 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen Studio - Full Kitchen
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $193
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
25.7 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free parking
Aufenthaltsbereich im Wilderness Backpacker
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $90
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
25.7 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free parking
Beachfront
Haast Beach
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $180
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
26.6 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free parking
Beachfront
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $141
  • Booking.com
57.4 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $161
  • Agoda.com
57.6 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Tripadvisor
$130
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $130
65.0 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $101
  • eDreams
65.3 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Lake Moeraki
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
299
33
8
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
299
33
8
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wilderness lodge new zealand glow worms sand flies south island two nights drying room arthur's pass eel feeding other guests flora and fauna breakfast and dinner comfortable rooms excellent food night walk highlight of our trip wonderful place
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2024

My wife and I stayed at WL-LM in December 2023; thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The proprietors, Anne and Jerry along with the staff (Claire in particular) made us feel welcome the minute we checked in. Like their sister property at Arthurs Pass, this is an environmentally friendly destination - which should be on anyone's list to stay when driving the west coast of the South Island of New Zealand. Numerous on-site hiking options (easy) along with guided outings (kayaking) and star gazing (led by Jerry - a noted eco pioneer) are not to be missed. Dinners were delightful (shared with other guests (if you choose)); rooms were very comfortable and clean. One very nice feature of the lodge was access to a washer and dryer free of charge for guests.

Room tip: Take advantage of the onsite hiking, and guided tours.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora BillfH3555R

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experiences at both Wilderness Lodges. As a family owned and operated business it means a lot to us when we can share our special parts of the South Island with folk from around NZ and further afield.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders and Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2023

This place is was the perfect stop on our three week trip. The staff and owners are incredibly friendly and full of knowledge not just about the area but all of New Zealand! The activities available are fun and a great way to get out and about in the area. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable and the food was all top notch!

Room tip: There is plenty of time to relax so make sure to engage in their activities!
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank azmichaelwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora Azmichaelwills

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review and are glad you enjoyed your time with us at Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders and Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2023 via mobile

I went to Lake Moeraki Wildnerss lodge to view the fiord crested penguins . Although it was the end of the season for viewing , i still had a great experience on the penguin viewing tour .
There are many walking / hiking tours you can also do on your own while there

I stayed 3 days / 4 nights - it probably could have been a day shorter ( I’m really not much of a hiker unless there are penguins involved ) but I had booked around the availability of busses from Queenstown

The owners and staff were all very friendly and knowledgeable

The food was quite good with variety of options depending on dietary restrictions.

Room tip: Beware of the sandflies .. they are awful . I had deet but my hands still got eaten and the it took weeks for them to heal.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank hrhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora Hrhe,

Thanks for sharing your experience. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at the lodge, the food and your Tawaki Penguin experience.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders and Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2023

Perfect! Lovely. Wonderful! Excellent! Would return. Nice beds, lovely river view, good breakfast, cooked to order, fruit of choice available, nice wine. I went for the penguin-viewing and they delivered. There is a fee because a guide is required, but you see penguins at a private and remote location. I love this place. Kudos to the owners, Gerry and Anne. What a superb facility they have developed. Victoria

Room tip: Go on every nature walk offered. Guides, Claire and James are friendly, smart, kind and helpful. This place is beyond beautiful. Room 5!
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Spottypottamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilderness Lodge, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2023

Kia ora Victoria,

Thanks so much for sharing a review here. We appreciate hearing how much you enjoyed your time with us, the hospitality and the guided nature activities.

Kind wishes,

Anned Saunders and Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2023

My favorite stay while in NZ (South Island).

You will arrive @ lands end when you get here yet the accommodations are first class.

Here are some words that describe what this place is about: ecotourism lodging in comfort, guided nature walks & excursions, birding, native NZ plant and animal species, owner operated with a passion for conservation (Jerry & Anne), remote, relaxing, hiking trails, kayaking, top notch food, drink & service, knowledgeable staff, geology, peaceful ...

I would return in a heartbeat if I could but it's on the other side of the world from me

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DanC296
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilderness Lodge, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

Kia ora DanC296,

Thanks for sharing a review here on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate it and would love to see you again one day if you do return.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders and Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews