We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
azmichaelwills
Scottsdale, Arizona
Highly recommended! Staff, accommodations, food and activities are all perfect!
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Dec 2023
This place is was the perfect stop on our three week trip. The staff and owners are incredibly friendly and full of knowledge not just about the area but all of New Zealand! The activities available are fun and a great way to get out and about in the area. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable and the food was all top notch!
Date of stay: December 2023
Room Tip: There is plenty of time to relax so make sure to engage in their activities!
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    $126
  • Lol.travel
13.6 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Aerial View
Booking.com
$140
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $134
  • Expedia.com
    $140
23.9 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$151
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    $151
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $151
24.2 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free parking
Booking.com
$161
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    $161
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $161
25.7 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen Studio - Full Kitchen
Booking.com
$193
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $193
  • Vio.com
25.7 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free parking
Aufenthaltsbereich im Wilderness Backpacker
Booking.com
$90
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $90
25.7 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free parking
Beachfront
Haast Beach
Booking.com
$180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $180
26.6 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free parking
Beachfront
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $141
  • Expedia.com
    $157
  • Agoda.com
    $180
57.4 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free parking
Booking.com
$161
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
57.6 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
eDreams
$161
Fully refundable
    57.9 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Lake Moeraki
    Reviews (351)
    Filter reviews
    351 results
    Traveller rating
    299
    33
    8
    9
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    299
    33
    8
    9
    2
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews wilderness lodge new zealand glow worms sand flies south island two nights drying room arthur's pass eel feeding other guests flora and fauna breakfast and dinner comfortable rooms excellent food night walk highlight of our trip wonderful place
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    8 - 13 of 351 reviews
    Reviewed 25 December 2023 via mobile

    I went to Lake Moeraki Wildnerss lodge to view the fiord crested penguins . Although it was the end of the season for viewing , i still had a great experience on the penguin viewing tour .
    There are many walking / hiking tours you can also do on your own while there

    I stayed 3 days / 4 nights - it probably could have been a day shorter ( I’m really not much of a hiker unless there are penguins involved ) but I had booked around the availability of busses from Queenstown

    The owners and staff were all very friendly and knowledgeable

    The food was quite good with variety of options depending on dietary restrictions.

    Room tip: Beware of the sandflies .. they are awful . I had deet but my hands still got eaten and the it took weeks for them to heal.
    Date of stay: December 2023
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    Thank hrhe
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

    Kia ora Hrhe,

    Thanks for sharing your experience. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at the lodge, the food and your Tawaki Penguin experience.

    Kind wishes,

    Anne Saunders and Gerry McSweeney
    Owner-Managers

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 December 2023

    Perfect! Lovely. Wonderful! Excellent! Would return. Nice beds, lovely river view, good breakfast, cooked to order, fruit of choice available, nice wine. I went for the penguin-viewing and they delivered. There is a fee because a guide is required, but you see penguins at a private and remote location. I love this place. Kudos to the owners, Gerry and Anne. What a superb facility they have developed. Victoria

    Room tip: Go on every nature walk offered. Guides, Claire and James are friendly, smart, kind and helpful. This place is beyond beautiful. Room 5!
    Date of stay: October 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Spottypottamous
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Wilderness Lodge, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2023

    Kia ora Victoria,

    Thanks so much for sharing a review here. We appreciate hearing how much you enjoyed your time with us, the hospitality and the guided nature activities.

    Kind wishes,

    Anned Saunders and Gerry McSweeney
    Owner-Managers

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 December 2023

    My favorite stay while in NZ (South Island).

    You will arrive @ lands end when you get here yet the accommodations are first class.

    Here are some words that describe what this place is about: ecotourism lodging in comfort, guided nature walks & excursions, birding, native NZ plant and animal species, owner operated with a passion for conservation (Jerry & Anne), remote, relaxing, hiking trails, kayaking, top notch food, drink & service, knowledgeable staff, geology, peaceful ...

    I would return in a heartbeat if I could but it's on the other side of the world from me

    Date of stay: November 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank DanC296
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Wilderness Lodge, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

    Kia ora DanC296,

    Thanks for sharing a review here on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate it and would love to see you again one day if you do return.

    Kind wishes,

    Anne Saunders and Gerry McSweeney
    Owner-Managers

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 December 2023

    Come to the Wilderness Lodge for almost all of the activities that New Zealand could offer. The hosts, Gerry and Ann, will give you some many options on things to do each and every day you stay there. The main building of the Lodge is right next to Moeraki River with lovely views out the living room and dining room windows. The Lodge rooms are not particularly special but don't plan on spending a lot of time indoors when there is so much to do outside. Everything is great here but you are doing yourself a great disservice if you don't sign up for Gerry's trip to see the penguins. Truly memorable.

    Room tip: Bring bug spray for all of your adventures.
    Date of stay: November 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank jamesl680
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Wilderness Lodge, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

    Kia ora Jamesl680,

    Thanks for sharing your experience at both Wilderness Lodges. We love to share our special part of New Zealand with our guests and it's great to hear feedback like yours.

    King wishes,

    Anne Saunders and Gerry McSweeney
    Owner-Managers

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 November 2023

    We were really excited to stay at this lodge after reading all the positive reviews, however overall we were disappointed. The main issue, in my opinion, is that it's overpriced for the quality of the lodging and food that is available. We stayed in a rainforest room. The room itself was clean and the bed comfortable, however the furnishings are very dated and certainly not luxury as advertised. The bathroom in particular left a lot to be desired. It was an open bathroom with a shower that was completely open (no walls, no glass, no bathtub), just a flimsy curtain that you pulled around you, with the water draining into the floor that communicated with the rest of the bathroom. The shower water temperature would fluctuate from warm to very hot. Ordinarily I wouldn’t mind this if I knew this was what I was paying for. But at $500+ per person, per night, the furnishings don’t fit the cost. I would expect more luxury to be frank. Breakfast and dinner are included, but lunch is not (and costs $35 per person for a takeaway picnic), and alcohol and other beverages are also not included. The quality of the food was just ok. Portions were on the small side, and the flavour was minimal. The clientele is an older crowd, so if you are younger, bear this in mind. The activities that were included were fun, but again, not worth the high price tag. The other activities that cost extra also appeared extraordinarily overpriced! $180 per person to walk down to a beach to view penguins seemed excessive. We took the free walk down to nearby Monroe beach and saw a few penguins on our own, for free. The hosts were very nice and clearly care about their property and put a lot into making it eco friendly, which is fantastic, however the host also tended to make jibs against us (we are Canadian). Making a joke once at someone’s expense I can understand, but he did this several times which we found odd. Had the price been $500 per night, rather than per person, and actually “all inclusive”, it would be more reasonable and in line with what you are actually getting.

    Date of stay: October 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank sarahkilbertus2018
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Management response:Responded 2 December 2023

    Kia ora Sarahkilbertus2018,

    Thanks for sharing a review with the TripAdvisor community. We pleased you enjoyed the setting and the nature- friendly elements of your stay.

    We are sorry that overall your experience didn't match expectations. We pride ourselves on offering a comprehensive experience involving great accommodation, food and nature discovery so it's disappointing to have fallen short on this occasion.Apologies if our humour missed the mark - we love hosting Canadians (and all nationalities)!

    We would point out that our guided penguin discovery trips are a highlight for many guests. The experience includes expert guides, comprehensive interpretation and the chance to visit unadvertised locations with up close viewing. Our pricing also incorporates access fees and a contribution to penguin conservation work. Those who choose to participate really value them.

    Kind wishes,

    Anne Saunders & Gerry McSweeney
    Owner-Managers

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews