We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
3jacintaw
Christchurch, New Zealand

Magical untouched world - a must do!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Oct 2023via mobile
Returning after 40 years when I came here as a young child from the moment we stepped into the
Lodge we were surrounded by forests and birdsong - beautiful place and beautiful hosts who are so welcoming and passionate about their piece of paradise and conservation.
Staying for 4 days/three nights you could not ask for more - cosy warm rooms with wonderful views , delish meals, so many sights to take in ,. We took every opportunity to go on the daily tours with Gerry and learn so much gaining a much wider appreciation of nature in an untouched part of New Zealand . Sitting on the beach watching endangered clumsy and delightful Fiordland crested penguins was simply a once in a lifetime experience - - a labour of love for Gerry and Anne .
Beautiful walks around the lodge and kayaking on the lake . waking up to birdsong and Moorpark at night .loved meeting the other guest and the conversations over dinner
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: Spray bug spray each day - Bigs won’t be an issue if you are consistent with the spray!
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki, responded to this review
Responded 1 Dec 2023
Kia ora Jacinta W,

Thanks for your review. Returning after 40 years must be a record we think! We are really please you enjoyed your Wilderness Lodge experience.

Hope to see you again some time!

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders & Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Managers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
  • Lol.travel
    $147
13.6 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Aerial View
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $134
  • Official Hotel
23.9 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $151
  • Hotels.com
24.2 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $159
  • Hotels.com
25.7 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free Wifi
Free parking
Haast Beach
Booking.com
$180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
26.6 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free parking
Beachfront
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $160
  • Hotels.com
57.4 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $118
  • Hotels.com
65.0 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $119
  • Hotels.com
65.3 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $95
  • Hotels.com
65.9 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free parking
The Snowline Bar.
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $446
  • Priceline
66.4 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Lake Moeraki
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
299
33
8
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
299
33
8
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wilderness lodge new zealand glow worms sand flies south island two nights drying room arthur's pass eel feeding other guests flora and fauna breakfast and dinner comfortable rooms excellent food night walk highlight of our trip wonderful place
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2023

We stayed at the Wilderness Lodge during the first week of the 2023-2024 season and enjoyed learning so much about this part of the West Coast from Gerry and Anne. The accommodations were especially relaxing, it was our favorite accommodation on our three-week trip. We took took advantage of all of the opportunities to get outdoors - we kayaked Lake Moeraki and hiked the trails on the property as well as others nearby. The meals were particularly delicious after a week of pub food along the West Coast.

A highlight was seeing twelve Fiordland Crested Penguins with Gerry! This is a truly special place in New Zealand and we were so glad to have learned about it.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 2 December 2023

Kia ora 518wills,

Thanks for sharing your review, we really appreciate it. We feel honoured to be the highlight of your three weeks in NZ!

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders & Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2023

This is an experience you will never be able to have elsewhere. Anne and Gerry are the consumate hosts with friendly helpful and caring staff who cannot do enough for you. Their unique approach to wildlife conservation in combination with providing lifetime experiences for all their guests no matter what age or ability is far beyond any thing I have ever experienced and should be a model for operators everywhere. I went for penguins - and came away with the most authentic incomparable experience of all NZ flora and fauna possible. And when this is combined with superb accommodation food and wine - I run out of superlatives. Long may they continue this wonderful tradition. If the thought of Fiordland Crested Penguins, or any penguin has ever crossed your cerebral cortex, don't wait any longer - just book.

Room tip: Watch out for sandflies - take insect repellant. You'll do just fine.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Neisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 September 2023

We went for the penguin experience (& we weren’t disappointed!) but there is so much more to this place. The setting is beautiful, the lounge area very comfortable, the food delicious & plentiful, the bar is always open!
We had a beautiful river view room which was perfect too.
We came away rested & with a new wealth of knowledge about the local flora & fauna.

Room tip: Take good shoes for track walking & a rain coat. Do take advantage of the complimentary daily talk or guided walk.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 June 2023

This property, and its sister Wilderness Lodge Arthur's Pass, are family owned and run by couples who are passionate about hospitality and ecology. At Lake Moeraki we kayaked among black swans, hiked at night to see glow worms and to learn the southern constellations, were fed superbly on excellent breakfasts and dinners, and felt privileged to be in this little visited stretch of the New Zealand coastline. Many of the outdoor activities are complementary, and more ambitious trips can be arranged by the owners. There was an unfailing sense of welcome and comfort. The rooms were large and well appointed, with lovely views across a meadow full of bunnies to a softly flowing river. Highest recommendation. (Note: all of this area of New Zealand is subject to a biting insect called sand flies, and this location is no exception.)

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 9amberzephyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2023

Kia ora 9amberzephyr,

Thanks for sharing your Wilderness Lodge experience. We appreciate hearing how much you enjoyed your time at both lodges and would be delighted to host you again in future.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders and Gerry McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2023 via mobile

It’s a lovely, quiet, rustic retreat. The food was fine and the accommodations superb. Our room was modern and spacious. The bathroom simple and exceptionally clean, great shower. Nice towels, free washer/dryer. But the highlight was the complimentary eco tours, thank you Jerry.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jaci W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2023

Kia ora Jaci W,

Thanks very much for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your particularly enthusiasm for the guided activities we offer.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders and Gerry McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews