We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Neisha W
Adelaide, Australia

The Greatest New Zealand Experience you will ever have - if you only get to go once, this is it!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Oct 2023
This is an experience you will never be able to have elsewhere. Anne and Gerry are the consumate hosts with friendly helpful and caring staff who cannot do enough for you. Their unique approach to wildlife conservation in combination with providing lifetime experiences for all their guests no matter what age or ability is far beyond any thing I have ever experienced and should be a model for operators everywhere. I went for penguins - and came away with the most authentic incomparable experience of all NZ flora and fauna possible. And when this is combined with superb accommodation food and wine - I run out of superlatives. Long may they continue this wonderful tradition. If the thought of Fiordland Crested Penguins, or any penguin has ever crossed your cerebral cortex, don't wait any longer - just book.
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: Watch out for sandflies - take insect repellant. You'll do just fine.
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Agoda.com
$117
Fully refundable
Easy and fast booking
  • Lol.travel
    $147
  • Priceline
13.6 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Aerial View
Booking.com
$140
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $140
  • Vio.com
    $129
  • Hotels.com
    $140
23.9 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$151
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $151
  • Expedia.com
    $151
  • Priceline
    $151
24.2 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free parking
Booking.com
$133
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $142
  • Hotels.com
    $149
  • ZenHotels.com
    $159
25.7 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen Studio - Full Kitchen
Booking.com
$178
  • Priceline
    $193
  • Vio.com
    $193
  • eDreams
    $178
25.7 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free parking
Booking.com
$150
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $150
  • Vio.com
    $150
  • Lol.travel
25.7 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free parking
Beachfront
Haast Beach
Booking.com
$180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $180
  • Vio.com
    $180
  • eDreams
    $180
26.6 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
$141
  • Priceline
    $141
  • Expedia.com
    $160
  • Hotels.com
    $157
57.4 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free parking
Booking.com
$110
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $120
  • Hotels.com
    $120
  • Priceline
    $110
65.0 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$120
  • Expedia.com
    $106
  • Agoda.com
    $98
  • Priceline
    $109
65.3 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Lake Moeraki
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
299
33
8
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
299
33
8
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wilderness lodge new zealand glow worms sand flies south island two nights drying room arthur's pass eel feeding other guests flora and fauna breakfast and dinner comfortable rooms excellent food night walk highlight of our trip wonderful place
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2023

We went for the penguin experience (& we weren’t disappointed!) but there is so much more to this place. The setting is beautiful, the lounge area very comfortable, the food delicious & plentiful, the bar is always open!
We had a beautiful river view room which was perfect too.
We came away rested & with a new wealth of knowledge about the local flora & fauna.

Room tip: Take good shoes for track walking & a rain coat. Do take advantage of the complimentary daily talk or guided walk.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 June 2023

This property, and its sister Wilderness Lodge Arthur's Pass, are family owned and run by couples who are passionate about hospitality and ecology. At Lake Moeraki we kayaked among black swans, hiked at night to see glow worms and to learn the southern constellations, were fed superbly on excellent breakfasts and dinners, and felt privileged to be in this little visited stretch of the New Zealand coastline. Many of the outdoor activities are complementary, and more ambitious trips can be arranged by the owners. There was an unfailing sense of welcome and comfort. The rooms were large and well appointed, with lovely views across a meadow full of bunnies to a softly flowing river. Highest recommendation. (Note: all of this area of New Zealand is subject to a biting insect called sand flies, and this location is no exception.)

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 9amberzephyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2023

Kia ora 9amberzephyr,

Thanks for sharing your Wilderness Lodge experience. We appreciate hearing how much you enjoyed your time at both lodges and would be delighted to host you again in future.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders and Gerry McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2023 via mobile

It’s a lovely, quiet, rustic retreat. The food was fine and the accommodations superb. Our room was modern and spacious. The bathroom simple and exceptionally clean, great shower. Nice towels, free washer/dryer. But the highlight was the complimentary eco tours, thank you Jerry.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jaci W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2023

Kia ora Jaci W,

Thanks very much for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your particularly enthusiasm for the guided activities we offer.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders and Gerry McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2023 via mobile

Gerry and Anne welcomed us graciously to their hidden wonder on the West coast of the South Island. Their warmth of sharing this magical World Heritage site with the most comfortable rooms overlooking Lake/ River Moeraki. The personal touches include evening tours watching the eel feeding, experiencing the wonder of gazing at 1,000 year old trees and the worlds largest ferns. Also, walking on the paths through the rainforest to the spectacular Ocean views with Native birds singing and dancing above you. So many incredible touches, including the glow worm night walk that is like seeing hundreds of fireflies twinkling through a waterfall. A peaceful relaxing place where everything works. The eco tourism concept is remarkable.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2023

Kia ora Bob,

Thanks for sharing your Wilderness Lodge experience here. We are very lucky to share our special part of New Zealand and to be able to help our guests explore and discover the rainforests, waterways and coastline, as well as enjoy great hospitality, food and accommodation.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders & Gerry McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2023 via mobile

We enjoyed two nights in this lovely place, perfect in every way, during our West Coast explore. Run by two very knowledgeable scientists who know everything about the history, geology, geography, flora and fauna of the area and who lead walks around it, we relaxed in a very comfortable room and were very impressed with the food. There was even a resident French pâtissier! The staff are charming.
The wine list is extensive. You can choose to eat by yourselves or with other guests.
Our stay was the highlight of our trip and we warmly recommend it.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AucklandTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2023

Kia ora Auckland Traveller,

Thanks for sharing your review with the TripAdvisor community. We're so pleased you enjoyed your Wilderness Lodge experience and that your stay here was the highly of your trip!

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders & Gerry McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews