We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Compass28502414254

Unspoiled South Westland at its best.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Jan 2022via mobile
Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki is set in a stunning native forest ecoscape beside the lake and peaceful Moeraki river outlet. Gerry, Anne and Darren were superb and attentive hosts over the five days we stayed there, taking us out to explore new highlights every day. Gerry is one of New Zealand’s most experienced and knowledgeable eco guides, and he bought the native forest, wildlife, beaches and history of the area to life for us. Our accomodation and the main lodge were great, kayaking on the river and lake was memorable and fun, and the food prepared for us each day by Kim was always first class. We cannot recommend Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki more highly to anyone who wants to experience South Westland’s unspoiled natural environment at its best.
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki, responded to this review
Responded 27 Mar 2023
Kia ora Compass28502414254,

Thanks for your review - we really appreciate it.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders & Gerry McSweeney
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
  • Lol.travel
    $140
13.6 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $119
  • Hotels.com
65.0 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $108
  • Booking.com
65.3 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $105
  • Hotels.com
65.9 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free parking
reception area
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $95
  • Hotels.com
66.4 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $109
  • Hotels.com
66.5 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$115
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
66.5 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
66.3 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.0 km from Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Lake Moeraki
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
299
33
8
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
299
33
8
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wilderness lodge new zealand glow worms sand flies south island two nights drying room arthur's pass eel feeding other guests flora and fauna breakfast and dinner comfortable rooms excellent food night walk highlight of our trip wonderful place
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2022

The Wilderness Lodge is like a micro-USA National Park minus the vending machines and traffic. Gerry is the Park Ranger (and hydro-power station manager), he is a real character. We stayed 3 nights which allowed time for the changeable West Coast weather and to enjoy the surroundings.

Accommodation - Our river-view room was nice. Lovely outlook, clean, well maintained with a light, modern bathroom, mini-fridge and kettle. The lodge is an older building but is v comfortable. The complimentary washing machine, dryer, laundry powder and drying room were super-handy.

Food and drink - Don't bother bringing supplies unless you fancy a sneaky wine or beer in your room. Meals were delicious, plentiful and the chef was accommodating about food preferences . The wine was excellent and, despite the isolated location, cheaper than the same bottles in Wellington restaurants.

Guided tours - Do them all and definitely the 1/2 day penguin tour Sept-Nov. We were really chuffed with the Oamaru blue penguin colony in the days prior, so were a tough audience. But the penguin tour with Darren blitzed our expectations. The complimentary tours - we did the rainforest, eels, glow worms and kayaks - were excellent. Gerry was entertaining and knowledgeable, his bird call is oddly effective (tried it at home, only the cat looked up) and he kindly rejigged tours around the weather.

Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki was the highlight of our trip, it has a really nice vibe - enjoy Gerry's stories and tours, explore the walking trails, and read books in the lounge during the West Coast rain. Very highly recommended!

Date of stay: November 2021
Thank Hataitans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2022

Thanks for sharing Hataitans,

It's great you were able to make the most of everything the Wilderness Lodge offers. It made our day to hear that your time with us was the highlight of your trip!

Kind Wishes,

The Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki Team - Anne, Gerry, Darren & Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2021

What an extraordinary experience of all that is so unique about New Zealand. Here you are nestled in the embrace of an ancient forest, on the shores of a shimmering lake, and hosted by the incomparable Gerry McSweeney - an eco warrior who has done so much to protect this part of New Zealand and enhance our understanding of its special qualities. With partner Ann and excellent help from Darren (and Mitsi?), you are superbly looked after in great comfort, allowing you to indulge in the flora and fauna treats of this magical world. It's all here; the towering 1000 year old rimu and kahikatea, the beautiful Fiordland crested penquin, ruru and the dawn chorus of bellbird and tui. Thanks for sharing this place Gerry and Ann and for your hard mahi to make it one of the most wonderful places I have ever visited. I will return.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MikeyJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2022

Dear MikeyJas,

Thanks for your review. We feel very lucky to call Lake Moeraki home and delight in sharing our special part of New Zealand with visitors. It's great to know our guests appreciate the magic of the place too!

Kind wishes,

Dear MikeyJas,

Thanks for your review. We feel very lucky to call Lake Moeraki home and delight in sharing our special part of New Zealand with visitors. It's great to know our guests appreciate the magic of the place too!

Kind wishes,

The Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki Team - Anne, Gerry, Darren & Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2021

We spoke to a few people about Wilderness Lodge prior to going and had a general expectation on what was in store. Very good accommodation - not super luxury but really comfortable with good amenities and very much fitting the wilderness feel. Food was again - not the flamboyant degustation menus of many lodges but it was very good, well presented and plentiful. The most impressive aspect was having three days where the time seemed to vanish as we explored some of the most amazing forests, beaches, wetlands, rivers and lakes anywhere on the planet. Gerry was the most knowledgeable and passionate guide imaginable. Walks - literally from the door of our room were breathtaking. Stargazing into the milky way at night was incredible and only distracted by glowworms hanging in the mosses and lighting up trees. Kayaking from the front of the lodge on mirror-like water was magical as waterbirds, fish and towering trees held us spellbound. We will be back..

Room tip: See if you can get a River View room - worth it!
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anwil51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2023

Kia ora Anwil51,

Thanks for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. It was a pleasure to host you and to share our special part of New Zealand.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders & Gerry McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2021 via mobile

Before I arrived at the lodge I had no idea what to expect. To say I was blown away an understatement, this as a unique experience, the service, food, environment, as good as we have ever experienced. We loved everything about our 3 day stay. From the trip to feed the eels, on our first night, the kayak trip across Lake Moeraki, the walk to Monroe Beach. Awesome.
The 3 day package included all meals, and Jerry and Ann looked after us brilliantly. I was so glad I had brought my camera with long lens as photos of birds, amazing wilderness forest will be remembered for the rest of my life.

Date of stay: March 2021
1  Thank Athlone30
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2023

Kia ora Athlone30,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We really appreciate the feedback!

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders & Gerry McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2021

This isolated spot is magical. The staff are incredible. Gerry’s knowledge and quirky sense of humour made this an outstanding experience. Anne, Gerry & Darren went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. Jamie is a sensational chef. Thanks heaps

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lexnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2023

Kia ora Lexnz,

Thank you very much for your review - we do really appreciate you taking the time to share it.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders & Gerry McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews