We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unassuming restaurant with great food and ambiance”
Review of Jomon Roppongi

Jomon Roppongi
Ranked #2 of 449 Restaurants in Roppongi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Akasaka, Roppongi
Reviewed 15 September 2018

Great restaurant in Roppongi. We walked there from the nearby Ritz-Carlton and walked in.
Sat at the bar after having taken off our shoes. Very lively with customers having a good time and chef, waiters shouting order and welcoming guests.
The food is really really good.
Highly recommend this restaurant to any foodie looking for a good time

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Micjordan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2018

Was looking for a place to eat and walked by Jomon and saw people inside so decided to try it. had to wait for a minute or two and was seated by the window with a friend outside the window, it was actually fun to sit that way because you get a view of the street.

Food was excellent with an English menu, staff were helpful even though their English wasn't amazing. had lots of yakitori and miso soup and a few more dishes I can't remember by now.
Sake was great too and had me buzzy by the end of the meal

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ilan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

We arrived at the doorway, removed our shoes, and was ushered along very narrow walk spaces right inside to a cosy family room where we were seated at wooden tables with our feet comfortably placed in the space underneath . They do not have baby chairs nor any space for luggages nor strollers. We tried many dishes as we were hungry: The "Goma-Doufu" (sesame tofu) was so good, we ordered 2 more servings. Their raw beef sashimi was interesting with coriander leaves and leeks. We had many grilled sets of meats which were mostly good. The fried aubergine, braised pork belly with grated yams was exotic. The udon with cod roe and egg was aldente and interesting. Smoky chicken and rice was moist and very much comfort food. The lamb shoulder was slightly gamey and tough.
The entire restaurant was filled with smoke from the grilling and cooking: there seems to be no effective fumes extraction system - we stank terribly of the grilling fumes. It was difficult to make our way out to the exit as persons were seated very close to each other, and we had to be careful not to fall over them.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Haebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We found it on TripAdvisor following the reviews. The place is not the cleanest we've been to. Staff is very nice and helpful though. We found it overpriced although the food was good and tasty. Definitely there are better places available.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank EricaG639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

This may be a good place to have a drink and hang out, but I came for the food and was a little disappointed. Vibe was good, seating was unusual (and a little painful for our older bodies, no longer in our 20's, or even 30's). Service was ok, Food was really quite bland. We had 4 skewers (Chicken Neck, Chicken Liver, Beef Short Rib, Beef Skirt), Deep Fried Corn on the cob (2 half ears of corn), Potato Salad and Chicken Skin - Drinks were 1 coke and 1 Apple Juice - with the bill coming in just over 4000 Yen - Which would not be so bad if the food was really good. It was'nt, it lacked seasoning, and the chicken skin was not crispy, just chewy.. If it was half the price, I would have given it 4 stars... at this price, disappointing.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jazzbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jomon Roppongi also viewed

 
Nishiazabu, Minato
 

Been to Jomon Roppongi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing