We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,063)
Filter reviews
1,063 results
Traveller rating
384
489
142
31
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
384
489
142
31
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location fish market walking distance marriott properties concierge desk breakfast buffet egg station japanese hospitality narita airport japanese restaurant fitness center few blocks minute walk business trip rooms are large platinum member tsukiji market
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 1,063 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2016

This was our first hotel on our first visit to Japan - what a responsibility, but it didn't let us down.

We had been warned that Tokyo hotel rooms were small- poppycock. I have stayed at, and reviewed, much smaller hotels in London and Paris. They're not massive rooms - but entirely adequate.

The service through the hotel was excellent, the staff there are incredibly helpful and enthusiastic. The hotel is perfectly sited near the shopping area of Ginza, but our room was quiet enough.

Breakfast was great. Japanese style service means that you may need to wait a few moments before being led to your table, but you soon get used to this. Once there, there is a wide offer open to you. We were in Japan for two weeks and this was the best breakfast we had - in fact this was the best hotel we stayed in.

One slight drawback, which won't affect my overall 'score' as it is just a personal niggle. The lounge bar closes at nine, which means if you want a pre-bed drink- of any nature- you have to go down to the bar one floor down. One floor down and forty years behind the times - this was a real throwback to the seventies (even down to the Bee Gees music played). This is a smoky, dimly lit, area (smoky: really off putting now to Europeans) which is quite expensive - with a totally unnecessary cover charge and is just not in keeping with this modern, efficient hotel. I think this needs looking at; we went in once, were the only people there and didn't return a second time.

A small gripe - otherwise a splendid stay.

Room tip: All the rooms seem pretty much standard.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYOCY, マネージャー at Courtyard Tokyo Ginza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Dear Neil D,

Thank you very much for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Tokyo Ginza for your very first hotel during your first visit to Tokyo.
We are very delighted to hear we were able to offer a comfortable stay overall. Yet we are terribly sorry for the inconveniences you have encountered at our bar downstairs.
We have shared your comments to our F&B Team to better our service for the future.

We hope to have you here with us on your next visit to Tokyo!
Right now is rainy season in Japan and everyday is gloomy thus we recommend you to visit Japan during Autumn or spring to see the beautiful red colored trees and cherry blossoms. Very beautiful!

See you again soon!


Best Regards,

Yui Kuwazono
Guest Relations
Courtyard by Marriott Tokyo Ginza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

We had to change hotel while in Tokyo so we went from the ANA Intercontinental to the Courtyard Marriott Ginza.
I must say .... Much better the Marriott!!
Staff was very kind and helpful.
Room was okay, not so big but clean.
Service also very good.
Cappuccino ... not so good! These days to have a simple NESPRESSO machine to prepare a good cappuccino wouldn't be such a big investment!
Before leaving for the airport we had a quick dinner which was surprisingly good, including a pasta dish cooked "al dente"!
Overall I would select this hotel again ...
just hoping for a better morning coffee!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusannaM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYOCY, マネージャー at Courtyard Tokyo Ginza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2016

Dear Susanna M,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Courtyard by Marriott Tokyo Ginza on TripAdvisor.
We are very delighted your were able to have a good stay.
Yet we are terribly sorry we could not exceed your expectations with our Cappuccino coffee. Coffee is one of the most important element to start off your day. We have shared your comments to our Restaurant Team to improve their service and quality.

We hope to have your next stay with us very soon!


Best Regards,

Yui Kuwazono
Guest Relations
Courtyard by Marriott Tokyo Ginza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

History: Originally built and opened in 1987 as Ginza Tobu Hotel. Re-branded most recently in 2007 as Courtyard by Marriott Tokyo Ginza Hotel. Renovated most recently in 2008.
Location: 2 minutes walk from Toei Asakusa Subway Line Higashi Ginza train station in Chuo Ward, Tokyo. Very conveniently located in the middle of Ginza area.
Interior Decor: Courtyard standard. Calm and relaxing Nice inviting lobby.
Exterior Apperance: 11 story hotel in commercialized business area of Ginza.
Outside view from the room I stayed at 807: Many commercialized buildings.
Room Size: Approximately 26 square meters. Adequate - perhaps a bit small.
Room Cleanness: Very well maintained.
Bathroom: Adequate size.
Noise Insulation: Good.
Price and Value: Reasonable for the location and very good sets of amenities.
Bed: Twin size. Firm softness.
Breakfast: Complimentary breakfast buffet at Cafe Restaurant Fiore on 1st floor for Silver Elite Members. Surprisingly great varieties of food in both western and Japanese styles.
Services: Professionally trained and friendly hotel staffs.

I've been staying at this hotel occasionally since 2004, with my previous stay in 2011. Great to see renovations to make the appearance relevant to the modern trends.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank setotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYOCY, マネージャー at Courtyard Tokyo Ginza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2016

Dear setotravel,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Courtyard by Marriott Tokyo Ginza.
First of all, thank you very much for staying with us from 2004 and thank you for being a Marriott Rewards Silver Elite Member!
We are very delighted to hear you have been enjoying your stay since our hotel was a Renaissance brand!
Our recent change is that we changed some of our Queen size beds to a King.
If you haven't yet tried our new bed, please come visit and try our new King bed!
We also offer complimentary breakfast to our silver members and this is a benefit ONLY at our hotel!

We wish to have your next stay with us very very soon.

Best Regards,

Yui Kuwazono
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

The hotel is in good location. Their staff speak quite good English. The size of the room is ok compare to other business hotel. This is business hotel but also good for family with kids. There are few convenience store near by and just 10 minuet walk to Ginza.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yiling_pum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYOCY, マネージャー at Courtyard Tokyo Ginza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2016

Dear Yiling_pum,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are very delighted to hear you were able to enjoy your stay.
Our hotel actually has many leisure guests and also many foreign guests since we are located in the central area of the Ginza area.
We are definitely waiting for your next stay with us very soon.

Best Regards,

Yui Kuwazono
Guest Relations
Courtyard by Marriott Tokyo Ginza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

Made a one week combination business/pleasure trip with my wife so I wanted a hotel with reasonably sized rooms in an convenient area that didn't break the bank. The Courtyard fit the bill perfectly. The rooms were well appointed with plenty of room for two people and the occasional visit from our son. The staff were very nice and helpful. I had a pleasant surprise of complimentary breakfast for two. Good proximity to the subway and the Ginza shopping area.

Date of stay: May 2016
Thank piero p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYOCY, マネージャー at Courtyard Tokyo Ginza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2016

Dear piero p,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Courtyard by Marriott Tokyo Ginza Hotel on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope were able to relax at our hotel after work and also had fun with your family in Tokyo going to many amazing places.
Have you gone to the Tsukiji Fish Market close to our hotel?
If not, this place is a MUST if you like to eat nice sushi.

We definitely look forward to welcome you and your family again in the near future.


Best Regards,

Yui Kuwazono
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews