We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
7
14
8
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
14
8
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2015 via mobile

Friendly staff who work hard, but the shared bathing facilities are very off putting for non- Japanese. We timed our showers for mid-afternoon when no one else seemed around to avoid being seen naked by other guests. The women's' toilets were smelly we could hear the other guests shouting and laughing late at night then from 5.39am. This drove us crazy. While not the staff's fault, there dhould be clear rules about disturbing other guests. Then, from about 6.39, hoovering and thumps by began as the staff started their daily round of cleaning. Why this has to be done early in the morning when check in is at 15:00, I don't know. I was able to ignore it, but it drove my partner mad. I wouldn't recommend this place at all, I'm afraid.which was very unpleasant and the western toilet in the men's was blocked. Worse was the noise - the walls and doors are thin and

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank PansyP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2015

A good located ryokan, 10 minutes walking from the main train station. Room didn´t have private bathroom, and as it was located on the ground floor, it was a bit noisy because shared showers and toilets were nearby.
A disadvantage was that showers had a closing time of 9pm and it wasn´t available any wireless connection in the property. Comparing with other ryokans I have stayed before, it was on the expensive side, considering the facilities. It could have included breakfast for this price tag (+10000yens for a double room).

Stayed: August 2015
Thank JesLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2015

Stayed one night here and it was very good. We had included in our stay traditional Japanese dinner and breakfast. Food was really good and varied. The staff are excellent and even drove us to the train station when we left as we were struggling with luggage in the rain.

The bathroom and toilets are shared between guests but we got it all to ourselves as there was no one else that night. Some people might not like the tatami mats if you're used to standard beds (as it can feel quite stiff). The hallway did smell a little bit of cigarette smoke so I'm not sure if some rooms allowed for smoking.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Obihara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2015

If you are not fuzzy about having your own bathroom and want a traditional, Japanese ryokan (traditional guest house) in a central location, then this is a great option. We found the place spotlessly clean and with Japanese standards of hygiene you have one set of slippers for your room and one for the bathroom... Takigawa is a short walk north of Kyoto Station and is a great location as a base for exploring Kyoto. (We did the exploring on bikes, which was a fantastic way of getting around). Our hostess was very friendly and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The futons were a little hard, so we didn't sleep as well as we often do, but overall we had few complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JornBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2015

Booking on short notice during cherry blossom season, we came across this property in search for a budget ryokan and lived up to expectations. It provided a glimpse into traditional Japanese lodging, from the Japanese-style toilets to the public baths used for showering.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, even offering us the option of using their laundry. Curfew for the property is midnight, but there was someone available all night if needed.

The location is also conveniently located a brisk 10 minute walk from the north side of Kyoto Station, and just around the corner from the Gojo subway stop and major bus routes, making it easy to get around both Kyoto and elsewhere in the region.

GIven the price, we were realistic in our expectations. While the bedding and common areas were clean, the property itself is somewhat worn and dated. The rooms themselves aren't particularly well-appointed, with only one power outlet, a small TV, and no phone. The ryokan does not offer Wi-Fi, and the only publicly signal available in our room didn't have an option available for purchase.

Where the hotel loses a star was in a few small things that added up. The shower and public bath closes at 9PM, but the hot water to the showers had either run out or been turned off a half hour before then. The pillows were small and hard, and the tatami were on the thinner side.

The room we were given was right above the kitchen, so there was noise late into the night and beginning early in the morning. We were exhausted from the jet lag and the sightseeing, so it didn't keep us from sleeping, but rooms toward the front of the hotel or on the other side of the ryokan from the kitchen are recommended.

In all, we were glad to have stayed and experienced a modest ryokan experience, and recommend Takigawa for others looking to do the same.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the kitchen
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank linglingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews