We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (659)
Filter reviews
659 results
Traveller rating
184
326
113
24
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
326
113
24
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews conference center subway station conference room breakfast buffet was good choice of restaurants rooms are large cab ride hotel is excellent tea house japanese standards circular design day pass minute walk sitting area by foot convenience store green tea
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 659 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Pros: location (I wanted to get away from the urban setting as I live in one so got this hotel for this primary purpose for a couple days), price (excellent in January), size of rooms (unbelievable for Japan), the ability to drop your luggage at the Kyoto train station and they will have it delivered to the hotel (not really advertised but is available)

Cons: location (yes I put that in pros and cons) as it is quite far from the center of Tokyo, nothing in the area with everything in the hotel closing early, no choices outside of the hotel for food/drink (unless you count the small shop in the subway station), cleanliness (extremely dirty hallways and rooms), very old decor (think nursing home decor if you are from the states)

The location is outside Kyoto proper. If this was the only hotel I was staying in while in Kyoto I would be very disappointed as a tourist. If you are on business at the convention center it is ideal. I was hoping that it would be surrounded by hills/forests and be quiet. It was surrounded by hills but the parks around there are not part of the hotel as I previously thought. The view from the room was terrible. I was on an upper floor that looked out at the convention center with a street in front of it, and then the front of the hotel where cars were parked. it is so close to the subway that I could constantly here the dinging of the loud speakers in it. Not very soothing.

So, what I was expecting was not what I got. I wanted a resort hotel where I could walk the grounds, be in a quiet area, and have some space away from the city. I would love to have dined in the Japanese Tea House but it had a chain up saying closed Private Property the entire time I stayed there. Breakfast was NOT served there. I wanted a cup of coffee and cigarette in the morning. They drew me a map of how to walk out of the hotel, across the road and onto another road and after crossing the street I could spoke a cigarette on the sidewalk but only at certain times of the day!!! Craziness. I was told nowhere on the property, except in rooms, can a person smoke, even outside. For many of you that will be a pleasant thing but it is somewhat ludicrous for smokers to have to walk 20 minutes to smoke. Should I order an Americano and carry my coffee to the sidewalk on the other side of the road outside the hotel grounds and stand there like an idiot in the cold?

As for the hotel itself, it is VERY run down and old. The carpets in the halls are extremely dirty and waterstained. The rooms are huge BUT ugly. Someone in another review stated it is like you are at a Mary Kay Convention......precisely. The entire time I was there I kept thinking about that person's review as it was spot on.

If you have luggage and want it delivered so you can spend the day in Kyoto proper, there is a special room just for the Grand Prince located at the Kyoto station. It was recently moved (as I was told) so ask at the information desk. They held my luggage then in the evening when I arrived at the hotel via subway it was there for me.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank wanderingtheworld200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2016

Grand Prince Kyoto is an excellent hotel near the International Conference Centre in Kyoto. It's in some beautiful countryside, has nice and quite large rooms, and is surprisingly cheap in the off season. Typically during conferences it's quite expensive, but we went in mid-January and it was surprisingly cheap (mentioning exact prices is not encouraged on TripAdvisor but we're talking less than half price).

So, to the detail. The hotel is near Kokusaikaikan station (That's "international conference centre" in Japanese) which is at the northern end of the Kyoto metro Karasuma line. It's therefore on the same metro line as JR Kyoto station is, and has a luggage drop/pickup point in JR Kyoto station which, however, may not be easy to find. From the metro station, the hotel is closest to exit 4-2. Be aware that this closes at 10pm, so after that time you'll have to use another exit. That exit also has a small convenience store open until 9pm for light snacks.

Check-in was helpful and swift. As it's a Grand Prince in the Prince chain, the service is more formal and a higher standard than most Prince (or other) hotels.

Overall, the hotel certainly tries to live up to it's "Grand" moniker ... there are large sweeping staircases, chandeliers, and a wedding space in the central enclosed garden.

The rooms are arranged in a circle facing out, and are larger by far than most hotels in Kyoto. The room had a king-size bed (not sure of other types), table and chairs, separate desk, and good size bathroom. Overall the decor is in the subdued colors typical of Japanese hotels - although the carpet is the green of fresh bamboo and the crosshatch pattern is probably designed to evoke the traditional pattern seen on the exterior of traditional kura, or warehouses.

The bathroom has a rather old-fashioned floral pattern on the walls that reminded me of my grandmother's bathroom ... but the plastic walls are not faded or scuffed. Old it may look, but it's been renovated recently, probably. This is choice not age, and maybe designed as a kind of "classical" look. Together with the lace shower curtain (two layers: one for inside the bath, one for outside) the look is complete. Anyway, the bath and bathroom are also a good size.

The room plan included WiFi (didn't use it) and international TV channels (CNN, also didn't try it).

There is a safe in the cupboard. I say safe, more a kind of walk-in strongroom. Never mind laptop size, a desktop might fit comfortably, along with gold bars, and if any of the kids go missing check it out just in case.

Overall, a high class hotel occasionally very economical in price indeed.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mjb1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2015

We selected to stay at Grand Prince Hotel mainly due to due to its location near the Kyoto International Conference Centre “KICC”which is at a 7min walking distance. So, if you are planning to attend an event in KICC, this is your best choice. While staying in Kyoto city center is likely to provide you with better chance to explore the city, it will not be as convenient for attending your event at KICC. The Kokusai Kaikan subway station is at a walking distance and the taxi ride from/to Kyoto main train station takes about 25min and costs 30,000 – 35,000 Yen with no traffic jam.
The hotel’s rooms are very spacious with air condition and partially-open widows to bring fresh air from the surrounding park. The room was comfortable and clean with all basic amenities, but there is no safe box in the room. The people at the reception disk were very polite and could communicate with Basic English.
The breakfast is served in Pond Café at the ground floor, which is was always full during our stay, and we were directed to the events hall at the lower floor where breakfast is also served during busy conference events. The breakfast was with limited varieties but it was Ok.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TQ_Travel-Quest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPH京都_03, Reservations at Grand Prince Hotel Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2015

Thank you for posting such a wonderful comment regarding your recent stay with Grand Prince Hotel Kyoto. We would like to serve the comfortable stay to the guests who stay long for the
meeting in Kyoto International Conference Center. We would like to correct one thing, it costs 3000-3500 yen from Kyoto Station by taxi. Our hotel is surrounded by beautiful nature, we recommend you to stay in the begging of summer, too!  We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kaori Miki
Room Reservations Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015

It's difficult to imagine that you'd ever need an Oasis away from one of the most beautiful cities in Japan, if not the world - Kyoto, but that's what the Grand Prince Hotel Kyoto offers.

Situated at the northern end of Kyoto's main subway line, the Grand Prince is at least 20-30min away on the subway from the main shopping strip and Gion, the famous neighbourhood of Geishas, 3 Michelin star restaurants, and century old streets and temples. The distinct circular building nestled amongst a forest of trees presents an impressive visage as you approach. While you can't see the whole building due to its scale, it's hard not to miss the fact you are no longer in the middle of the city.

As you enter the hotel, you immediately get a nice surprise - the circular building is actually a 'donut,' with a large garden opening in the middle that lets the light in.

The hotel's decor is reminiscent of most traditional Japanese grand hotels, with a huge brightly lit lobby and high ceilings. The size of the hotel means it's not exactly cozy - probably more suited for large groups and events like weddings or conventions, but it wasn't a put off by any means for our group of two couples. The rooms were large and comfortable, as typically of older establishments.

Staff were really friendly, especially Ms Nakamura, the concierge. Not only was she always on hand to answer all our queries and making sure we were heading in the right direction, but she was instrumental in securing reservations at our chosen restaurants - even before our arrival.

The location of the hotel was a bit of a challenge if you have lots of luggage, or like to get back to your hotel during the day to refresh, but it also offered some distinct perks. A 2-minute walk from the hotel is a man-made lake with a kilometre-long jogging trial around its tree-lined shores, with offshoots that lead to longer hiking/nature trials into the surrounding hills.

Its location also puts the Grand Prince closer to tourists attractions in the north - such as Ohara, Kurama and Kibune, which are a bus ride away.

On the downside, you have to remember the Grand Prince is very much a traditional Japanese restaurant, so some amenities are limited. For example, room service stops at 11pm, as does the only bar in the hotel - everything else inside the hotel shuts even earlier. And because of its location, if you are looking for a snack or a drink after that, you will have to rely on the minibar, or vending machines, or walk the seven or so minutes to the nearby convenience store near the subway station.

The hotel itself was a pleasant experience but I wouldn't recommend it for first time visitors to Kyoto since it is a distance away from the main attractions inside the city.

Room Tip: Take 30min to check out the nearby lake if the weather is good.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights & my wife was in a wheelchair at the time. The shower chair was provided as requested but was much lower than the side of the bath ( shower is over the bath) so she could not get in or out without a lot of assistance. The bathroom also had a raised floor approx 150mm above the room level which made it difficult for pretty much everything other than sleeping. Overall the room was ok but dated.
It would be ok value for money but not when you need wheelchair access.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Bernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews