We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Wonderful”
Villa & Swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa & Swimming pool
Colonial Style Villa Colonial style villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Villa & Swimming pool
Colonial Style Villa
Colonial style villa
Dining veranda
Fully equipped kitchen
The master bedroom
The master bathroom
Twin beds
Shower and dressing room
Twin bedroom
Modern bathrooms
Upstairs landing
View on top of the hill towards Weligama Bay
Front of the house
Side view of the house
Swimming pool
Garden & Ponds
Swimming pool
Swimming pool
Living Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mirissa, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Russian first
Any
English first
Tkatchenk...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Wonderful”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in February 2013

I spent an idyllic break here with friends and children, and it has to rate as one of the best holidays I have ever had.
Delightful fully restored old colonial house set in some 5 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens inhabited by wandering peacocks and mischievous monkeys in the trees. The rooms in the house are light, airy, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated/furnished with all modern amenities.
All the staff were friendly, most helpful and great with children. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, for example one of the gardeners climbed up a palm tree just to retrieve fresh coconuts for us.
The sea is safe for swimming or surfing and only a short walk away. If you prefer I am told that a large swimming pool has now been installed at the house.
Mirissa beach is long and palm fringed with charming beach bars, where you can just have a drink or sit down for a full meal - the locally caught fish dishes are highly recommended.
If you want to explore further afield we thoroughly enjoyed a visit to the old colonial town of Galle nearby, rides on a tuk tuk, and a whale watching trip.
A real get away from it all location - can't wait to return.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineO...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A true sanctuary - absolutely breath taking”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The place is just stunning. I stayed at the beautiful home twice within 2 months, once while on business with colleagues, once with a group of girlfriends and our children. Both times I had an absolutely amazing time. The house is a perfect place to retire to after an exhausting day of meetings. You get pampered by the personal and your eye gets spoiled wherever you look - a true sanctuary. The chef goes to markets early in the morning and buys fresh food for you to have the dinner of your choice in the evening. Fresh fruit is available all day around. The pool is very pleasant and the beach is a 5 min walk around the corner! And your clothes get washed so that you don't need to bring along much.
The children loved all the space in the garden, the monkeys, the exotic birds around. They could pick between pool, beach, volleyball or cricket with the garden boys, and loved going on short sightseeing trips via tuck tuck and on boats (e.g. whale watching). The bedrooms in the house are all en-suite and the design is simple but gorgeous, generous in space.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of a sanctuary
Liked least: I wish it was closer to Europe!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bezumak
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Do not lose the possibility to gothere”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in February 2013

Last winter my family visited the wonderful Siriwedamadura villa in Sri Lanka. We were very surprised to find out an excellent holiday location. The villa is well equipped and managed to host visitors from all over the world on cold and cloudy end-of-winter months. Gracious decor of the house, gorgeous garden, nice and well trained housekeeping and chef, sunny weather and blue sky made our holiday unforgettable and pleasant. Immediate vicinity to the ocean, refreshing pool and outdoor activities left our children happy and fit for a long time ahead. Thank you very much for a warm and charming holiday. Looking forward to getting back there. Kraynyukova Katia

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house and the atmosphere
Liked least: humidity
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnieinr...
london
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

If you are looking for pure relaxation, somewhere hot, sunny & different come to Sri Wedamedura. It is pure bliss, situated in a lovely little village, 2 minutes from the beach and reached by taxi from Columbo airport ( journey time around 2.5 hours though soon to be cut when the motorway is finished). The house itself has been fully restored retaining nearly all it's old colonial features and is set in 5 beautiful but homely landscaped gardens. There is a pool with all the amenities one would expect and if you want, one of the staff members will bring you cocktails whilst you enjoy the afternoon sun.

The house is fully staffed with a cook, house keeper, gardeners and night watchman and your every whim will be catered for. Breakfast will be waiting for you when you get up and your washing will be laundered and ironed. It's the only holiday we've ever been on when we didn't bring back any dirty washing!

The house is. 2 minutes walk to the beach which is long, wide and sandy and a surfers' paradise if you are into that sort of thing. The beach is lined with restaurants where you can feast on lobster or prawns or even spaghetti bolognaise, Sri Lankan style! There is also a turtle reserve and hotel where you can rent a bed and use the pool for £2 a day.

Nearby, around 40 minutes away you can visit Galle and we also headed out further to Yala for a safari.

All in all a fabulous trip, where you really can forget your troubles and enjoy total relaxation.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P
Twickenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing holiday. One of the best that we've had to date.”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

An amazing holiday. One of the best that we've had to date. We arrived to find a beautiful and stately house set in stunning gardens with peacocks coming and going and monkeys in the trees and one of our party even spotted a giant lizard. The interior of the house was also striking with large airy rooms tastefully furnished with very individual pieces of furniture. There was always fresh crisp linen in the bedrooms and the en-suites. The comfortable beds draped in mosquito nets felt very grand and fortunately the dawn chorus of birds and other wildlife just outside the windows woke us in the mornings otherwise we would easily have overslept most days. The large outdoor swimming pool had clearly only recently been installed and so it was spotless. All the kids spent hours in the pool.

The house staff led by the delightful housekeeper Ironika couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Ironika wouldn't have us lift a finger if she had her way and my 9 year old son became so attached to her that he kept asking her to come back to the UK with us. The chef was something else and we enjoyed the most amazing food. Every morning he would ask us what we would like for dinner that evening, on some days we would make requests and on others we let him surprise us. On one morning I set my alarm for 5am and walked with the chef to the nearby fishing harbour to chose the fish for that night's dinner. It was an amazing experience, locals seemed to appear from nowhere and were bartering with the fishermen from the many boats of all shapes sizes and colours. Well worth getting up for but don't forget your camera! We generally opted for Sri Lankan food but the chef was versatile and could cater for some of the fussier less adventurous children in our group. He also knocked up some great packed lunches when we went on day trips.

Outside the walled grounds is the charming and friendly village and locals acknowledge you as you take a very short walk (less than 5 mins) to the beach. I have been to many beautiful beaches all over the world but this was up there with the best of them. Palm trees, golden sand, crystal clear sea water and waves that made having a bash at surfing a must. The long beach was dotted with charming bars where we would grab lunch or just hang out with a beer while we watched the kids enjoy the surfboarding. On one evening my wife and I opted not to eat at the house with the rest of our party but have dinner at one of the beach bars where we stayed until late in the evening watching the sun go down.

The village is small but there are a couple of handy little shops and to our delight a handful of places where you can get a really good massage that were so reasonably priced that I think I had one on most days.

We loved the house, beach and immediate area so much that we didn't venture very far very often but we did have plenty of options. We did however go to the lakes one day in a couple of tuk tuks which was an experience and we also took a day trip to the nearby colonial town of Galle where we had drinks in a very grand hotel and did a spot of shopping. If we'd had more time we probably would have done an overnight trip to the elephant park, a trip which a friend recommended but we couldn't fit in.

Anyway I could go on but in a nutshell this was a fabulous holiday at an amazing house in a great country and we all hope to go back again in the not too distant future. Hopefully Ironika will still be there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The House and Garden
Liked least: The mosquitos (but it wasn't too bad )
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$648
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing