We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Felt like a king, not a monk in this monastary”
other travellers have booked this property
Romantic evenings by the pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Romantic evenings by the pool
The Grand Salon The house from above
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Romantic evenings by the pool
The Grand Salon
The house from above
A long lunch under the loggia
The Fountain
Breakfast for two on the terrace
The Kitchen
Cosy sitting area
The elegant entrance
The Master Suite
A long soak in the bath
The Campanile room
The Morrisson Suite
A beautiful wedding
A leisurely dip in the pool
Enter a caption for your photo
San Ansovino from above
A special dinner by the pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Apecchio, Province of Pesaro and Urbino, Marche

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
craig s
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Felt like a king, not a monk in this monastary”
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in May 2017

San Ansovino was a beautiful place in a largely tourist free area of Italy. We had four families (total 8 adults and 5 kids aged 0-8) stay at the monastery and it was wonderful. Lots of space to be together or apart, the pool was great. The children's shouts barely seemed to dent the silence. Morning coffee outside was a little slice of heaven. The "concierege" or property manager was absolutely super. Anna helped with EVERYTHING and was a complete dynamo. We had arranged a catered dinner and it went off splendidly and tasted fabulous. Fortunately, the monk's predicted the evil of wifi and you are blissfully free from coverage throughout the house, except for the main kitchen and dining area.
The local area has amazing food and (unexpectedly) amazing local beers. Louis has a book full of recommendations, we were there only a week so didn't try them all, but those we did, were excellent. (I only wished i'd read her food items list before i'd ordered the lamb unmentionables!) The caves nearby are absolutely breathtaking and a must see. My son has claimed we must return when he is old enough to do the guided cave tour that goes off of the tourist path.
The restaurant at the foot of the hill and the little café/gelato place in Appecchio may not earn any Michelin awards; the presentation is family style, the servers speak limited English. This only means that ignorant tourists stay away and you are surrounded by friendly locals who are accommodating and friendly and serve great food and beer and wine (and gelato) in a relaxed, quiet area of Italy.

There are always some negatives, but to me they are minor.
1. You are not especially close to well known Italian attractions; your friends will not know the places you saw or visited (however, they are beautiful and wonderful regardless of being largely unknown).
2. Driving takes some getting used to...there are mountains and crazy roads and drivers that are (by Canadian standards) aggressive.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
It is always lovely to get a great review, but especially one from someone who clearly appreciates all the history, beauty and tranquility this wonderful area has to offer. I know that Anna and the team will also really appreciate your kind words. Thank you too for your comment about the wifi coverage. Based on your feedback we will be adding wireless access points throughout the house over the winter months (which guests can switch off at will). It was a pleasure to have you as guests and we hope to welcome you back in the future. With best wishes Louise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernanne...
Gorredijk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic place to be”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

With 2 families we enjoyed a very comfortable, relaxing holiday at this place. The house is very special, well equipped, cool. has enough space for even 14 people. We enjoyed the swimming pool very much as we had high temperatures: very nice to be able to swim, find shade, cook and eat outside. The environment is beautiful, we did some cycling despite hot weather.
Communication was easy, and pleasant. We had a warm welcome at the place. We hope to be back another holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Dear Fernanne, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review and for being such delightful guests. We hope to be able to welcome you back very soon. With best wishes from us all at San Ansovino. Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFCW_9
Wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautifully situated and Peaceful.”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This was clearly a massive conversion and a big house (previously monastery) and yet the rooms as cosy and well appointed. Was particularly impressed by the facilities in the kitchen but then not surprised as they can cope with 14 people! The people that maintained the property were very friendly and helpful and all in all they made for a great visit. Good size pool and excellent 360 degree views. The Chapel just adds another dimension. The only feature I felt did not work and it really was the only one and that was the plastering of walls will 'old' bricks showing. This is okay is small amounts but it was a bit over the top and unnecessary..

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Chapel
Liked least: The interior walls.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great setting”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in May 2012

We stayed here once before and love the old monastery. It has been beautifully restored and really nicely furnished. The gardens were lovely, with lovely walks up the hill to the woodland area and down in to the valley. A very enjoyable stay. The locals in Apecchio and in Piobbico were all very friendly and you feel you are really in the "proper" Italy. Lots to visit within an hours drive, Assisi, Gubbio and Urbino are all really fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the house and the layout of the garden round the pool
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alidom
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A special and unique taste of Italy”
Reviewed 15 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a very memorable week at Monastero San Ansovino, the occasion being to celebrate a special birthday with family and friends from England and Australia. It was magical. San Ansovino itself is stunning - beautifully set in the rolling hills where Marche, Umbria and Tuscany meet, cleverly renovated and clearly done with so much thought and love.

The close towns of Apecchio, Piobbico and Colombara only a few kilometres away in different directions, offered the opportunity to visit beautiful old Italian villages with gorgeous tree-lined cobbled streets and friendly local markets and bars. There was plenty more to see for a slightly longer drive.

A particular highlight was my birthday dinner at the restaurant just at the bottom of the hill. Pier-Georgio and his colleagues made it such a special night for us all. The food was amazing, authentic, delicious and plentiful. The atmosphere was lovely and the cake they made was a special touch along with the gorgeous bunch of flowers they presented me.

I cannot recommend Monastero San Ansovino highly enough. A very special place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the location but the monastery itself is stunning
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing