We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent villa with magical views over Gaios”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Red Rose Villa

The ever best place for a morning coffee
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The ever best place for a morning coffee
Early morning by the pool The sunrise!!!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
The ever best place for a morning coffee
Early morning by the pool
The sunrise!!!
No comments!!!
The best sunrise at Paxos..
The view from the villa!!!
Pool area
A coffe table next to the villa..
The view from the huge villa balcony..
Balcony
Balcony
The infront side of the villa..
The pool area by the lower yart of the villa..
The back side of the villa,with the central door..
The living room
The living room
The living room
The diner table and a sofa bed
The kitchen
The queen double bed,bedroom with ensuite bathroom..
The queen double bed,bedroom with ensuite bathroom..
The ensuite bathroom..
The second,2 single beds,bedroom
The family bathroom
The stairs to the third bedroom..
The third bedroom with ensuite bathroom
The third bedroom,with ensuit bathroom and his own,exit door..
The third bedroom with ensuite bathroom..
Voutoumi beach Antipaxos.A heaven in earth(voted at Youtube as one of the 10 best beaches in world)
Our welcome basket..
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Gaios, Paxos, Ionian Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gf0rce
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent villa with magical views over Gaios”
Reviewed 8 March 2018 for a stay in June 2017

I have stayed at both Artist's Villas but it has taken me a while to getting round to writing reviews. This one is called Red Rose and it is the larger of the two split on two levels. (Both villas are completely independent and private!) The owners are so hospitable and helpful. We have spent two summers here and have already recommended to friends who also loved the place.

It is very clean; a maid comes in daily. It is at the top of a steep hill but walking back from Gaios centre in the evening is no problem (as long as you are not extremely unfit) it only takes 5 minutes and remember to take a torch. Therefore you could easily get away with not renting a car, and using the taxis. However I always like to have wheels to get round the rest of the island. First time round Andreas met us at the port in order to direct us. We followed behind his scooter.

Can't recommend this place highly enough. You will love it.
We will definitely visit again although this year we are booked to stay in Loggos.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dialga
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

As a family of 3 (my wife and teenage daughter) we stayed in Red Rose Villa for 1 week. We found everything was as per web description, in fact much better in the flesh. This is truly an amazing property that has had a great deal of thought put into it. The owners certainly have excellent taste in interior design and functionality. The Villa is fitted out like it is a stylish home away from home with all the mod cons. The Villa holds a very commanding view over Gaios and its position on the island is hard to beat IMO! We found whilst Loggos and Lakka certainly have better restaurant offerings overall, Gaios is still the better location overall as it takes no time to drive to the other ports anyway and you have the luxury and convenience of being close to more shops and supermarkets, boat hire etc - yet Gaios is also equally interesting and beautiful in its own way.
Nestled high on the hill overlooking Gaios, the situation of the Villa gives a feeling of total privacy and solitude, surrounded by native bushlands with just one other smaller villa occupying the vast mountainside property owned by the owners, It is also close enough to the town yet far enough away to avoid the noise and hustle bustle. You will need a car though but in reality that would also apply to 99.99% of other villas anyway. Needless to add if you wish to explore the island and the other ports a car is a prerequisite. So i would book one in advance and have it waiting at the dock for when you arrive. The Villa does have a steep concrete driveway up from the lower road which requires a little careful negotiation but compared to 90% of others we saw, the access to Red Rose is still way better/easier. So it is no deal breaker in that sense. I think it goes without saying that if you want a good view and location there will always be a caveat. Getting from the lower road to the villa itself takes only a minute at most by car anyway.
The Villa has 3 beautifully decorated bathrooms each with brilliant showers. There is also an outdoor cold water pool shower! The quality of the bedding, linen and furniture are all excellent quality and design. The attention to detail is really quite amazing for a rental property actually. It is indeed a very stylish and artistic property, with nothing left out. From top quality glassware and kitchenware - everything you can imagine - it is all there. The living room has a stunningly beautiful chandelier and there is a mixture of artistic lighting throughout the Villa. The artwork and other creations, artistic tiling, furnishings, all create a visual feast and very unique ambiance. All windows and doors except the front entrance door are fitted with very functional mosquito screens and sliding door screens on the large balcony and bedroom doors. The airconditioning is also very good. The front balcony is very accommodating with excellent furnishings.The out side lighting has been very well thought out for those times you get back from the restaurants late evening. The stunning horizon pool, the pool furniture - all top notch...very comfortable and practical! This is a villa where you could quite easily hang out all day for days on end - a real find!
The owner Andreas is incredibly helpful and obliging, a true gentleman. He was there waiting for us at the dock upon our arrival to help us with our baggage and to lead us by his car up to the Villa ( we followed in our rental) and was also there for us to help us upon our departure in early morning. Nothing was ever too much trouble no matter what it was. Andreas even provides a wonderful hamper basket full of local food produce and a bottle of wine as a welcome gift on arrival! He is truly quite amazing where customer service and satisfaction is concerned. The Villa is serviced daily where the beds are made, towels are changed, floors cleaned etc. It is like a 5 star Hotel! Paxos is a wonderful island, our 22nd Island visited now in the past 6 years. I highly recommend Red Rose Villa for the fussy traveler with high expectations. It's very hard to beat and we will certainly return one day. I would certainly recommend eating over at Loggos and Lakka in the evening over Gaois though. We didn't find the restaurants to be much good in Gaois to be honest. There are a few good ones in Loggos and Lakka though. Also the sunset taverna restuarant is a must.. Boat hire is also something to factor in. We ended up hiring a boat for 5 out of the 7 days as there are many little beaches and coves with lovely tavernas. Paxos is an island which has everything to offer. Very worthwhile indeed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, the showers, water quality, kitchen and glass ware, lighting, basically everything!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joesmith2...
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot for a family vacation, very hospitable management”
Reviewed 24 January 2015 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Enjoyed a fantastic 2 week stay with wife and kids (11 and 8). Everything was perfect. Pool, deck with dining table have stunning views. Perfect place for a small family. Close to town. The manager (Andreas) was a perfect host. One of our best vacations ever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty much everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjayne201...
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This villa is stunning”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

One of my top priorities when looking for a villa is comfort and this certainly ticked all the boxes.
Comfy beds, sun loungers, dining chairs and a general feel that the villa had been furnished with a lot of thought and consideration for guests.
For anyone wanting to stay with friends or extended family, the house provides plenty of private areas, yet there is loads of room to all come together socially.
The villa is very well equipped for self catering.
Photos of the view may sell the villa to you, however none can capture how beautiful it really is. The light changes constantly over the red rooftops.
As this was our 3rd visit to Paxos the intention was to relax around the villa and pool and that was what we did in the main, although hiring a boat for a day is a must every visit.
Andreas was the perfect host, keeping his distance but always there if you needed help with anything. He has every right to be as proud of his villa as he is. A lot of hard work for him and his wife, who is an artist and furnished the villa, must of gone in to such a fantastic home.
My one piece of advice would be to hire a car, even if just for the grocery collections unless you are very fit as the taxi drivers do not seem keen on taking you up the steep track to get to the villa. It won't cost you much more than getting taxis everyday and provide you with more flexibility. We got one for the last 2 days but wished we had got one at the beginning of the week.
Whatever you do on Paxos you will have a great time. Staying at this villa will enhance the memories of a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing