We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Des T
Tauranga, New Zealand

Superb accommodation and host

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Dec 2018via mobile
We were lucky to choose Green Gables for our stay. Jodie was a fantastic host as we had to make plans are very short notice and she was able to move things around to fit us in. The motel units are spotless and well appointed with very comfortable beds. They are warm and quiet and close to takeaways,cafes,supermarkets and walking distance to the hospital. Thanks again, Jodie
Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The Boulcott Lodge
$189
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $191
  • Vio.com
    $182
  • Hotels.com
    $188
0.2 km from ASURE Green Gables Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$215
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $215
  • Priceline
    $215
  • Hotels.com
    $215
3.6 km from ASURE Green Gables Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$124
  • Priceline
    $124
  • Agoda.com
    $104
  • Hotels.com
    $114
3.5 km from ASURE Green Gables Motel
Free parking
$145
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $145
  • Hotels.com
    $142
  • Vio.com
    $145
3.8 km from ASURE Green Gables Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Quest Petone
$164
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $164
  • Agoda.com
    $160
  • Priceline
    $164
4.1 km from ASURE Green Gables Motel
Free Wifi
$140
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $138
  • Vio.com
    $124
  • Hotels.com
    $140
1.9 km from ASURE Green Gables Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Office
$129
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $129
  • Hotels.com
    $123
  • Expedia.com
    $129
3.8 km from ASURE Green Gables Motel
Free parking
Room service
$215
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $215
  • Priceline
    $215
  • Hotels.com
    $215
4.1 km from ASURE Green Gables Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dupont Motel
$179
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $179
  • eDreams
    $179
  • Official Site
    $189
3.7 km from ASURE Green Gables Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Harbourview Studio
$176
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $195
  • Priceline
    $176
  • Hotels.com
    $195
4.6 km from ASURE Green Gables Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Lower Hutt
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
34
25
4
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
34
25
4
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2018

Stayed 1 night with my son while my wife was in the Hutt Hospital. Great friendly welcome and incredibly clean and tidy rooms, well appointed and so quiet even being on a busy street. The proximity to the hospital and the city centre is second to none, would highly rec. this place to all!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PalmyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2018

Thje room was clean, the bed was ok, nearing the end of its life - it was a little soft. However, I didn't get a sore back. There is a servicable kitchen - adequate for a short stay. There was a shortage of power points especially near the table. The motel is old and hence, was not designed for modern day technical equipment like laptops and mobiles to charge. You can do this by putting your gear in the kitchen which is already a bit crammed. Having said all the above. This place is my go to place in Wellington, except for the summer. There is no air conditioning. The staff are very friendly and accomodating. We stayed in room 2. I would stay again

Room tip: Bring a power board with at least 4 plugs in it to charge your tech gear
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carnabombers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

It was a pleasure staying for at this very nicely located motel run by a friendly family. The rooms were clean with simple amenities. All our requests were met with smiling friendly family members. We had extremely comfortable stay in the neighbourhood that we used lived after over 22 years. Great location for relive our memory Lane experiences. Thank you Maureen, Jodie and Dom.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Wanake
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jodie R, Owner at ASURE Green Gables Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Stayed here before. The host at the counter is always very welcoming and had a good Christmas themed motel with lights etc. Rooms were clean. Was quite warm when we stayed and motel did not have fans or cooling in the units. First motel we have stayed in that didn't have cooling so we went and brought a fan. Roomy units. Couch/fold out bed in the lounge was very hard and uncomfortable. Beds were comfortable.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Crazyfornewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jodie R, Owner at ASURE Green Gables Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. What unit were you in for us to sort the sofa bed out. Sorry about not providing a fan, we do have some. Wellington is not use to such hot weather 🤣

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Green Gables is well situated for bus routes, shops and restaurants. Service is friendly and prompt. Units are well equipped, can't think of anything that was lacking. Regular bus to Wellington stops at the door.

Room tip: Unit 7 is our favourite one bedroom unit
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coleen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jodie R, Owner at ASURE Green Gables Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to you staying again😀😀

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews