We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
154
47
11
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
47
11
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews definately stay again comfortable bed main road a ground floor room stayed nights pleasant staff second bedroom spent one night here great place to stay clean tidy short walk sliding door local shops kitchen facilities visiting wellington excellent stay handy location
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Having stayed at Boulcott Lodge some years ago, I was anticipating the same standards as the price has gone up disproportionately to the current rate of inflation.
The room was pretty much as I remembered, spacious with tasteful decor. Well stocked mini bar fridge with good choice of non alcoholic drinks and a basket of sweet and savoury snacks to tempt you. There is a basket at reception where you can help yourself to a piece of fresh fruit.
The bed was comfortable, but a couple of pillows somewhat lumpy and after lying on one for a while, a waft of tobacco came off it.
The room was one of the downstairs ones which means it was quite dark, and natural daylight was insufficient so need to turn lights on at all times.
There is a tiny fenced in courtyard with just enough space for two chairs, a coffee table and ashtray which is where I suspect the smell of stale tobacco comes from.
Unlike other motels in the area, corporate discount is only offered if you can guarantee to stay a minimum of 12 vists per year.
At my previous visit, I enjoyed a very good breakfast of eggs florentine with bacon on the side. At this visit I was told their advertised cafe style breakfast is only offered on 'certain days'. Sadly I cannot arrange my business meetings around availability of breakfast and was disappointed as this meant less time to be able to work due to having to go out to a cafe.
WiFi is free and good. Staff friendly and polite.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Room was clean, fresh, modern and light. Had a small deck with frosted glass screen so no view but additional feeling of space was appreciated.

Iron, ironing board, plunger coffee, usual toiletries all provided, comfy seating and good lighting.

Comfy bed, good pillows.

Check out friendly and relaxed. Good breakfast option on offer.

Would definitely stay again - a nice oasis on a long journey.

Greeting on arrival was a bit ho-hum - do hoteliers realise the journeys some of us have before arriving at their establishment? A six hour car journey for me - surely a smile and a welcome isn't too much to ask for?

Parking is a bit tight but at least it's off-road.

No lift (at least I couldn't find one) so be prepared to carry your bags up stairs.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Safarinjema2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Lodge is nice and cozy, rooms are modern and equipped. Complimentary wifi is available. Reception closes at 8pm but stays secure after hours. About 30min drive to central of Wellington. Nice place to stay for a night or two

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Modern rooms, generous WiFi allowance, friendly and efficient staff, and close to transport links go towards making Boulcott Lodge a recommended place to stay if you are traveling in Lower Hutt. It is on the pricey-side but I guess you get what you pay for.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Very impressed overall with the level of comfort and cleanliness of the rooms and the staff were always willing to help which is wonderful to see. The free wifi is super fast and the rooms come with aircon and a kitchenette. On a downside, the shower was not great with a wide spread and very little pressure. This may have been because our room was designed to be wheelchair accessible though but there is still room for improvement. Definitely recommended for a stay, but either have a car or be prepared to spend a lot on public transport fees.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jet683762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews