We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house in lovely location”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge/Dining Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge/Dining Area
Front Elevation Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Lounge/Dining Area
Front Elevation
Kitchen
Dining Room Table and Chairs in Lounge Facing Sligo Bay
Double Bedroom with Bay Window facing Sligo Bay
Vestible off the Lounge Looking Out Onto Sligo Bay
Twin Bedroom with Bay Window Facing Sligo Bay
En-suite Bathroom with Walk-in Shower, Toilet and Sink
Main Bathroom with Bath, Shower, Toilet and Sink
Cosy Sitting Area off the Kitchen
En-suite Double Bedroom
Barnacle Geese in Autum/Winter
Looking out at Benbulben Mountain Range from Lissadell Beach
Pool and Air Hockey Tables in the Games Room
Deck with Picnic Table, Barbeque and Playing Area
Raghly Penninsula
Side Garden and Deck Area with Knocknarea in the Distance
Doorly Park Walk along the Shores of Lough Gill
Sail Boats in Sligo Bay
The Three-horned Goat at Eagle's Flying, Ballymote
A Sheperd's Delight: One of the Many Beautiful Sunsets from the Kitchen and Lounge Windows
Paddle Boarding in Raghly Harbour
Finn Whale washed up in Sligo Bay - November 2011
Fresh Delicious Lobster Available from Raghly Harbour on Request (Seasonal / Depends on Weather)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ballinfull, County Sligo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
DarrellNI
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great house in lovely location”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week with nieces and nephews for our annual family trip with them and this year was another great success helped by a great house and a lovely location as well good weather. The Herdsman's house is very generously proportioned with great living and eating space along with the bedrooms. The nearby harbour and numerous beachs (some sandy and some stony) provided us with great walks cycling opportunities and general fun. The games room is a great asset to the house as are the supply of bicycles which Dessie and Mary provided us with. The views of the bay and surrounding mountains will stay with us for a long time and the nearby attractions of Mullaghmore beach (despite it's history) is a lovely spot as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rural location
Liked least: Old fashioned bed coverings
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A home coming to remember”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I haven't been home in many years so when I returned to Sligo our favourite place to go with my parents in my childhood I was already excited to show my young family my favorite
place in Ireland. When I met Desmond and his beautiful family I remembered why the Irish are revered for their hospitality. The house exceeded all expectations and the views were surreal in their beauty, never in all the years we spent going to Sligo have I witnessed Benbulben and Knocknarea from this vista together. Desmond not only made us feel at home he made us feel like family, my twin 4 year olds cried when we left and still ask every day when they will see Desmond and his family again. Desmond and his children took my twins up the fairy hill around the farm and gave them valuable time and memories. The house had every amenity it even had a games room and proved the perfect place to bring my elderly mother. Fantastic. The only mistake I made was booking 1 week instead of 2.
I will be certainly returning to Sligo again and Desmond and Mary will be the first I call.
Thanks for everything,
John & Doria Gibson and Family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views,house and proximity to good restaurants and traditional Irish music bars
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
935JaneL3...
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous house, Fabulous place”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I travelled with my husband and 6 children. House is immaculate and stylish. It has an amazing view of the bay. The children had loads of space to play outside and when it rained there was a play room with a snooker table which kept them occupied for hours!Desmond and Mary were very welcoming and friendly. We will be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marisabm
Dana Point, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful home in a peaceful setting with service-oriented hosts!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived to Herdsman's House, we were treated like family. Desmond, Mary and their children were extremely hospitable and service-oriented in every way! We were 2 couples (father & mother and son & daughter-in-law) and there was plenty of room in the home for all of us to enjoy our three week stay. The home was spotless and it had everything we needed to feel comfortable. Our favorite space in the home was the "sun room" because it had beautiful countryside & ocean views and stayed warm while we read our books and drank tea. It was like heaven! The kitchen, laundry room and bedrooms were all very well equipped without any details left unturned. Desmond frequently stopped by to ask if we needed anything or had any questions about the home or nearby attractions. Mary also surprised us with a wonderful wedding anniversary gift basket during our stay! Lastly, this wonderful family invited us over for afternoon tea and we had a great time laughing and sharing our life stories. We've never experienced such kind service in any other vacation rental. We truly feel fortunate to have found Herdman's House and hope to return one day. If you're seeking peace & quiet and a break from life, Herdsman's House is the place to go!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the home and the views
Liked least: Internet was slow at times
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren A
Wakefield, RI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Special Properly, Even More Special People”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The other reviews eloquently described just how special this property and family are. Consider yourself lucky if you've been able to track down this rental and stay with these folks.

Desmond, Mary, and their amazing children made for a trip and life event that we'll never froget. The property is simply stunning and peaceful. Every detail is considered in which they keep in the house, which is so immaculate it almost makes you feel guilty running inside with soiled shoes!

Des/Mary really open themselves up to you and treat you like family. Actually, they treat you BETTER than family and are great to chew the cud with. We had a bit of an ordeal when upon arrival to the town, I had put gasoline in a diesel engine. What could have been a disaster, Des was able to take the lead on and help me out of a jam with a fuel pump out using his connections and wits. The kids are both incredible and a reflection of their parents.

I could go on and on, but the point is book it now!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing