We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 'Iona'

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Games Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Games Room
The Royal Canal
Sheep on Farm
Spring Lambs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Enfield, County Meath

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Reviewed 24 January 2018 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Jan 2018
Caroline, thank you very much for your very positive review of Iona. We are so delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Best regards Trudy and Paddy McGuinness
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bradfield...
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
“Terrible”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Trudy the woman that rents place just walks in.no respect for money paid for privacy.I feel violated.horrible person

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2017
Dear Bradfield,
In response to your review and to address the facts of your receent stay:
It came to my notice on Friday (the day before your departure) bread strewn across the porch as you enter the house. On closer inspection there were lights on inside the house and the exterior doors were unlocked whilst you were away for the day, thus posing a security risk. Furthermore the general state of the interior of the house was not acceptable with furniture moved to different rooms and excessive untidiness with food on the floor and so on. You were kindly alerted to the facts as set out above at the time.
Finally, I am disappointed that prior to your departure you saw it fit to damage my guest book that had been in the house for years. Many of my guests throughout the years refer to this and it is disappointing that you saw fit to damage their enjoyment.

Regards,
Trudy McGuinness
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette j
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Accommodation comfortable, clean and well kept. Not too far from Dublin and great if you want to for Ireland. Trudy was so helpful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2017
Hi Annette,
Thank you very much for your positive review of "Iona". We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again at some stage in the future. Best Regards, Trudy and Paddy McGuinness
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect location and so much to do from this beautiful home.”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Perfectly located 40 minutes drive from Dublin airport along mostly motorways and great roads, amid scenic Boyne valley countryside, this gorgeous home accommodated us all perfectly. We were 2 adults, 2 adult children and 2 teens. The recreation room with pool table was perfect for down time and the two living rooms and full kitchen with patio gave us the ideal space to relax after all our activities. There was so much to do in the area: evening Flat racing at Naas Racecourse, trips to historic sites in Trim (castle) and Kells, Slane. Eat at the Coyningham Arms in Slane, it is just wonderful! Pitch and Putt at Julianstown, Co.Meath plus trip to seaside at Laytown, family biking at Borra Parklands outside Tullamore, Co. Offaly, and trip to Hugh Lane Gallery in Dublin. Now we just need more time to come back and enjoy some of the other attractions your area has to offer. Thanks so much for taking care of our every need, Trudy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2017
Dear Dominic and Mary, thank you for your very nice review of Iona and all the areas you visited while here. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had plenty of things to do and places to visit. It was a pleasure having you to stay at "Iona" and I look forward to seeing you and your family again at a future time. Many thanks and best regards, Trudy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danieljmc...
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A gem, perfect location for exploring the significant treasures in the area.”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A gem located 30 minutes from Dublin and short drives to New Grange, Tara Hill, Trim Castle and other sights. What a peaceful locations! Iona was perfect for our family and so well equipped and spacious. We used Iona as our base for several day trips. We would return in early evening and go outside to watch sunset and listen to the songbirds. Trudy was a gracious host and provided all the information we needed and was very helpful as we planned our trip. We were sad to leave and I would strongly recommend Iona to anyone visiting Dublin and the surrounding areas.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Dear Daniel,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your recent stay at Iona and thank you again for your kind words which are much appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Trudy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing