We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
6
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amazing views michelle motel northland bay
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

I thoroughly recommend this place to stay if you aren’t looking for indulgent luxury. It is spotless (even the taps were polished!), well equipped and the views are spectacular. There are just three motel units so it is quiet and easy to park. Rooms are spacious and the self-contained, private deck is a great place to have breakfast or BBQ. The laundry facility is excellent - clean, modern washing machine and dryer, with space to peg out if you prefer. Michelle, who manages the place, clearly has high standards and couldn’t do enough to help. We will definitely return!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

Our room at the front if the Motel with a large terrace that had amazing views of Mangonui Harbour.

The Motel facilities were excellent and clean. However, the décor was getting a bit tired. Michelle that Manager was friendly, efficient and very helpful.

It's an easy walk down to the Harbour, and Restaurants but an uphill return. If you like walking and views this is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank derek011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We stayed in Ranui Lodge for 2 nights.. This is a very lovely place with a great view. Everything was available and also there were instructions regarding not to panic if we hear sirens (which I personally liked) since I have never come across such situation before and apparently we did hear Sirens that day :) I would recommend travellers to stay there and it also close to the beach..

Room Tip: You can take the rooms are by the road side.. it's beautiful and cozy..
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 211priyankap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

We stayed in this motel whilst touring the North Island and it was very peaceful, quiet and had an amazing view of the bay (All units have views, either to the front or back, so there is no luck on which unit you get). There is private parking, and the motel is about 3-mins drive from the main centre and just off the main highway on a residential road.

The unit was comfortable, well equipped, clean and very quiet. We had a private balcony area overlooking the water, but we also had the great view lying in bed. The unit had a fridge, cooking utilities, a toaster etc, but there are also a few places to eat in Mangonui if you don't want to prepare your own food.

The owner was very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Others could really learn from her, as it makes all the difference to how guests are welcomed to the motel. She even shared with us some fresh fish she had caught the night before, and even cooked it for us, which was an incredibly nice gesture and really unexpected. It was always a pleasure having a chat.

If I have the pleasure of returning to Northland again, then I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very cosy motel, nicely presented, great friendly staff, amazing views and so close to the water, I thoroughly recommend this motel for anyone travelling to Mangonui. It's a 35 minute drive to Kaitaia, and so close to the top of the North Island

Room Tip: Just talk to Paula at check in, she's really helpful
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank birdgirlme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews