We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$270
Fully refundable before Sat, 2 Mar
Hotels.com
$270
Fully refundable before Sun, 3 Mar
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Dingo59
Port Macquarie, Australia
4311
Lovely Room, great hosts.
Reviewed 29 Oct 2023via mobile
Just as advertised, lovely historic hotel that has been converted to just a few stunning rooms. Our suite had everything we needed, superb bed and comfy mattress.
Views over the garden and bay.
Truly only a 5 minute stroll along the board walk to town with shops, cafe's and restaurants.
Our hosts, Jennifer and Justin were knowledgeable and friendly.
Absolutely loved our stay here.
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$195
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $195
  • Agoda.com
    $195
  • eDreams
    $195
0.3 km from The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from room / balcony
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.5 km from The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.4 km from The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lol.travel
    2.6 km from The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Lol.travel
    • Vio.com
    4.8 km from The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Lol.travel
      3.0 km from The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Cove Cottage 28.11.16
      Lol.travel
        2.7 km from The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        Picnic Area
        Booking.com
        • Priceline
        • eDreams
        • Agoda.com
        1.5 km from The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        Expedia.com
        Get rewarded with One Key
        • Booking.com
        • Hotels.com
        • Priceline
        4.8 km from The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        View more hotels in Mangonui
        Reviews (179)
        Filter reviews
        179 results
        Traveller rating
        157
        17
        3
        1
        1
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveller rating
        157
        17
        3
        1
        1
        Show reviews that mention
        All reviews new zealand claw foot bath stayed one night fabulous accommodation room suite pleasure of staying helpful hosts local attractions stayed longer perfect stay we loved our stay beautiful place veranda upstairs harbour jennifer character
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        2 - 7 of 179 reviews
        Reviewed 25 October 2023

        We loved our stay at The Old Oak in Mangonui. It’s such a relaxed spot for anyone touring the far north, quiet but with easy access to the local shops and cafes. The suite we stayed in was ideal to come back to and chill after busy days and Justin and Jennifer were welcoming and informative hosts. The rooms were beautifully set up with everything we could have wished for; stunning harbour views and access to a very pretty cottage garden. Will be top of our list for our next Northland trip.

        Date of stay: October 2023
        • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          • Value
          • Location
          • Service
        Thank M526BJsallyh
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 25 September 2023

        A real gem! My husband and I spent 3 nights at The Old Oak, and have nothing but good things to say.

        We had a first floor room with a view (hello stunning sunrise over the harbour) and a balcony on two sides.

        The rooms were stylishly appointed, clean and comfy.

        Jennifer and Justin, the hosts, were great! Both were very friendly and helpful. Justin had all info on things to see and do on our trip up to Cape Reinga, even lending us a chilly bin for the day, and I loved that Jennifer greeted me by name one morning (how often do you get that at a hotel?).

        We would definitely recommend The Old Oak and would not hesitate to visit again.

        To Justin and Jennifer …. Thank you, it was a stay to remember :-)

        Date of stay: September 2023
        • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          • Value
          • Location
          • Service
        Thank Persephone71
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Jennifer M, Owner at The Old Oak Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2023

        Wow, thank you! It was a pleasure being your hosts, and absolutely wonderful to know you had a great stay =)

        Warm regards, from your hosts, J&J

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 14 June 2023

        I had the pleasure of staying one night at The Old Oak Hotel Mangonui in May 2023 for business. What a beautiful place, everything from the view, comfort, space, cleanliness and location far exceeded my expectations - and my expectations were high.
        The hotel is a credit to the owners who themselves are a great couple, very friendly and only too happy to offer recommendations for meals and local attractions.
        I stayed in the Ruru room, which was on the second floor with a veranda and incredible harbour view. The shower had amazing pressure fyi.

        I was so impressed, I will be recommending this hotel and coming back with my family.

        Regards

        Fi Lilley

        Room tip: Make sure you stay longer than one day and bring someone to share it with.
        Date of stay: May 2023
        • Trip type: Travelled on business
          • Value
          • Location
          • Service
        Thank Fiona L
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 1 June 2023 via mobile

        Our last night after an amazing month in New Zealand. We spent a lot of time finding this location and deciding to book the room. We arrived a tad late, 7:15ish pm. Rang the bell, rang the bell again and the proprietor was so incredibly rude. Said that he saw us in town earlier, impossible we just arrived, and refused to let us stay. Never in my life have I been treated this way! Unacceptable!

        Room tip: Avoid this hotel
        Date of stay: June 2023
        Trip type: Travelled with family
        Thank Debbie D
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Jennifer M, Owner at The Old Oak Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2023

        Turned up after hours with no prior arrangement to do so. Before being greeted, entered property and intruded on another guest's verandah. Belligerent and aggressive at the door, trespassed from the property before ever checking in.

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 15 March 2023

        We stayed one night at the Old Oak, drove for a while and planned to find a hotel on the west coast of New Zealand, retreated to the Old Oak, and decided to stay a third night, each time in a different room. It was a real find. Not much to look at on the outside (sorry, Jennifer!), but the rooms inside are beautiful. The water is right across the street, and there are restaurants a lovely 5-10 minute walk away. Convenient parking. Cannot recommend this wonderful place enough. And Jennifer and Justin are the nicest, sweetest most helpful hosts ever. (PS: have breakfast at the nearby Little Kitchen.)

        Date of stay: February 2023
        • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          • Value
          • Location
          • Service
        Thank Ann G
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Jennifer M, Owner at The Old Oak Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2023

        You got to see all that we have to offer! Three rooms in three nights. It was an absolute pleasure to be your hosts. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Best wishes, from J&J

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        View more reviews