We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Booked two nights stayed for four!"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mangonui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2015

What a wonderful surprise this lovely hotel turned out to be! Not having much faith in the far north accomodation after a disappointing B&B in Russell. We were on the move and my husband found The Old Oak on the internet. I must say the professional photos don't do it justice. From the time we arrived we were enveloped with a wonderful luxurious and tasteful vibe. Our suite was gorgeous ... Not exactly subscribing to the interior design school of 'more is more' and not minimalistic either ... every detail was thought out, made of good quality and had the cool factor. Feeling like a rockstar in cognito we enjoyed water views of the harbour from out wrap around balcony, greats eats from the stunning Indian next door and of course the world famous fish chips just up the road, lovely fresh picked flowers in our room every day and good filter coffee to wake us up ... we were happy as clams. We had a little sitting room to watch movies in at night and were only ever 1 hour away from great beaches with white sands and turquoise waters and 5 star lunches - yes Kauri Cliffs does do casual lunches just book 48 hours in advance. We booked for 2 nights and stayed for 4 and seriously thought of staying longer... Our lovely hosts Jean and Gary were friendly and helpful yet not in your face ... I enjoyed chatting with them... Would we go back? Of course!!! Perfect for a romantic getaway anytime of the year! !Ness & Paul

Room Tip: Take the 'kauri suite' it's the best!
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lodger69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenways2, Manager at The Old Oak Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2015

Dear Ness and Paul,

What a lovely review you have so kindly left for us. We appreciate it tremendously and are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have the pleasure of a return visit!

Your Suite was our Ponga Suite, upstairs with the wrap around verandas. Our Kauri Studio is downstairs with access to our back patios and garden.

Kind regards,
Jean, Gary, and Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2015

And better than all the rest.
The Inn is charming and unique. It has been lovingly restored with great attention to detail. It combines old world elegance with a modern flair. The location makes a great base for day trips to Cape Reinga in the north and the Waipoua forest on the west coast. The many beaches in Doubtless Bay are the best in Northland.
Our hosts, Jean and Gary, had many helpful travel hints for us, even suggesting where we should stop when we departed Mangonui.
For a unique dining experience, be sure to try the Earth House. Ask Jean for the details.

Room Tip: The ponga suite with the claw foot tub was our favorite
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2015

This beautiful hotel is a top holiday experience and is situated overlooking the bay. It has been wonderfully restored with quality fittings and has the added bonus of a charming garden, good WiFi and excellent tv reception. Nothing was too much trouble for Jean and Gary, our hosts. We had meals out in the local cafés and explored the area up to Cape Reinga whilst we were there.
We shall be recommending this lovely hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: The room with the verandah facing the garden and with views of the bay was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elizabeth32p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2015 via mobile

Such a beautiful little hotel on the waters edge in one of best areas of NZ. Faultless. Will recommend to all my friends when visiting Doubtless Bay and the Far North region. Heritage + modern requirements.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank groenendaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2015

The Old Oak Hotel is a lovely property, beautifully and painstakingly restored.

The rooms are well appointed with air conditioning and free wifi. There is also an exceellent selection of tv channels from around the world.

The reception area doubles as a guest lounge and where there are games and books to occupy time.

We stayed in the Tui room, a more than adequate size for two. The bed was very comfortable and the room immaculate. The shower was also excellent with good pressure and the range of toiletries top notch.

The outdoor area was a little small and there was no view so for the price that was perhaps a little disappointing. In addition there is no food or beverage option although the cafes and restaurants of Mangonui are all very close.

The Old Oak is a spotless boutique hotel with welcoming staff and excellent facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 247Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangonui
0 km away
Carrington Estate
Carrington Estate
#3 of 3 in Kaitaia
146 reviews
0.7 km away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
137 reviews
0.3 km away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
0.4 km away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
42 reviews
31.5 km away
The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs
The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs
#1 of 1 in Matauri Bay
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Oak Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Oak Boutique Hotel

Address: 66 Waterfront Drive, Mangonui, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mangonui
Price Range: $175 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Oak Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful small hotel features just six rooms - three suites, two premium studios, and a standard room. The heritage building has been modernised for the comfort of our guests with new bathrooms, lighting, plumbing, and insulation and has been decorated with a contemporary mix of modern and country. All rooms, other than our petite standard room, have modern heating and cooling systems and our three suites feature kitchenettes. The property is home to a colonial inspired garden with organic herb and vegetable beds, formal rose garden, petanque court, harbour view verandas and a courtyard nestled into the hillside of native bush and ferns. Guests can relax in the gardens and on the verandas in a private and tranquil setting. The Old Oak provides superior service with 24 hour management, daily housekeeping, and concierge services. Enjoy fishing, swimming, country walks, and strolls along Waterfront Drive in the 19th century whaling village of Mangonui. Mangonui village features r ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your The Old Oak Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing