We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mangonui Motel(Mangonui)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingfish Lodge(Whangaroa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reef Lodge Motel(Karikari Peninsula)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loredo Motel(Kaitaia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
117
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscape reinganew zealandshort walkpohutukawa suitetwo nightsfar northindian restaurantrestaurant next doorexcellent hotelsuite upstairsend of the daylovely suitebeautiful gardenhistoric buildingexcellent facilitiesfishing villagetranquil location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2015

And better than all the rest.
The Inn is charming and unique. It has been lovingly restored with great attention to detail. It combines old world elegance with a modern flair. The location makes a great base for day trips to Cape Reinga in the north and the Waipoua forest on the west coast. The many beaches in Doubtless Bay are the best in Northland.
Our hosts, Jean and Gary, had many helpful travel hints for us, even suggesting where we should stop when we departed Mangonui.
For a unique dining experience, be sure to try the Earth House. Ask Jean for the details.

Room Tip: The ponga suite with the claw foot tub was our favorite
Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2015

This beautiful hotel is a top holiday experience and is situated overlooking the bay. It has been wonderfully restored with quality fittings and has the added bonus of a charming garden, good WiFi and excellent tv reception. Nothing was too much trouble for Jean and Gary, our hosts. We had meals out in the local cafés and explored the area up to Cape Reinga whilst we were there.
We shall be recommending this lovely hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: The room with the verandah facing the garden and with views of the bay was gorgeous.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elizabeth32p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2015 via mobile

Such a beautiful little hotel on the waters edge in one of best areas of NZ. Faultless. Will recommend to all my friends when visiting Doubtless Bay and the Far North region. Heritage + modern requirements.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank groenendaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2015

The Old Oak Hotel is a lovely property, beautifully and painstakingly restored.

The rooms are well appointed with air conditioning and free wifi. There is also an exceellent selection of tv channels from around the world.

The reception area doubles as a guest lounge and where there are games and books to occupy time.

We stayed in the Tui room, a more than adequate size for two. The bed was very comfortable and the room immaculate. The shower was also excellent with good pressure and the range of toiletries top notch.

The outdoor area was a little small and there was no view so for the price that was perhaps a little disappointing. In addition there is no food or beverage option although the cafes and restaurants of Mangonui are all very close.

The Old Oak is a spotless boutique hotel with welcoming staff and excellent facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 247Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2015

We spent two nights here and I have to confess it ranks in our top five holiday experiences, Jean welcomed us to her hotel with buckets of warmth and some really sound advice on how to get the best out of our short stay, from the moment we checked into our garden room, the stress of the Xmas traffic began to fade. Its your decision how much you wish to see in the surrounding area, balanced by the beauty of what's on your doorstep. Let Jean guide you, wether it be an early start, the best fish and chips, or a scenic route to your next destination. Unwind and let your cares unravel.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank stuartcloake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews