We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
51
56
21
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
56
21
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lots of restaurants big city sogo hsinchu amenities
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2015

I had an excellent stay at the Sol Hotel and am so happy I chose it. I was visiting family in Hsinchu and was surprised by the quality of the hotel. The rooms are really clean, well-maintained and quiet, and the breakfasts every morning were satisfying and delicious. But the really stand out part of the hotel is the excellent staff -- they were so helpful and caring. They were especially kind to my 80-year-old grandma and helped her with everything, and they even ran out with umbrellas when it started raining suddenly and we were just outside the hotel.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2015

This hotel offers just about everything you need in a city hotel, including a large well-furnished room, a varied buffet breakfast, and a good bed. It seems to cater a lot to Japanese businessmen, and the decor had an interestingly Japanese touch, for instance a screen door to the bathroom. But the thing about it that stands out more than anything else is its location—easy walking distance from the train station, close to most of Hsinchu's attractions, surrounded by restaurants and bars, yet in a secluded pocket that's right on the strip parkland around the city moat.

So the Sol is a fine example of the kind of comfortable and well-appointed mid-range hotel appealing to both businessmen and tourists that Taiwan seems to specialise in. Staying there helped make our stay in Hsinchu relaxing, and didn't cost an arm and a leg. The only minor defects worth noting are that the self-service laundry for guests wasn't free, unlike similar facilities in two other hotels we'd been to, and that the staff were at times stand-offish.

Nonetheless, we'd have no hesitation in going back anytime we're in Hsinchu in the future.

Room tip: The cheapest rooms, misleadingly called Deluxe Singles, provide a queen-size bed and a big space. They're fine for couples.
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank knja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

SOL hotel Hsinchu.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
Hotel provide 24 hrs free coffee, tea, juices and biscuit.
The room is comfortable and breakfast is nice.
Provide free transportations to science park.
Good locations, easy find restaurant nearby.
Definitely will come back to stay this hotel again for next trip.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FromKluang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

SOL Hotel is where I stayed for a month during my training at the Hsinchu industrial park, it offered a buffet breakfast with a variety of food ranging from breads, rice, porridge to salads and fruits coupled with coffee,tea and milk as well as fruit juices etc. The hotel staffs are friendly and able to speak good English. They can help visitors to call cabs and it is within walking distance to downtown Hsinchu and the train station.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 165ongy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2015

Very good hotel for business & tourist
Staff is very friendly. Good in English. Can speak Japanese as well.
Breakfast menu has lot of varieties
rooms are good
just in front of hotel is a school with running track. Good for morning exercise.

Ask for room heater in winter

Room tip: You may want to inform upfront for non-smoking room, should that be your need
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21,091,989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews