We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Photos Do Not Lie! Cielo Mar is a slice of...”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunset from balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset from balcony
View of villa from Playa Penca Dining Area with custom carved table and chairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Sunset from balcony
View of villa from Playa Penca
Dining Area with custom carved table and chairs
Granite countered kitchen and island
First level living room convertible to third bedroom . Curtains pulled for privacy .
Circular stairs from Master level to Living room
King size bed on Master Level
Double Talevera sinks in Master bath
Florentine tiled Master Shower
Master bath soaking tub
View from Master Bedroom
Guest bedroom first level
Outside Dining Area
Rattan palmed fans on all levels
Custom Carved Guanacaste wood doors
Costa Rican Rockers on balcony
Pool on walk out level
Poolside Outside dining area at night
Playa Penca
Guests catching tuna
Arenal Volcano
Hot Springs
Tucan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Chile4me
Madison
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Photos Do Not Lie! Cielo Mar is a slice of Heaven and Sea.”
Reviewed 25 July 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Villa Cielo Mar with my parents from March 18-23, 2013. We were looking for a balance between our typical indie, budget, adventure travel (which is our normal style) and something with a touch of class and luxury because we were celebrating my parents’ retirement. Villa Cielo Mar was perfect. It was a bit off the beaten path, which is perfect for us, and Carol’s attention to detail in the directions made the navigation easy!
We arrived a bit earlier than planned but even so Scott and Carol eagerly greeted us…it was SO warm (having just traveled from Monteverde). They showed us the ins and outs of the villa, the really thorough reference documents that included anything you’d need to know during your visit, provided us with their email/phone numbers in the event their thoughtful planning didn’t already cover everything.
The condo was one of three-3 story condos rising above the beautiful Playa Penca. Set in the middle of the condos, the first story included a basic and clean bedroom, bathroom, laundry room, and a convertible bedroom that overlooked an outdoor kitchen and the pool.
The second floor served as the primary living area. A beautiful gourmet kitchen was stocked with all of the essentials that we needed for our eat-in meals. There was also a great dining and entertaining space. The highlight of the second floor was the second floor balcony, which provided a view beyond our expectations.
The third floor was our master suite. The bed seemed like a California King and had the most amazing balcony overlooking the Playa Penca. There was a beautiful Jacuzzi ensuite with a tiled shower and amazing Mexican tiled sinks. Our one complaint was that the second floor bathroom had poor water pressure (the first floor bathroom had awesome pressure) but not having a “suicide shower”, which is a rarity in Costa Rica, made up for the third floor water pressure.
Beyond the great physical space, the service was awesome. If we had any worries, we just called or emailed Scott or Carol. Carol even made arrangements for us to have a local fishmonger stop by the villa and offer us options from his daily catch including some of the largest most delicious shrimp we’ve ever had. Finally, using HomeAway’s deposit and payment service was AWESOME! All I had to do was fill in a check like form with my bank’s information for the full deposit and rental amount. I am always anxious doing this, and in truth almost opted for another option because of the payment arrangements. But Villa Cielo Mar was everything it promised…plus. And Carol returned my rental deposit before I arrived at our home airport.

Thank you Scott and Carol for the great customer service and for letting is use your beautiful home on our vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, service, and the villa itself
Liked least: Poor water pressure in the third floor bath
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed 1 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The first thing I did when I got to the villa was take a picture from the main balcony of the amazing view because I knew it was going to be my screen saver! We were met at the property by Kevin who was with the management company and he showed us everything we needed to know about the villa. It's frightening to rent from pictures on the internet but these pictures did not lie. The villa was clean, comfortable and lovely. Kevin also connected us with Alex of Red Pacific Sunset tours who was awesome.

While there we horseback rode, ziplined, went out on atv's and enjoyed the most beautiful beach. We didn't get a car so we were limited on the restaurants within walking distance but they were very good. Our favorite was Las Brisas which is on the beach. We enjoyed watching the same two cows take a regular nightly stroll on the beach while we had dinner!

Bring nothing fancy! Everyone is very casual. You will definately want tennis shoes as the roads are rocky and the hill to the villa I swear got steeper everyday! If you have Verizon for your phone service, you won't be able to get it there. However a landline was being installed in the villa while I was here.

I love to travel but this was very possibly my favorite vacation ever!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The stunning views from the two balconies
Liked least: The spiral staircase. Pretty but scary and hard to get your suitcase down on.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ankle_wei...
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pura Vida!”
Reviewed 15 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Villa Cielo Mar is a little bit of heaven! The views from all 3 levels are amazing. Carol and Scott's house is one of three townhouses but we had total privacy for the 11 days we were there. It was so nice to have the pool and Jacuzzi to ourselves. The house was in walking distance to 2 beaches, Playa Potrero which wasn't a very nice beach and Playa Penca which was fabulous. Also a short drive to Playa Danta, our favorite. We saw and heard many howlers around the house and at Danta. We were also in walking distance to a few restaurants.......all very good. There are several small markets close by for food, cervezas, vino, etc. In addition, a short drive away there are some larger markets. Claudia was helpful in arranging our snorkeling trip and massages at home. Jenny has magic hands and I only wish we could have had a massage every day! My husband and I have rented vacation homes/condos in several countries but Carol and Scott have topped them all. You will get a workout....there are 3 levels. Of course something was always forgotten so it was up and down the stairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Our flights......we arrived at the house around 11pm and our departing flight was 6:50 am so we had to stay at a hotel for the last night.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T
Bowdoinham, Maine, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Get Away Vacation”
Reviewed 22 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

This was the perfect getaway. My husband and I rarely get away for what I call tropical vacation. And when we do, we always hope that it's going to be the perfect get away for us to relax and have fun. We traveled to Costa Rica with good friends and found that the three story condo was the perfect getaway. It really was ideal for 2 couples or a family of 4 or 5. Each level had a view that was amazing. I always looked forward to early mornings with coffee or evenings having cocktails sitting on the deck. The pictures we took of the sunsets just don't do it justice. Words or pictures can't describe how pretty they really are. Although, we did a fair amount of cooking (the house was totally equipped), we went out to eat a great deal as there were several awesome restaurants within walking distance. And the people there were so friendly and helpful. I really miss the fresh fish, fruits and vegetables! The beach is only a 5 minute walk. Our experience there was authentic as the condo was not located within a resort, but in a small community. Carol and Scott were incredible and were a wealth of information.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from the deck, the fresh food, pool, easy access to so many things....
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver V
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing location!!”
Reviewed 15 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We spend a week in this conveniently located villa in Costa Rica. It was our first time in Costa Rica and we were very happy with our experience. It was very close to the beach and various restaurants. It also had a swimming pool and jacuzzi for our use. The views from the balconies are incredible!

The owners were very helpful. Booking and receiving the keys was a breeze. convinient.

We highly recommend this villa. We had a great time and will be coming back very soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, amenities and updated kitchen.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing