We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$77
View Deal
Hotels.com
US$77
View Deal
Trip.com
US$76
View Deal
Booking.comUS$77
eDreamsUS$77
TravelocityUS$77
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
24
29
8
5
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
24
29
8
5
19
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2019

The staff at Bahia Esmerelda were wonderful and extremely helpful. Everything was very clean and well taken care of. If you're looking for somewhere that provides you with a little more independence than a large hotel or resort, this is the place for you. It is a close walk to restaurants and beaches, and has an excellent pool to cool down in upon your return. We truly enjoyed our stay and hope to return next year.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jzgarrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bahiapotrero, Recepcionist at Hotel Bahia Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2019

Dear JZ

Thank you so much for writing this review

For us was a pleasure to meet you
We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us

We hope you can back every year!

Regards,

Hotel "Bahía Esmeralda"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2019 via mobile

Customer service was rude, they made us feel like we were not able to afford this place. They check all the plates and every single thing as they were like new, they are old and not very clean. Also I paid for one more person at the place, they just told me those are the sheet to make the bed. Come on I was paying they had to do it. If you are a tidy person this place is not for you, bathroom has a lot of stains. Handsoap was mixed with water. Beds and pillows are not confortable.
This place has nice garden, but the grass was a little bit high.
The pool is nice and clean. You cannot use the pool after 8pm.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Karoline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2019

Stayed for 3 days at this hotel and was very happy with the location. The room was well maintained and the grounds were well kept. The hotel provides complimentary breakfast every morning and the hotel staff was always upbeat, friendly & helpful. The property is located just a few minutes walk to the beach and has a great pool & dining area to relax in. I would definitely stay there again. Also they have great wifi! Big thanks to the staff for their amazing customer service. Pura Vida.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank obtraich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bahiapotrero, Recepcionist at Hotel Bahia Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2019

Dear obtraich

Thank you so much for taking your time and write this review and give us the maximum calification
We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us, all the staff is commited to give our guests the best experience we can
Also, thanks you for giving clear information about the hotel to other travelers

Hope to see you soon again

Regards,

Hotel "Bahía Esmeralda"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2019 via mobile

Bahia Esmeralda has been the best possible home away from home for me! The owner and all staff are super friendly and help you with anything you need. I had a small cabina with kitchen and bathroom plus bedroom. Everything is very clean and cosy. Really felt like home for me! It is close to several beautiful beaches, restaurants and cafés. Tamarindo only~30min.away if you want shopping and more action. And the most important part for me is that it felt and is so safe! I could not recommend this hotel more!! It has a beautiful garden and very nice pool also. The trees and nature plus wildlife all around only makes it even better! It is perfect for solo travellers, families, couples and everyone who want's a quiet get away from everyday busy life! I am forever grateful to Luis (sorry if I spelled your name wrong) and all his staff for my stay at Bahia Esmeralda 13.01.2019-27.01.2019! Thank you! Best wishes, Anna from Finland

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank annahell2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bahiapotrero, Manager at Hotel Bahia Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2019

Dear Anna,
We thank you for your wonderful words and make us very happy that you can enjoy our facilities and our staff.
We are grateful to have clients like you.
We hope you continue visiting us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2018

Here is what happened - you decide for yourself.

- The room is about 80 square feet, hardly any space to move around.
- The manager restricted us to only 2 towels, 2 tiny soaps and 2 pouches of shampoo FOR THE ENTIRE WEEK.
- They never cleaned our room.
- No comforter, no blanket.
- We left the place 3 days before our reservation ended. When we made our second reservation for a different place, he said "he did not want to injure his reputation with airbnb" and can not refund us even though we were now at a different place.

I would not stay here for $10 a night.

Room tip: Stay somewhere else.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontimerunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bahiapotrero, Manager at Hotel Bahia Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2018

Ontimerunning,

We also remember your stay as unpleasant for us because, apart from demanding an unjustified refund, although you knew very well the reservation policies that we have through airbnb, you want to use this page to expose points about our hotel that obviously they are not true.

To clarify your dishonorable lies (since it is evident that this comment is only due to the fact that you could not be reimbursed for the two nights):

- The size of the room is clearly specified on the airbnb page, meaning that from the moment you booked you knew what you were booking.

- The manager did not restrict you to anything, we are a budget hotel, a towel is delivered per person, 2 soaps and 2 shampoos PER DAY, YOU PERSONALLY REQUESTED THAT YOU DID NOT WANT CLEANING IN THE ROOM, as you will understand if we can not enter to clean we can not change towel or soaps or shampoo and we can not know if they need more, and still every time you requested it at reception they were provided.

- I repeat, the room was never cleaned because you asked for it, our hotel carries out cleaning EVERY day, but if the client does not want it, we can not force it.

- Our hotel is located in an area with temperatures of 30º centigrade at night, we do not put blankets because we do not believe that with this hot weather are necessary, however we have them if you require it at reception, it is just a matter of asking.

- You did not stay at our hotel for a week as mentioned above, you only stayed 4 nights, AND YOU WERE NOT OUT OF THE HOTEL 3 NIGHTS BEFORE, BUT 2.

- Regarding the reimbursement that you require, copy below the policies of our hotel on airbnb and that you clearly accepted from the moment you made the reservation but obviously did not want to comply:
* 5 days before arrival 100% refund.
* 4 days before arrival, no show or early check out 100% penalty.

In addition to all this, I inform you that they left without paying several cups of coffee that they consumed and that they seized without authorization.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews