We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic holiday away from it all cottage.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Picket Mead

Front view of Picket Mead
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of Picket Mead
Back view of Picket Mead and Garden Sitting room / dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Front view of Picket Mead
Back view of Picket Mead and Garden
Sitting room / dining room
Sitting room
Dining room / sitting room
Sitting room / dining room window
Front door
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
View into back garden from sitting room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Landing
Bathroom
Bathroom
Kitchen garden door
View from across the valley - arrow shows cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Colyton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Armstrong...
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing ”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed here in the Easter break and we were no happy at all. The cottage have a very bad smell which I get as it is old. Damp on the walls, very very dusty and the upstairs floors are all very slippery. Mats are out down but they slide all over the place they do not have any backing on the to prevent a fall. Bath panel coming off. all the furniture in the cottage is very old and dated to a point it is so worn and very uncomfortable. The much furniture in this cottage it's not needed. A plug socket is installed right on the guard rails to the cot. God for bid if a baby was in the cot and they put their finger in it. And the deposit for the electric well what a rip off that is because you will not get a lot back. No going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2015
We were rather surprised to receive this review as we had been told how much these guests had enjoyed their Easter holiday. They even said that they wanted to come for another holiday next year.

As part of the refurbishment, the walls of the cottage had been re-plastered and damp proofed, but as the cottage is several hundred years old it is impossible, as stated in the details, to guarantee total elimination of damp.

Before guests arrive we always spend at least five hours cleaning the cottage thoroughly and making other preparations to welcome them. Additionally, when necessary, we turn on the heaters at our cost the night before in readiness. The cottage was definitely not dusty and certainly did not smell.

The upstairs floors have been professionally sanded and sealed and are not slippery. These guests did not have a baby using the cot, but when a baby does come we always insert a socket protector in the socket near the cot, provide additional socket protectors and ensure there are no trailing wires near the cot.

If guests prefer not to have mats on the floor they can easily place them in the bottom of the fitted wardrobe or elsewhere.

The side bath panel fits to the back and front panels in the normal way.

All the beds are relatively new and in good clean condition and the cottage is furnished, as the photographs show, with a mix of modern and antique furniture. As it is spacious there is plenty of room for guests to move around. However after these guests had left, we did discover that two items of furniture had been damaged and these have now been repaired.

As stated on the booking form, .electricity is charged at cost, per unit used.

Nevertheless, if the guests had discussed any problems with us during their stay, we would of course have rectified any justified concerns.

We always try to make guests comfortable and give good service as shown by the other reviews received.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAllen66
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Idyllic holiday away from it all cottage.”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Once again we had a fantastic holiday at Picket Mead, set in a quiet villageaway from the maddening crowd, where rambling hills scenic views and peaceful suroundings greet you every day. Short journy to several seaside resorts such as Beer,Seaton and Branscombe. also Colyton tramway to Seaton a must for all holiday makers. plenty of knick knack shops, Pubs restaurants and cafe's. Plenty of local produce from local farms. No matter the weather there is plenty to do for any age. The owner of the property is a most friendly and welcoming person.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: having to gohome after the holiday
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil Step...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent rural getaway”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Had a fantastic holiday in a lovely rural setting, helped by sunny days throughout the week. We had a great time with very friendly locals in the village. The cottage is extremely old and so you do need to be aware of low beams and some damp areas. As stated in the details, electricity and logs are extra so you need to account for the cost of these which is likely to wipe out your deposit (however we didn't feel this was unreasonable). The owner Marion is always very helpful. Overall a lovely holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to bear in mind additional heating costs (having opted for a non all-inclusive cottage).
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2015
A firm which specializes in old buildings has now treated and re-plastered the damp area at the back of the living room.

As we have had an exceptionally cold April this year with very chilly nights, the cost of electricity has proved to be more than usual.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila B
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Devon Cottage in wonderful setting”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Set in a small hamlet next to the church this cottage is in a lovely setting.
The pictures on the website do not do the cottage justice, all the rooms are a good size, even the single bedroom. Yes the doorways are low on the ground floor as is part of the ceiling in the main room but this is an old building and it just adds to the charm. There is a secure garden which my 3 year old grandson loved and was great for a bbq.
All the rooms are well furnished and the beds are very comfortable, we all enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great cottage in a wonderful setting, very peaceful a good place for a family holiday or a quiet relaxing break
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAllen66
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent Country Cottage”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My friend and I hired this cottage for two weeks in June, even though the pictures and information about the cottage was what we wanted it excelled our expectations. Every room was more spacious than we expected, and we enjoyed every moment we stayed there. The owner was a most delightful lady and extremely friendly and could not go more out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. The cottage had every facility you could imagine whether it was rain or shine. It was set in a quite village between a church and a village hall where both did not disturb you at any time. By the end of our holiday we wished we didn't have to leave and cannot wait to enjoy another holiday there as soon as possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing