We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage for 6 in idyllic countryside...”
a view from the banks of the lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
a view from the banks of the lake
front view of the cottage with parking in front of the gates the living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
a view from the banks of the lake
front view of the cottage with parking in front of the gates
the living room
view of the kitchen
view of dining hall
view of bedroom 1
view of en-suite shower room
view of bedroom 2 with two single beds
the ground floor bedroom opens onto small terrace
the terrace to the ground floor bedroom
messing about on the boat
a kingfisher enjoying the arum lilly
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chalais, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pip F
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage for 6 in idyllic countryside location.”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Holidaying in this beautiful place is like finding a rare gem. The spacious, three double bedroom cottage is beautifully appointed and Rod and Kay have provided everything any visitor could expect. The welcome pack is lavish, the rooms are beautifully decorated and the location is perfect for a tranquil, lakeside holiday. The town of Chalais is close by with its Monday market, supermarkets and restaurants. The local restaurant is fantastic and within walking distance. Rod and Kay are the perfect hosts, offering advice on where to visit and making sure their guests enjoy every moment of their stay. We loved relaxing by the lake on the supremely comfortable sun loungers. It certainly is a special piece of paradise. Will we be back? Absolutely!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2017
Thank you taking the time and trouble for writing such a beautiful review. We loved having you , and we hope to see you again , you will always be welcome ! Rod and Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best holiday ever!”
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Our second visit to this beautiful location, it's like a home from home (but far warmer) Rod and Kay make you feel so welcome and made our family holiday so very special. Perfect hosts that are full of local knowledge such as restaurants and fun things to do in France.

You would be a fool not to book this gem!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2017
Thank you for your very generous review. It was good to see you all again ! Loved how the boys couldn't wait to explore, and row the little boat around the lake as soon as they arrived !
Glad you enjoyed the Open Air Concerts. at Brossac lake ...

We hope we may look forward to welcoming you all another time .... Rod and Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith...
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is a small hamlet in a beautiful region of France.”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is a lovely rural location in a quiet, little visited area of France, the Charente. The climate is perfect , and the area is very laid back with many interesting villages and places to visit.
The property has been restored beautifully by a professional ,who is the owner.It has superb facilities and is comprehensively equipped .
You will be made to feel welcome and you will want for nothing .
Absolutely gorgeous !!!!!
We shall return.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review, having been recommended by previous guests we are happy the location and the gite came up to your expectations !! We know your interests included cycling, VTT routes, .... and the wine regions. There certainly are an abundance of both , including local producers of pineau,the region's speciality . We certainly hope you will return to discover more that the Charente can offer !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A wonderful week”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

What a perfect place to stay to get away from it all.. a home from home in the beautiful French countryside surrounded by fields of sun flowers, a relaxing lake and rolling hills. The well presented accommodation is spacious and comfortable, the kitchen and bathrooms clean and well appointed, the parking convenient and the gardens lush and green.
The welcome pack on arrival was perfect after a long drive and the experienced host contributed to a truly wonderful week.
There is plenty to do in nearby towns, villages, lakes and rivers - Aubeterre is an absolute must.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review, and for choosing to stay with us again. It was a pleasure to welcome you back ! We know you loved Aubeterre with it's pretty square , Chalais market and restaurants,,... and after a busy day , just relaxing back at the gite , beside the lake . We hope to see you all, another year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
0-0-MEG-0...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything about this Gite is splendid”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The rooms are well proportioned and tastefully furnished, with original art works on the walls.
Bedrooms are light and airy, the beds comfortable and there is a bath / shower room for each bedroom. The double bedroom leading onto the sun porch is a treat in which to wake.
The kitchen is a particular joy. Well thought out, well equipped with good quality cookware and utensils.
There is an excellent dishwasher, (cleaned the roasting dish with no problem) and a high specification washing machine.
Our lovely hosts Rod and Kay provided dishwasher tablets, soap powder and a welcome basket of croissants, wines, jam and other goodies.
Oh, and a big bunch of flowers.
We parked right next to the property between the house and gates and this kept the car cool during a considerable heatwave.
As for the garden! We run out of superlatives.
Masses of space, picnic tables, sun loungers and even a lake with a boat. Great for relaxing and soaking up those rays. The evenings were especially nice. With very little light pollution, we could see oodles of stars and even a few satellites passing overhead.

We took day trips to the leisure park in nearby Brossac which has a lovely little bistro; to the market on Monday mornings in Chalais; to the towns of Angouleme, Aubeterre, Barbezieux, and two separate days in beautiful La Rochelle.

Altogether the most wonderful place we have ever stayed in France

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting by the lake and watching the stars
Liked least: A car is essential
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a lovely and comprehensive review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our gite.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing