We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$238
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Neptune River Bungalows(Tatai)(Great Value!)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
99 Guesthouse(Koh Kong)
US$8
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asian Koh Kong Hotel(Koh Kong)(Great Value!)
US$18
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koh Kong Resort(Koh Kong)
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mango Beach Resort(Khlong Yai)
US$233
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 58% below average rates

The price you found is 58% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$214/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mairood Resort(Trat)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$28/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
227
61
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
61
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno hot waterthe rivertatai waterfalllocal communitybug sprayresident naturalistfood is excellentphnom penhfree kayaksan adventurerooms are basica short boat ridehighly recommend this placemake you feel at homeabsolutely loved our staywarm rivercouple of days
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We came by mini bus from Phnom Penh which dropped us at one side of the bridge others were met and their guide advised us to cross the bridge, it was hot lugging the suitcase- ask the bus driver he might drop you at the far side. When you come down the ramp turn right and wait at the last wooden house- practically under the bridge. The house owner I think contacted Rainbow lodge and 40 mins later our boat arrived.
We arrived at the wonderful rainbow lodge to be met by Elliott and a choice for our lunch. Our hut/room was just as we imagined, outside seating area bedroom and bathroom.
We booked the night trek with Gee it was the highlight of our holiday and recommended it to everyone. We saw large spiders, snakes, stick insects I loved the fact he took photos on macro and then showed us and explained all about it. It lasted about 2 hours.
The next morning we booked the short hike it was 3.5 hours to the waterfall. It was hot and the humidity was high, our guide and dog were great. I was dying to have the swim but didn’t risk the slippery stones. The trip back on the boat was lovely, as we approached the lodge my husband called for 2 cold beers and not to let me book anymore trips- Elliott did laugh. He does a great job managing the resort and does a wonderful job.
He kindly organised a taxi on to our next destination and when there was an issue he quickly resolved it for us.
The food was great, good choice and plenty of it, there were vegans staying and they were well accommodated.
This is great value for money. Loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We stayed here with our 11 year old children and we absolutely loved it. The hospitality was wonderful and we felt so welcome. It was one of our favourite places to stay during 2 months in SE Asia. We stayed 3 nights and could have stayed longer. This area of Cambodia is gorgeous, and the lodge is equally delightful and very well run.
To really enjoy it you need to get out see the jungle and the river. We kayaked down the river and around Mangroves, walked, and swam by the waterfall. The guides, Perom and Gee were fantastic. Our children also adored, Nico, the pet dog who came on a walk with us. The lodge also offers massages etc but we ran out of time to enjoy these.
The food was excellent, plentiful and varied. The menus are set but there was a variety of dishes and all were delicious.
Our room was very comfortable and although there is no AC (it is an eco lodge, so fair enough) we slept well as the fans were effective. This isn't a air-conditioned box so be prepared for visiting lizards etc but nothing troubling and all the beds have mosquito nets.
This is a unique place - don't expect a "one size fits all" resort, but if you want somewhere special, in an amazing location, with great hospitality, it is perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trees73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We arrived in a rainstorm complete with thunder and lightening. The staff somehow managed to transport us and our luggage to the lodge and keep us dry. We settled into our large comfortable cabin complete with sitting area and verandah with chairs and hammock then back along the walkways for tea,fruit and cake. We spent 3 nights here and one day walked to the waterfall with Pirom and Nico and swam and climbed and sat under the smaller cascades. We were picked up by boat in time for lunch at Rainbow Lodge. The afternoon was spent in a double kayak from RL. Next day was amazing spent with Gee the naturalist exploring the mangrove
Forest by kayak and walks. Gee seems to know everything from the root systems to identifying the insects ,birds, butterflies and plants / fascinating. The food was superb. Elliott impressive with the personal attention he gives. We were also lucky to be staying at the same time as Janet the founder so heard the narrative of the struggles to make this all happen. Finally there is all the work in the local community supported and done by Rainbow Lodge

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

We booked four nights here and it was great after we arrived. The minibus on the way was harrowing as they all are in Cambodia. And the river boat to the lodge was loud! Bring earplugs. But it was really cool. They have bouncy bamboo platforms to walk above the vegetation that lead to a large reception area that also serves as dining and lobby space. More walkways lead off to bungalows with comfy beds, couches and mosquito netting for nights. There are fans and showers in each and lots of windows. We had a couple of laughing thrushes stop by each afternoon on the branches near our bungalow and we saw great hornbills in the fruiting tree above the reception area.

We took a walk with Gee, the naturalist, who showed us all sorts of interesting flowers and bugs, butterflies and birds. Our favorite were the Chestnut headed bee-eaters. And we saw some water buffalo up really close--we were in their pasture.

We went to the waterfalls and kayaked the mangroves. The food was delicious and they accommodated my diet, even making me a special dessert my last night so I could enjoy dessert too. Thanks so much , Elliott!!

We all enjoyed our time here. You can be active or laid back and they are as eco-friendly as possible and Elliott tries his hardest to make everyone's stay amazing. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Each bungalow has a couch for sitting and an inside bathroom and a little balcony with a hammock.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank oregonanteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

Rainbow lodge was definitely the highlight of our two week trip.
The setting at rainbow lodge is beautiful - you're surrounded by trees and the buzzing of insects. You feel and are completely surrounded by nature.
The lodges are great - simple but comfortable, perfectly decorated, clean and stylish. We had the family suite which had a double and then twin beds segregated from each other, a lounge sofa and terrace with chairs and a hammock so plenty of space to relax.
There are lots of walking activities however with a young child we couldn't do these - which we did appreciate before booking. We spent lots of time just sitting on the terrace or wandering the grounds enjoying the environment around us instead; birds, butterflies, fire flies and geckos. Our daughter loves this kind of outdoors so it was great for us but probably not for all younger children.
Having said that Elliot and his team were very accommodating and we went on two lovely boat trips.
The food was amazing with a tasty selection of dishes provided at each meal and the staff were all extremely friendly and welcoming.
The work being done at the lodge to preserve and support the local environment is also brilliant.
Thanks to everyone at rainbow lodge who make this a beautiful place and made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews