We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
39
44
25
16
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
44
25
16
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I upped my rating to a 4 only because of the wonderful restaurant in this remote rather funky yet somewhat charming hotel. Although expensive, dinner in the restaurant was the best thing about this hill top recently restored old hotel. If you like nature walks and spending $150 or more per night on a room - or you just really really want to be in this part of the Eisel in Germany, by all means this might be the place for you. But the little things are missing here. Like a place to put your suitcase (except on the floor) and a place to hang up anything including a coat. But yet the rooms are mostly all recently redone and the bathrooms were exquisite with expensive marble floors and walls. But I would rather have a good mattress than marble floors in the bathroom. Be sure and ask for a room on one level unless you want to bang around in a huge space that is mostly unused and have the bedroom upstairs with no windows except for a skylight and the TV with a two person sofa downstairs. The "Wellness Center" is just a private space that you can reserve for 1.5 hours with a sauna and a big non-jacuzzi tub. But the evening meal in the lovely restaurant there was fab (and worth the $$$$) and the breakfasts were better than the usual fare at European hotels. The location is charming if you like nice scenery and hill towns with old brick/stone buildings, a castle ruin, and one very very narrow one way street. If you are traveling through this part of Germany deliberately and want a nice albeit expensive hotel room with a great dinner then this is the place for you. Don't go in the winter when there is snow and/or ice or you will never get up or down the hill without risking your life. Oh, we happened to be able to overhear the couple in the next room so it would appear as if the nature of the walls that separate rooms have not lost their antique quality. But overall, we were not too disappointed. As I said, thank goodness for the restaurant there.

Room Tip: Unless there are three of you and you need an extra bed in a nook adjacent to the main bed - in a strangely configured two story room with beds upstairs and TV downstairs, ask for a room on one level.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PithyPacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Very pleasant atmosphere, wonderful room with romantic double bed, excellent restaurant and very friendly and helpfull staff. The village and environment complete the rest of your pleasant stay. We booked a Groupon deal, but the normal price without discount would be a bit over the top.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Judging by photos, Burghaus Kronenburg should have been a perfect hotel. 4 star in a beautiful and extraordinary location. It was our last stop during short trip to Germany and and as we discovered afterwards - the biggest disappointment.
Let's start with pros: quick check-in, flammish speaking receptionist, resolving problems within a few minutes, nice designed room (although, quite sober and with many missing things).
We got a duplex room, in a small building next to the main one. Walls in part of the room must be made of paper. You can hear every single noice coming from the room next to.
No ceiling lamp in one of the toilets, no hooks to hang the towels, very thin mattress - details, but disturbing.
We could accept all of that, but what we found in so called "wellness" area was more than shocking.
IF YOU GO THERE TO ENJOY SPA, SAVE YOUR MONEY. Small cellar, with two saunas (one of them was apparently out of order) and bath (plain bath, no jacuzzi)...So dirty, that we had to clean it ourselves before we used it! No towels!
It shouldn't be even called a wellness space:(
IF YOU GO FOR BREAKFAST, DON'T EXPECT TOO MUCH. It's a 4* hotel, but we saw nicer breakfast in 2*. The choice was so so, the scrumbled eggs was heated only by a tealight (thus cold), no chance to order an omlette, unfriendly staff. Definitely, not a quality one could expect in such hotel:(
IF YOU COUNT ON WOW EFFECT IN THE RESTURANT, YOU WON'T HAVE ONE.
After we read the menu, we couldn't wait to eat there. Well, maybe we shouldn't be so optymistic? We ordered two completetly different main courses. When we got our plates, to our surprise, they looked exactly the same, only piece of meat was different. Kitchen in this hotel use the same kind of souce to all dishes (what 'bout a bit of imagination?). As we could see at the next table, the plates with fish on were dressed the same and covered with the souce we had in front of our faces. Yet again, we expected something better from such restaurant.
Would we advice to go there? Rather not. Check for other posibilites in the neighbourhood, because the area is really beautiful and worth visiting.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Pitbulltje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

- renovation done very well
- great swimming pool (we were lucky with the weather)
- our room was big and spotlessly clean, but a bit dark and not very practical (on two floors)
- beautiful views, als to take in from the terrace
- the twon of kronenburg is miniscule, but very charming
- good hiking around

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mosasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews