We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Place and only getting better”

The Hunting Lodge Winery & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Waimauku
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Our unique 80 acre estate is located just 35mins drive from the CBD in the heart of Auckland's wine country. With a Cellar Door, Cafe, roaming gardens, event spaces and our newly opened Restaurant, as well as a fully functioning winery and bottling works, The Hunting Lodge has it all. The history of the Hunting Lodge goes back to 1868, so almost everyone in the area has a yarn from over the years. The current owners’ story goes back to the 1970’s, seeing their children grow up amongst the vines. They’re proud to be able to share this beautiful site with you and let the stories continue. So whether you choose to play petanque in the Family Zone surrounded by the olive grove and kids play area, or find a romantic spot amongst the vines, this vineyard garden is all about truly delicious wine and food that can be enjoyed in a backdrop that makes memories of any occasion.
Reviewed 7 September 2017

The Hunting Lodge is a great property with fab potential. They have quite the business outside of their own wine and right now only sell their wine from the cellar door. I really enjoyed their Sauvignon Blanc and mixed vineyard Pinot Noir. We had great service from a very friendly family owner. This property has amazing potential and they are working to capitalize on it. It's just beautiful.

Also available are coffee and snacks/pastries/sweet and savory with seating. Perfect place for a conference or other event.

Thank drjandthemissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Hunting_Lodge_nz, Public Relations Manager at The Hunting Lodge Winery & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Thanks drjandthemissus for your positive feedback and your belief and support in our vision for what this place can be. We now have renovated and reopened the Restaurant which is in the historic homestead on the property, so hopefully we can host you again soon to share with you the progress we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sauvignon blanc"
in 6 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 15 reviews
"tasting room"
in 5 reviews
"cellar door"
in 4 reviews
"enjoyable wine"
in 2 reviews
"whites and reds"
in 2 reviews
"interesting wines"
in 2 reviews
"yummy pizza"
in 2 reviews
"wine making"
in 2 reviews
"muriwai beach"
in 2 reviews
"previous incarnation"
in 2 reviews
"charcuterie platter"
in 2 reviews
"new zealand"
in 3 reviews
"rota"
in 10 reviews
"matka"
in 18 reviews
"christine"
in 3 reviews
"wineries"
in 6 reviews
Filter

44 - 48 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We dropped in to The Hunting Lodge Winery as part of a wine tasting tour. I found the service and wines to be the best of the day. I would come back again and give lunch a go, separate to a tasting tour. Very happy.

Thank Chris-and-Mel-Warren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Hunting_Lodge_nz, Manager at The Hunting Lodge Winery & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thanks for your feedback! We're so glad you had a great wine experience and look forward to hosting you again. Your lunch options just got more diverse too - we're about to open up our restaurant so you'll have the choice of a casual cafe meal or more upmarket style restaurant dining experience. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

After church, we decided to drive out West of Auckland in search for good cafes for brunch. I have visited a lot of wineries and cafes West of Auckland and decided to try the Hunting Lodge Winery. Upon arrival, I realised that this used to be the Matua Winery where I bought vinos a while back. Feeling hungry, we went straight to the cafe and hunted for a good feed. The choices in the cabinet are not that impressive, and the menu was more of platters suited for wine tasting experience. Me and my wife ordered the pies, chicken for me and smoked fish for the wifey. Since the Cafe is just small, we ended taking an outdoor barstool by the wine barrel turned into a table. How I wish it was summer afternoon, but still at the tailend of the Auckland winter, alfresco is not that pleasant. The pies came with a bunch of mesclun salad which to me, could be matched by my fave cafe along Corinthian Drive in Albany. Since my trip was not a wine tasting one, not one of the staff came back to check if we are doing alright or the food was better than the one from the Henderson bakery.
In fairness, I had a glimpse of the platters and they looked nice and would definitely go with the vino. I might come back for wine tasting during warmer months, and laze alfresco in one of the benches scattered all over the circular lawn.

Thank binotzuniga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Hunting_Lodge_nz, Public Relations Manager at The Hunting Lodge Winery & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Thanks binotzuniga for your feedback. As af family owned business, we are always looking to improve both our service and offerings. We have shared your feedback with the team and you will be pleased to know that there are a few improvements that have been made. We now have an in-house pastry chef and head chef who are the magic behind our food across the site and we have also renovated and reopened the Restaurant which is in the old historic homestead. This is open for dinner Wed - Sat and brunch and lunch Thurs-Sun. It has a wide range of dishes available, all inspired by our locally sourced pasture to plate ethos. We hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Friendly, knowledgeable staff. Warm inside, you can brave the elements for a walk outside also. Great wine and coffee. Their platters are substantial, and they have a few tasty offerings in the cabinet.

Thank Danae A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Hunting_Lodge_nz, Public Relations Manager at The Hunting Lodge Winery & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Thanks Danae for your positive feedback. We have made a few enhancements since your last visit so we look forward to hosting you again soon to share with your our progress as we continually transform this amazing property to provide the ultimate experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

We stopped for morning tea, and it was very pleasant. The host had great hospitality and customer service. I enjoyed my Bloom infusion tea, very rich, in depth flavour. The muesli slice had a lovely surprising white chocolate in the base! Definitely will recommend to friends. Can't wait to try the restaurant once it re-opens.

Thank Cam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Hunting_Lodge_nz, Public Relations Manager at The Hunting Lodge Winery & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Thanks Cam for taking the time to post a review. The Restaurant is now open so we look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hunting Lodge Winery & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Hunting Lodge Winery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing