We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
haveboots
Seattle, Washington

Tips for Your Trip to Paradise

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Feb 2024
My husband and I had a thoroughly magical week at Kokomo in November. It is a pinch-me place. Much has been written here about the amazing service and experiences, so I will add some specific tips:
-Make sure to visit the Kokocabana restaurant by the pool. At first we dismissed it thinking it was just a pizza place for kids, but the chef, Enzo, is from Napoli and came to our table on our first visit to find out what we like and then brought out one delicious dish after another. I think it’s not as popular as the Plank because it’s not on the beach, but don’t miss out on Enzo’s food.
-Stay on west side for sunsets and less wind.
-Take time to talk with the staff. Such beautiful and friendly people work there who are happy to share interesting stories of their families and their home islands. I found Fijians to be very warm, and they don’t hesitate in asking questions.
-Do the farm tour. Very interesting to see how veggies and fruits are grown in challenging conditions, plus you get a backstage peek at the impressive infrastructure on island.
-Explore the Great Austrolabe Reef if you snorkel or dive. One of the largest barrier reefs in the world. Dive staff are great.
-Check out the coral nurseries in the house lagoon (the marine scientists on staff are doing good work).
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$382
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    $386
  • Vio.com
    $376
  • Expedia.com
    $380
74.0 km from Kokomo Private Island Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Two Bedroom Apartment (Newly Renovated)
  • Expedia.com
  • Lol.travel
    $197
  • Hotels.com
74.0 km from Kokomo Private Island Fiji
Free parking
Pool
$178
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $178
  • Tripadvisor
    $178
  • StayForLong
74.0 km from Kokomo Private Island Fiji
$459
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    $453
  • Expedia.com
    $457
  • Hotels.com
    $457
74.1 km from Kokomo Private Island Fiji
Free parking
Pool
$339
  • Expedia.com
    $385
  • Agoda.com
    $304
  • Trip.com
74.3 km from Kokomo Private Island Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
$89
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $124
  • Agoda.com
    $88
  • Hotels.com
    $119
74.4 km from Kokomo Private Island Fiji
Restaurant
$125
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $119
  • Agoda.com
    $65
  • Vio.com
    $67
74.3 km from Kokomo Private Island Fiji
Free parking
Restaurant
$132
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $129
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
74.5 km from Kokomo Private Island Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
$79
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $80
  • Tripadvisor
    $79
  • Vio.com
74.5 km from Kokomo Private Island Fiji
Free Wifi
Executive rooms - view from room
$201
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $181
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
74.6 km from Kokomo Private Island Fiji
Free parking
View more hotels in Yaukuvelevu Island
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
62
1
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
62
1
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club heaven on earth water sports private pool star resort outdoor shower bora bora head chef every single detail sashimi scuba diving little touches high expectations boat trip fish sea plane handmade chocolates
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2023

We hadn’t travelled since Covid it was a combination of celebrations for us, my husbands 50th birthday was in May, our 23rd Wedding Anniversary as well as our Daughter’s 21st Birthday which was only 2 weeks before and I was having my 53rd Birthday at Kokomo.
Where do I start, if I could give this 11/10 I would.
My family and I have travelled all over the world and stayed in a lot of beautiful resorts. It has been almost 17 years since we have visited Fiji.
I booked 8 nights at Kokomo to spend some bonding time as a family. We have identical twin sons that are 19 and a daughter as mentioned who is 21. My husband and I were at the mind set this could be our last “family” holiday without partners etc
I couldn’t have asked for more, or wished for more it was wonderful. From the moment we arrived at the hanger in the waiting lounge with a glass of champs. Michael our helicopter pilot was terrific, pointing out all the resorts, surfing breaks and reefs that in itself was a great start. We were taken to the main lounge area at the “Beachshack” and what a welcome greeting with all the staff singing to us. Dan showed us to our sunset 3 brm villa that just exceeded my expectations, I knew from the photos it was going to be stunning but I got quite emotional it was just perfect. The views were breathtaking and you walk straight out from your villa and go snorkelling as the reef is just out the front. The following day was my birthday after a huge breakfast, (you won’t go hungry here) the food is just delicious and spoilt for choices and my sons in particular loved the all day dining it’s not just burgers there is steak and crab linguine or you can have food delivered from one of the 3 restaurants too if you prefer to stay in. We had our 45min massages that were included with our stay.
Dan amd Miriam organised my birthday dinner that was so special the table set up with fresh flowers in our beachfront villa which I wanted was next level. The attention to detail, I had shown Dan my wedding photos an hour before dinner and he noticed in the photos I had Frangipani lei on so he arranged a Frangipani lei for me, Miriam organised Lei the photographer to take some beautiful family photos and let’s not forget my birthday coconut cake just topped it off. They also had a waitress to serve all our favourite food to us for the evening , a big thank you to the chefs Andy for the amazing seafood and Caroline for thd tasty curry don’t miss Monday curry night. Dan and staff came back to sing a beautiful happy birthday song to me after we had dinner, I will remember my 53rd birthday for the rest of my life.
Kava night was another special moment some more bonding, as I sat back watching my family laughing, singing and drinking kava.
Our sons joined in a game of touch footy with the boys from Baywatch, again so much fun. Stephen who organised a cocktail making class activity which we enjoyed so much. I made a cocktail that night at the managers cocktail evening they named it after me the Madonnacello which you must try when you visit Kokomo. Grant the manager who took us around the island for a private tour was wonderful to take time out of his day showed us some of the stunning residences which if your coming with extended family highly recommend booking. There was Oscar the trainer who made exercising a joy every morning at 8am at the gym. I have never exercised whilst on holidays but just enjoyed it so much and went almost everyday 6/8. My skinny lattes every morning…Jagur the worlds best fisherman who took my sons and husband out had the most amazing shark and fishing trip expierence. Special mention to all the staff at Beach shack and Walkdplanc that kept the food coming out to feed my sons who just kept eating. Caroline you are the worlds best chef and loved your dishes especially the Kokoda , I hold the record for eating 3 tsunami bowls. This place is paradise but what makes it really special is all of the staff with their genine warm friendly big beautiful smiles greeting us to “Bula” from the gardeners who cut me a fresh coconut, chefs, waitresses, cleaners, engineers, Baywatch and marine staff to shop assistant to spa staff just anyone we came in contact with. Oh, I didn’t mention that you get your laundry and ironing done everyday too that is pure bliss never have I ever stayed where they have a laundry basket in your room you come back it’s all folded and ironed at no extra costs all included, thank you to the laundry staff. The list just goes on, I will miss all the staff each and everyone of you thank you all so much from the bottom of heart for making my family holiday magical, I leave with a heavy heart but you have given me memories to treasure for the rest of my life. I do plan to come back one day, maybe Xmas next year. I really felt spoilt, you don’t have to be a celebrity or famous actor/actress as everyone is treated the same.
Can’t thank you all enough, it’s not good bye but see you later.
Truly this is one of the best resorts you will find anywhere in the world!
Madonna, Tim, Tara, Kane and Cory
The Delaney Family xxxxx

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 November 2023

This is such a fabulous resort and reaching it by helicopter was a superb experience.
We were greeted by the manager,Grant, and then staff singing and playing guitars as a welcome - my wife was moved to tears!
Here to celebrate my big birthday and we could not fault the warm friendly staff who quickly became our friends. Everyone from gardeners to the chef were so cheery and happy you immediately felt they love working here. Nothing was too much trouble and they were so flexible with timings for meals ,activities in fact just about anything.
Our villa was large,first class and overlooked the beautiful bay as we enjoyed lovely sunsets.
Food was exceptional and full of innovative flavours without being over powering.
There is plenty to do here and we enjoyed a full days fishing, though we never managed to catch the big game fish but were happy with the large snappers.
The wine choice is excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed a wine tasting session with the very knowledgable sommelier - Stephen. You must also try Ben’s cocktails.
You often see glamourised videos and pictures of resorts only to be disappointed when you arrive. Well you wont be with Kokomo Island - it is exactly what you see on their website.
Their farewell, again with singers etc,was equally as moving as their welcome!
Five days of bliss and we cannot wait to return.
Thank you Grant and all the family at Kokomo Island

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 September 2023 via mobile

Stop reading and just book it! This is as top notch of a resort as there is. We have been to Four Seasons, Aman, One & Only and all in between and it's the best of the best!

I traveled with my wife and 2 kids (3 and 10 months) and from the moment you land in Nadi the Kokomo team whisks you away to their private hanger. The hanger is beautiful, they have bathrooms and showers to change before the seaplane and kids room for the little ones.

When we landed at Kokomo we were greeted by Heather and her team to the most amazing welcome entrance. We were then upgraded to a residence which was INSANE! The entire staff on the island treated us as family and catered to all of our needs.

I would recommend staying on the west side of the island. It's closer to the everything and the water is much calmer for swimming.

There are so many activities on the island to do and the only regret is not being there long enough.

Room tip: Stay on sunset side of the island
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank O6964UNmikev
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 June 2023

My wife & I travelled to Fiji from San Francisco. Stayed at Kokomo from May 27th -May 30 .
I have rated them Excellent for the following reasons...
1) Welcome & Exit islands local songs by the resort team
2) Food choices were very palate satiating
3) Activity for every day was filled with lots of fun
4) Visiting another private island & Glass bottom boat for sighting corals were memorable
5) Sea plane trips on time & comfortable
Our Thanks to the following personnel's & all Restaurant employees
1) Caroline (Chef at the the Plank Restaurant) For take home sauces
2) Shyamal Director for the buggy trip around the facilities
3) Kali (Everyday coordinator for arranging activities)

NARAYAN

Room tip: 1) BE PREPARED TO HAVE A FABULOUS TIME IN THE ISLAND
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NARAYAN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 May 2023

We have recently stayed at Amankila in Bali, St Regis in Bali, Mandarin Oriental Canouan, One & Only Mandarina, St Regis Bora Bora, Conrad Bora Bora, and many other top-tier resorts around the world. In our experience, Kokomo Private Island is the best of the best.

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews