We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Palmetto Bay, Roatan, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Otilia S
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had such a wonderful time!! Everything was great! From renting a car for the entire stay from Ramirez rent a car, to a day of deep sea fishing with Aaron. And of course, the fabulous dive trips with Eric and Nevada! We enjoyed a great dinner with friends at Frechy's 44 plus a few other places like Kal's Cantina and Tong's Thai Island Cuisine. This is the second year we've stayed at Heather's house and without a doubt we'll be back!! : )

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xkalay
Caledon, Canada
1 review
“Top notch!!”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just returned from staying here for 5 days. The experience here was incredible. Excellent service across the board, great accommodations, and very close to everywhere you need to go. Heather (the owner) always went way above and beyond in every respect, but it did not end with her. The staff at the little beach bar was also amazingly personal and over the top accommodating. They went above and beyond to help me propose to my Fiance.

The house is beautiful, very modern, clean, well cared for and totally comfortable. Heather was super helpful and will provide you with a tour of the grounds. She really knows Roatan well.
The beach is stunning as all beaches in Roatan are. You could literally scuba right off their pier. It is only a 2 minute walk to the beach but it feels like it is only 30 seconds away.

The pool was large, clean and surrounded by fabulous lounge equipment. The House itself was stocked with modern appliances that are in good condition and a fully functional kitchen. All of the Bedrooms are very modern and very comfortable. The bathroom in the master bedroom is stunning with a double shower.

You don't generally spend much time hanging out in your casa while in Roatana since there is so much to do, but if you get stuck inside with Rain then there is also several board games for the kids and a fully stocked movie library.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The House is every modern and comfortable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vxctor1
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super place to relax”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

What a nice place. Clean, huge Bedrooms and master shower.

Nice pool, nice people renting the house (very helpful), American TV Stations, easy walk to beach.

It's a bit off the main road but a perfect place to relax. Just had a hip replacement and it worked out perfect for me.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb D
Smith
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best House we have ever rented!”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Our group of seven older adults enjoyed the Plantation House for two weeks. We all agreed it was the nicest house we have rented yet - and we have rented in Africa, Belize, Panama as well as in Canada.

The house has a huge open kitchen, dining, and living area. The master bedroom is also large - really a master suite. We loved the beautiful hardwood floors that really gave it the feeling of a "Plantation House." The kitchen was well stocked with everything you need for meal preparation.

As beautiful as the interior of the house was what really won us over was the wonderful outdoor space and Heather and Clay's hospitality. We enjoyed the deck, the barbeque, the pool, and the gazebo every single day. Every morning as we sipped our coffee the hummingbirds, woodpeckers, and even parrots visited the yard. Heather, Clay, and Heather's dad Bob, were just next door to answer any questions and help plan outings. They truly understand how to give their guests privacy, but are available to help when needed.

We loved the quietness of the area and walked on the beaches every day in perfect safety. We were often the only ones on the beach. The dock at the resort was perfect for our ocean swims. We went snorkelling nearby with Black Pearl Divers and really enjoyed the outing.

The Plantation House made a great base for exploring the island. We rented a van and explored the island from one end to the other.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor amenities.
Liked least: The access road
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladibus
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Ideal for a family retreat in the Caribbean”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Our family of 4 plus my mom stayed a week in the Plantation home in October. The house is splendid, luxurious, spacious, clean, air conditionned. You have everything on site to cook, play, sleep comfortably...etc (3 TVs, DVDs, board games, Wii). You can't see the neighboring houses nested in the jungle so it's very quiet. I guess the only noise we could hear was coming from our boys playing and jumping in the giant pool. I don't think you can find any negative point about this house. Sure it's on a remote place in a poor island so things happen, like power outage. It happened just once while we were there and lasted 5 mins. Within these 5min, Heather was there with an electric lamp for us. The owners live on the other side of the house (a duplex) and are very responsive to any of your needs. They are very respectful of your privacy too. They won't come in the pool if you're in it for example.
About remoteness it is 15 mins away from a paved road but the dirt road is in good condition. We rented a 4x4 SUV and that was a good thing to have.
About the activities at Palmetto bay, this is another story. There isn't much to do and we had the feeling that the place was running down. We had a great experience with the Black Pearl divers shop. They are coming from the nearby Pristine Bay resort and pick you up on the beach. It's very convenient. The beach at Palmetto is pretty but in a very "natural state" which means that the water is full of sea grass and you have to spray for sand flies and mosquitos on the beach. You can sea beautiful fishes everywhere though. The water is clear and seems very healthy.
We haven't tried much of the restaurant but the cocktails and snacks were really good though pricey. They don't give up on you easily since the place is almost always empty...

Overall the house was perfect for us and the way we like to spend vacations: away from the crowd with a lot of comfort. It was not a big deal to drive to other places on our daily activities. In fact with 1 dirt road heading South through the center of the island and another one heading West, Palmetto bay is well located to explore the island. The community is well maintained in terms of landscaping and it feels very safe. There is a guard at the entrance 24/7.
We had very relaxing vacations and Heather's house was a lot for it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, pool
Liked least: Run down Palmetto resort
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$157
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing