We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kay K
Chicago, Illinois

Convenient location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Apr 2024via mobile
This hotel is somewhat dated. All entrances and windows of guest rooms have views of the ocean but all guests share the same deck so people are walking in front of your room so it’s a bit of a pain if you want to leave your blinds open. Continental breakfast is somewhat limited and fruit is not always of best quality. Property is for sale so maybe why they’ve done no recent updates. Very close to town and tracks. Clean.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The deck running in front of all three units
Booking.com
    0.3 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    0.3 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
    Vio.com
      0.7 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
      Hotel
      Expedia.com
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • ZenHotels.com
        $271
      • Hotels.com
      36.4 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      62.1 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
      Free parking
      The hotel at night
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      56.8 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      58.8 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      57.8 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      0.0 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
      View more hotels in Oban
      Reviews (221)
      Filter reviews
      221 results
      Traveller rating
      172
      33
      5
      8
      3
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      172
      33
      5
      8
      3
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews comfy bed views host ferry accommodation parrots
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      1 - 6 of 221 reviews
      Reviewed 30 March 2024

      We loved our stay on Stewart Island at the Lodge. The view of Half Moon Bay from our room, and seemingly all rooms as well as the common room, is beautiful. The breakfast is continental and served at one large table in the common room.

      There is a steep hill to climb up to the lodge, but the lodge provides a van/shuttle for check in and check out. The walk down (steep hill) to the center of Oban is less than 5 minutes.

      Walking up and down hills is part of the experience at Stewart Island (and Ulva Island), best we can tell. But it’s so worth it!

      We stayed just 2 nights and walked the Fuchsia and Rarao walks to Golden Bay, the trail to Ackers Point, and we also spent ~ 3 hours walking the Ulva Island trails.

      New Zealand’s South Island is spectacularly beautiful and even with that said, Stewart island is a stand out.

      Room tip: Recommend dinner at South Sea Hotel pub for lively, local atmosphere; dining at Old Butchershop Cafe; Rakiura Museum; & Visitors Center.
      Date of stay: March 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank GinaMaine
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 20 March 2024

      So disappointed, payed almost $500 a night and expected at least a well kept accommodation. The place is up for sale and the owners have certainly not put any maintenance in the place for years. Everyone was amazed that they haven’t trimmed the bushes from the property so the views are not what are on in the photos. The windows have not been washed in years. The place is overrun with weeds, insects, mold in the bathroom. The caretaker is an overworked seasonal employee who is ready to be anywhere but on the island. The place is only staffed for a few hours a day and the after hours phone number is never answered. No WiFi. Only one key per room as explained you cannot be trusted with two keys, so if your partner goes on a 5 hour trek and you do something else, well bad luck. One of you just waits. Overall, better to book elsewhere for a lot less and just enjoy the fun vibe of Stewart.

      Room tip: Don’t book here! They are selling and the property is run down and unattended
      Date of stay: March 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Margaret M
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 11 February 2024

      Lovely B&B in Oban, Stewart Island. We were met off the shuttle bus from the airport and driven to the accommodation. Very friendly staff, comfortable room, communal lounge and outside seating area. Breakfast is continental but with variety. It is a steep but short walk up to the house from the town. There are limited eating opportunities in Oban

      Room tip: Steep hill to the house
      Date of stay: December 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Q7266KUheatherf
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 9 December 2023 via mobile

      This was my favourite hotel in New Zealand that we stayed in! The rooms in the lodge are very spacious, comfortable and well equipped with nice tea and coffee. The lodge is also a very short walk from the centre of the township. The staff are very helpful, with lots of suggestions for things to do whilst you’re visiting Stewart Island. They were also kind enough to help us with our bags when going to and from the ferry, as the lodge is up a short, but fairly steep hill. There are several bush walks and hikes you can do nearby and the view of the bay from your room is fantastic. I really can’t recommend staying here highly enough!

      Date of stay: November 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Jack W
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 27 February 2023 via mobile

      My husband and I had an amazing stay. The rooms are great and the view is fabulous. I would improve the breakfast and it should be noted that there is no AC. For us is 10 out of 10 and we will be back again. It was unforgettable stay. Looking forward to be back.

      Room tip: No AC. Bring your own breakfast items and prepare it yourself. There is a full equipped kitchen. No AC.
      Date of stay: February 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank ruthsecure
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews